Recycle glass food jars.

 

Hello everyone.  It has been a while….

I’m home after helping our daughter with her newborn twins, being out on the road in my truck driving job, then being knocked for a loop with Sepsis far away from home with a hospital stay.  You can read about my ordeals Here and Here.

On a fairly good day I have parked my butt at the computer and surfed the internet for interesting things to read about and videos to watch.  Right now, my craft room is a total MESS!  I don’t have the energy to get in there and put stuff away from the time I spent with my precious grandbabies.

Current state of my craft room.

Current state of my craft room.

It is hard to believe that these sweet babies are over two months old now.

20140629-142407-51847700.jpg

Okay, enough of the stalling.  Do you have glass food jars?  I’m sure you do.

Glass food jars

Glass food jars.

In a sink full of HOT soapy water, place the jars in the sink and let them soak until the water is slightly warm.  About an hour.  This will soak off most of the paper labels.  You may  need to use some rubbing alcohol (surgical spirits) and a paper towel to get the glue residue off the glass.  Clean the inside of the jars when the water is warm enough to sink your hands in.

Soak the jars in HOT water

Soak the jars in HOT water

Leave the jars and lids to dry overnight once you have all the labels and goo off.

Round up your Alcohol Inks from Tim Holtz and Ranger Industries.  I don’t have very many in my stash but they work really well.

A NOTE OF CAUTION!  ALCOHOL INKS ARE NOT FOOD SAFE!

Tim Holtz Alcohol Inks

Tim Holtz Alcohol Inks

Other supplies you will need are:  Rubbing alcohol or Surgical Spirits.

IMG_9306

Felt dauber things from Tim Holtz or plain old cotton balls.  If using cotton balls make sure to wear rubber gloves or some kind of hand protection.  The inks will stain your fingers and the only way to get the stain off is by washing a ton of dishes or washing your hair about four times.

IMG_9307

A drinking straw will be needed if you want the weird effects I did.

IMG_9317

You can go for the “Mottled” effect using a few drops of the ink colors of your choice on a dauber and dabbing it on the glass.

IMG_9318 IMG_9319 IMG_9321

Experiment with your supplies.  Drop the ink on the glass then quickly blow with the straw to chase the color around and out.

IMG_9323 IMG_9329

If you don’t like what you see, squirt some rubbing alcohol (surgical spirits) on a cotton ball and wipe off.  If you want everything removed to start over squirt the rubbing alcohol on a paper towel and clean the jar.

IMG_9325 IMG_9327

I really like the way the blown ink looks on the jar.  Be careful in your work.  I accidentally knocked a bottle of ink over and it splattered on my counter top.  Alcohol got most of it up but not all of it.

IMG_9328 IMG_9330

I don’t know what I’m going to do with these recycled jars.  Here are a couple examples.  White rice is in one jar and lace yardage is in another jar.  Joe painted the lids for me yesterday.  He’s awesome!

What would you put in your new jars?

What would you put in your new jars?

Have you done this before?  What would you store in a colorful jar?

I may not get to your comments right away, if you leave one.  Today is a bad day for me.  I’ve got a raging headache but I wanted to get this posted.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesskawrites
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 14:03:42

    Hey they’re pretty 🙂 Hope the headache doesn’t stick around too long!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Aug 25, 2014 @ 16:20:41

    Love the way these turned out Leslie, fabulous colours. I would store buttons in the jars 🙂 Or use them as vases for pretty flowers. I have one tiny bottle that I coated in moulding paste and created textures in the paste then painted in three different shimmery colours. It looks lovely and will be used in my next printer tray project 😀 Great to see you play and hope that head eases soonest.
    Hugs and love
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Aug 27, 2014 @ 13:00:01

      I think I saw your bottle with the moulding paste several months back. You did something with a jar or box with tons of texture and beautiful colors. Thank you Lynn for giving me a few ideas for these jars instead of chucking them in a cupboard somewhere to die in ignominy :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

