A “One of a Kind” jewelry organizer for my granddaughter.

Birdhouse turned jewelry organizer

Birdhouse turned jewelry organizer

One of my sweet granddaughters had a birthday in April.  I’m so behind in my crafting due to having to go back out on the road.  We were home for four days and I made this a priority.

The birdhouse was purchased from JoAnn Fabric and Craft for $6.99.  Also purchased at JoAnns were the picture hangers at $1.04 a set of 7 of which I purchased two sets.  There was a huge sale on scrapbook paper so I bought a pad of “All Girl Stack” by Darice.  Regularly $14.99 and I paid $8.99 for it.  I like that kind of a bargain.

Paint is from my stash.  The black and turquoise acrylic paints are my most recent purchases.  The pink paint is some I’ve had since – can you believe it – 1998!.

The butterfly stickers were a purchase last winter from the Dollar Tree store and the cost was just that – $1 for a set of about 10 stickers in various sizes.  The pearls are from my stash that have been hanging around for several years mostly unused and unloved.

The pink rhinestones and the crystal flowers were also a purchase during the winter from Michaels and they were $1 per package and/or spool.

I roped Joe into contributing to this project 😀  He lent his tool expertise.  I have a tendency to bend nails into pretzels when I whack them with a hammer.  He always knows how to handle this job so I left it to better skilled hands than mine.

The "Tool Wizard" :D

The “Tool Wizard” 😀

He's so good at this kind of thing.

He’s so good at this kind of thing

After all the work was done on the wood birdhouse I attached some cork to the bottom of the piece so it wouldn’t scar up my granddaughter’s furniture.  Plus, it was a good place to leave my mark 😀

Cork bottom

Cork bottom

My “May” birthday people all know they will not get something from me until much later in the year.  Boo hoo on that part.  Just when I get my creative juices flowing too 😀

Well…if you want to see the project from start to finish you can watch the video I made of the process.

So…until next time – bye for now.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    May 12, 2014 @ 16:34:14

    Your granddaughter is going to love her birdhouse. Love the colours you chose for it. Very pretty 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  2. Little Miss Menopause
    May 15, 2014 @ 22:59:28

    This is absolutely stupendous! ps. I bend nails into pretzels too – – but this is really worth trying!!!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 16, 2014 @ 05:15:23

      Hey, there you. I am red faced :/. I have not read your blog in a while and have missed your hysterical wit.

      Thank you for your very kind comment on my gift for. Granddaughter. I appreciate you.
      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Betsy Skagen
    May 19, 2014 @ 12:24:55

    Gotta run–but have to say…Cute!!!!– Betsy at PaperCallope

    Reply

Leave a Reply

