Celebrate with me! I’m Grandma – AGAIN!

I’m so excited to announce that my (our) youngest daughter – Carissa – has given birth to a set of twins.  This has been a long and emotionally painful journey for Carissa and her husband, Jaime.  You can ready my post from my other blog – Foolishness and Mayhem – titled “GrannyCon alert level Orange!

As the often used quote states “Anything worth having is hard to come by”.

Carissa had been seeing her OB/GYN twice weekly for quite some time over the last couple months.  He stepped it up to three times a week because of her moderate level of Preeclampsia.  She also had been experiencing Gestational Diabetes.

While I was out on the road with my Day Job I kept in contact with  Carissa to find out when the doctor would be scheduling her delivery.  We had another week before I had to make plans to begin heading to Phoenix, Arizona.  I wanted to be with Carissa when she delivered the babies and stay for a month to help with the tasks of regular living that doesn’t stop just because a new baby – or two – is introduced in the mix.

Carissa called me on Saturday, June 11th, to inform me the doctor has decided she will deliver the babies the next day  June 12th.  Father’s Day!  We had picked up trucks in Fontana, California going to Grand Island, Nebraska.  We were in Colorado with our nurse daughter when we learned the news of the change of plans.  Joe and I were not even half way through with our delivery and I was not going to be there for Carissa and Jaime.  Well, I have a cell phone as do they.  I’d do what I could from the phone.

Sunday morning, June 12th, Carissa and Jaime were at the hospital at 5:30 a.m. as instructed.  The C-Section delivery was scheduled for 7:30 a.m.  As I drove toward Grand Island, Nebraska from Denver, Colorado I frequently looked at my watch.  Having the alone time in the truck I prayed.  Little did I know, but Joe was praying as well.  He was not very happy with  God at that time – he later told me.  He was afraid that our daughter was in imminent peril and we might lose her because of the Preeclampsia.  Poor Joe.

We stopped in Sterling, Colorado for breakfast at the Village Inn.  The restaurant was pretty much populated with guests there to celebrate Father’s Day with their families.  Joe and I were at our table and in such a state of nerves that we couldn’t sit still.  Joe was trembling.  He was shaking so badly the table was jittering.  This photo arrived on my cell phone.  I burst into tears of joy as was Joe.

The birth of twins

The birth of twins

When he could catch his breath and get his nerves under control Joe stood at the table and tried to get the attention of everyone in the restaurant by tapping his fork on his water glass.  That didn’t work as well in real life as it does in the movies.  So he changed his plan to just loudly asking for everyone’s attention.  The entire building became quiet.  Most of them were afraid of what was to come.

Joe went on without missing a beat.  He declared “I don’t know how many grandfathers are represented here today, but I am thrilled to announce that my daughter has just now delivered twins and they are healthy.  Happy Father’s Day to all of you Dads and Granddads.”  This was immediately followed by a raucous round of applause and cheers from the restaurant diners and staff.

It was then, after Joe sat down, that the jitters stopped and he told me of his conversation with God.  Joe said “God, you caused this to happen.  You better make this right!”  I love my bear of a man who is, seemingly, afraid of nothing and no one.

I spent the next few hours on the road in tears and prayers of gratitude.  The babies were going to be monitored for 24 hours for any ill effects from the Gestational Diabetes.  Their blood sugar levels were closely watched by the hospital nurses and doctors.

Later that same day, Sunday, my other daughter in Arizona sent me pictures of the new girls.  They are beautiful and healthy babies.  Another round of prayers of gratitude and more tears.

Welcome Pearl

Welcome Pearl

Welcome Ruth

Welcome Ruth

I talked with Jaime on the phone not long after the delivery to see how the four of them were doing.  He was so good with  me as he updated me on all of the happenings.  He had to remain outside the operating room for the Spinal Block administered to Carissa.  Once that was over he was allowed in the room with her.  He stayed throughout the entire procedure.  Even standing to take a peek at the process of seeing his girls coming into this world.  Brave man and I am very proud of him.  I have heard, through several people, that Jaime has a “Manly” diaper bag that he has prepared.  I mentioned that to him and told him I was proud of him for stepping up to be a real Dad and not an absentee father.  Jaime’s response to me was

“I’m All In.  I’m All Over This Situation!”

