Have you heard of “Scrap Your Trip” online scrapbook store?

If you are on the look out for special papers and die cuts then take a look at Scrap Your Trip.

No, they are not paying me to promote them.  I’m going to show you a very small “Haul” of my purchases.

Speaking of “Hauls”, and I did….I don’t video them.  Personally, it is because I always wonder what the people actually make with the things they purchase, AND if they ever do make anything with all the stuff they buy or does it get hoarded away.  Instead of teasing us with the things they bought, how about featuring a few items from the haul video that have been transformed into delightful creations.  I’d watch those videos all day long!

I purchased some items from Scrap Your Trip a few years back when I made some Post-It-Note holders.  I  made a lot of the holders for a friend of ours to give out as gifts for his friends and family.

These were made using papers I purchased from Scrap Your Trip.  Here is a link to the Post-It-Note holders I made for my friend.  Some Post-It-Note Holder 

I was in search of papers featuring Lighthouses.  My daughter-in-law was the second birthday person in April on my list.  Tiffany was the first and I made her Mardi Gras mask a few days ago.  It was pretty easy making Tiffany’s since she always makes sure to let everyone know she is in love with New Orleans.  Brenda, my daughter-in-law, is a quiet person and sometimes hard to get information out of.  Once I found out she collected Lighthouse things you can bet if I found something that resembled a Lighthouse I got it for her.  For her late birthday present I am making her a journal or a notebook.  These are the papers I purchased from Scrap Your Trip.

Under a pier

Under a pier

Lighthouse #1

Lighthouse #1

Lighthouse #2

Lighthouse #2

Lighthouse #3

Lighthouse #3

These papers are all 12 x 12.  They look like photographs.  It is a shame I will have to cut them up.  The images were such that I could use nearly the entire Lighthouse on the front and back covers of Brenda’s journal.

In the photo below…the left will be the front of the book and the right will be the back of the book.

Front and back covers

Front and back covers

I was able to make use of each of the images and not lose too much of the beautiful scenes.  I chose to use the sky and the upper part of the tallest Lighthouse for the inside covers.

Inside covers

Inside covers

I got to use my industrial paper cutter on the new stand Joe made for me.  It worked really well in cutting up two pads of lined paper.  The poor cutter is relegated to our bedroom since there is no other place in the house to keep it.

Industrial paper cutter

Industrial paper cutter

Two legal pad cut to size

Two legal pads cut to size

The chipboard was cut using the industrial paper cutter as well.  After I glued on the Lighthouse papers the chipboard warped from the glue.

Warped covers

Warped covers

Layering them in my new Press

Layering them in my new Press

The first application of the new Press

The first application of the new Press

I have some work to do today on Brenda’s birthday  present.  Get her journal put together.  Punched and bound.  I hope to have this in the mail later today or tomorrow.  We are leaving town again to get trucks out of Laredo, Texas going to Dallas, Texas.  We will be making two trips for five trucks.  Then we will be off to other parts of the US for a stint out for about a month.  I better get in my room and off the computer!

Hopefully I can show the completed project before we have to leave.

Leslie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    May 01, 2014 @ 14:24:06

    First of all I forgot to say how fabulous I thought the mask was that you altered. I love those masks and you did a fantastic job with this one.

    What gorgeous, scrummy papers, can’t believe those aren’t photos! Beautiful moody skies too. That is going to be one lovely journal for your DIL.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      May 02, 2014 @ 13:53:49

      Thank you, Lynn. The mask was fun to create. I’m glad to know you like what I’ve done.

      The lighthouse papers are so beautiful. I hope Brenda likes what I’ve made for her. I mailed it off today on my way out of town.

      Hope you have a great weekend. Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Elizabeth K
    Jun 18, 2014 @ 21:11:36

    This is a great store! While I do like shopping in stores to find most things this is a great paper resource. I also like Paper Dreams.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

