Create and illustrate your own story book.

I have been missing in action due to the fact that Joe, my husband, has had surgery on his left hand and wrist due to Carpul Tunnel Syndrome.  He had the surgery a week ago Thursday and I  have been acting as “Nurse”.

Joe's stitches

Joe’s stitches

During the time I was tending to him and in close proximity to his recliner I took advantage of the few moments between being Nurse and “gofer” to play with a desktop publishing software I have on my computer.

Here is the set up.  One of our daughter’s birthday is in April.  I am making a “book” for her.  For those of you, out there in the “World Wide Webs”, that have older children or have raised your children into adulthood can remember the times when you were not quite so sure  your parenting skills were keen enough to raise children.  You hoped your children would be healthy, self reliant, and have good common sense even though you screwed up a bazillion times and have many regrets.  Maybe I should rephrase that.  I worried that I had screwed up our kids….

This book I am making is to give Tiffany a boost in her self confidence for the job she is doing with her little boy.  He knows he is loved by his extended family and he can trust the adults that surround him.  That is no small feat with all the looney toons that populate our communities and families.

There will be several blog posts regarding this book.  At this point I have 78 photos to share in the process of making this….and I’m about half way finished at this point.  I don’t think you want to sit for several hours going through what I’ve done so far.  There are a lot of steps involved in this project.

I will share some snippets of my progress to get your mind working and thinking about how you can change your “Mini Album” perspectives and play with self publishing on a very small scale.

Most people have a Desktop Publishing Software on their computers.  I use a Mac and the software I use is THE PRINT SHOP.  My software is old, and I mean OLD.   I haven’t updated it since I bought it in 2004.  Can you tell that I don’t use it?

Anyway, I thought I would knock the dust off of it and give it a try.

NOTE:  If you think this project is intriguing and you would like to attempt this….and have very little experience with any Desktop Publishing you may want to stick with shapes that are easy to get text to appear in the shapes.  Trust me on this.

The following is the “Story” for the book.  I have used many circles and squares with an arrow or two in for good measure.  I printed my pages on Wausau Exacto Index 110 pound paper.  I purchased a ream of paper from my local office supply store.  I don’t know how the paper weight will translate to metric equivalents for the Europeans and Canadians.  Just some heavy weight printer paper.

Story page 1

Story page 1

Story page 2

Story page 2

Story page 3

Story page 3

Story page 4

Story page 4

Here are a couple pages from the book I am creating so you can see how I’m using the shapes and some sweet photos of my adorable grandson.

 

Assigning text shapes to photos

Assigning text shapes to photos

Photos to go with the text shapes

Photos to go with the text shapes

Laying the text shapes and photos out on a book back

Laying the text shapes and photos out on a book back

Testing the photos on the book back

Testing the photos on the book back

In the coming days I will be showing you how I am making this book come together.  Using chipboard to mount all the elements and create the book back and front.  I have yet to decide if I want a gate fold front or just a single front piece.

I may be a bit sporadic in keeping up with this blog.  Joe has good days where I am at his mercy.  He has some projects he wants to do with some power tools and I get to be the one assembling these tools.

What the heck am I doing?

What the heck am I doing?

Assembling a Drill Press

Assembling a Drill Press

He can’t lift more than 4 pounds…..I, however, don’t have any such restrictions :/

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Pati
    Mar 16, 2014 @ 20:46:56

    lol lol lol you poor darling, you have to step in when joe cant. yup. Maybe he will stay still and listen to his doctor and BEHAVE!! lol lol No now you get to learn new things, lol lol. Take care sis, JOE, behave lol lol lol

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 17, 2014 @ 09:50:17

      Uhm….Joe “stay still and listen to his doctor”? Only when it suits him. Otherwise all bets are off. At least until his hand sends him a signal that kicks his butt 😀 Thanks, Sis, for stopping by my blog and letting me know you read it 😀

      Love you Sis

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Mar 17, 2014 @ 17:24:44

    Have an enjoyable journey creating your new album for daughter, Tiffany. Best of luck with putting machinery together 🙂 Tell Joe you might put your back out hefting heavy gear and then where will he be without nurse and gofer????? 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  3. Betsy Skagen
    Mar 20, 2014 @ 23:43:57

    Ow! His hand looks painful! My son is supposed to be getting surgery on his hand too in the coming months. He’s getting an MRI in the morning–hence I’ve been slow posting as well. But the main reason was to meet a big deadline last week–let me know what you think! Looks like you have undertaken a huge project as well with this book. My goodness! Have a great day and hope the healing goes well. -Betsy at PaperCalliope

    Reply

Leave a Reply