Once back in the room where Carissa would be for her hospital stay there was a problem with the pain medication prescribed to her.  The medication caused her to go into such a deep sleep that her breathing was very shallow.  She would only waken from this state when her pain spiked to the point of needing more of the drug.  Jaime and the nursing staff were worried for her and a change was made to her medication.

Let me tell you how proud I am of Carissa.  Once the pain medication was changed and she was not so far in a fog she did sit up and hang her feet over the side of the bed after she had done the requisite time flat on her back from the Spinal Block.  Later that night she tried to stand but was too dizzy and had to lie back down.

The next day, Monday, Carissa was up and walking the maternity floor.  She took a shower later in the afternoon.  In preparation for having her two babies with her in the room to enjoy and nurse as needed.  The final update I received last night was a precious photo taken by Jaime.  He titled it “Sisters pushing sisters”.

"Sisters pushing sisters"

“Sisters pushing sisters”

I had to get this post done because I am so proud of my girl.  I am so very proud of both of my girls and the grandchildren they have blessed me with.  This is my 4 year old grandson that I love dearly.

My grandson, Simon

My grandson, Simon

The cycle of abuse and neglect that my sister, Pati, and I suffered as children has been broken by the both of us.  Our feeble attempts at love, since we didn’t even know what it was, have paid off.  My grandchildren are blessed with family that loves them unconditionally, protects them, cherishes them, and makes sure they know from the moment they are born they are surrounded by love.

Thank you God.  I am richly blessed.

The laundry is beeping at me now.  I am taking the time to get that done, repack for our trip to Arizona and I have to get in my craft room to get some packing done in there.  I have lots of scrapbooking to do once I get to Arizona and I’m going to take a whole bunch of stuff with  me!  Definitely more than my clothes packing, that is for sure 😀

I will leave you with two precious photos.  The new Dad with his baby girl and Aunt Heidi Jo with the other baby girl.

New Dad with his little girl

New Dad with his little girl

Aunt Heidi Jo with the other precious girl

Aunt Heidi Jo with the other precious girl

I have lots of scrapbooking to do!  Awesome.

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 09:50:40

    So happy for you and all your family! Blessings, Katherine

    Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 13:22:06

    Oh Leslie I am so happy for you all !! Congratulations , high fives, yahoos, and all the other words of celebration that are not coming to mind here to you all. What a very special father’s Day for Both Jaime and Joe !! Oh Joe you are a loving Daddy doing what any true father would do 🙂 The world needs more like you. I am weepy with this post but in a so happy for you way. What a beautiful sight those precious babies are. God is indeed good all the time he is good. Now onto some other business How much did they weigh and how big are they ? inquiring minds want to know Lol 🙂 I loved the photo of Carissa and the babies all swaddled up with her and the proud Daddy feeding his tiny daughter and the two sisters one well I guess I really like them all. Now you and Joe Be safe as you travel and mind the speed limits since I know you want to get there quickly 🙂
    So we all will be expecting some posts on your time there, Cant wait to see what scrappy creations you masterfully put together.

    I love you my dear friend !!
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 17, 2014 @ 21:06:28

      Thank you, Shelly my dear friend.

      There is some confusion as to the statistics of the babies. I will have to see for myself what is what. The reports – not from Mommy or Daddy – are at odds with each other.

      I concur. God is good, so very good to me who messes up constantly. I am humbled by Grace.

      Love you my friend.
      Leslue

      Reply

  3. jesskawrites
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 15:22:04

    Congratulations to all of you from me too 🙂

    Good to know they’re all doing well!

    Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 15:24:09

    Tears of joy here too! Wonderful news and beautiful photos, so very happy for you all and so glad all went well for Carissa. Are the girls identical twins? What are their weights? Fabulous photo of Simon and can’t get over how much like you Heidi Jo looks!
    Those girls are going to have a wonderful life and bring so much delight to Carissa and Jaime. Our twins, Ruth and Jill, will be 28 next month – yep time certainly flies!! The last year has flown by as our youngest grandson will one year old next month.
    Enjoy your month cuddling those beautiful babies and travel safely!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jun 17, 2014 @ 21:11:06

      Thank you Lynn. I will have to get all the statistical information and post it. I’m confused by some of the information.

      I will pass your comment on to Carissa so she will know that it is possible to survive twins 😀

      I love you my friend.

      Leslie

      Reply

  5. Maureen
    Jun 17, 2014 @ 17:18:15

    Thanks so much for the pics! I’m thrilled for Carissa, Jaimie, and the whole family! Be safe as you travel, and know that I love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

