The definition of Insanity is…..

DOING THE SAME THING OVER AND OVER EXPECTING DIFFERENT RESULTS!

After having been successful in making the file folder box I figured it would be a snap to reduce the size to make a box to hold greeting cards and a smaller box to hold index cards for the way too many Internet sites and passwords I have and can’t seem to remember.

Two attempts were made to create a box that measures 6-3/8 inches wide by 4-3/4 inches tall and 1-1/2 inches deep, with a flap.

Two attempts to make the same box

Two attempts to make the same box

I gave up on the greeting card boxes because they were just way too wonky and I didn’t like the way they were coming together.

The next box I began was for an even smaller version of these two boxes.  Yep.  If you can’t figure out how to make something one size it is always worth while to go SMALLER :/

What the heck was I thinking?!

Smaller box

Smaller box

These boxes made from cardboard are quite thick.  They are very sturdy and can be used for heavy objects.  The only problem is they are too thick, clumsy, and labor intensive.  Mass producing these boxes would take quite a lot of time.

To decrease the bulk of the boxes I decided to give chipboard a try.  One 8-1/2 x 11 inch piece of chipboard will ALMOST make the greeting card box.  I had to get into my scrap pile for the extra chipboard for the lid and the flap.

You can see the measurements I have made on the chipboard….just in case you wish to make one of the greeting card boxes.

 

Measurements on sheet of chipboard

Measurements on sheet of chipboard

Measurements on scrap of chipboard

Measurements on scrap of chipboard

This is the order you would lay the pieces on the paper you choose to cover with.

Layout of pieces

Layout of pieces

This layout is too long for  a 12 x 12 sheet of scrapbook paper.  I had to use a bit of a matching paper for the lid and the flap.  That was a bug a boo to figure out  how to attach.

 

Attaching the lid and flap

Attaching the lid and flap

NOTE TO SELF:  Next time choose a paper with one design element featuring smaller images.

 

Attaching the lid and flap extension

Attaching the lid and flap extension

This is how the pieces will be laid out on the paper you choose.

Laid out on paper

Laid out on paper

When this box is finished it will hold 10 greeting cards with envelopes.

Holds 10 cards with envelopes

Holds 10 cards with envelopes

Magnets - they will be the death of me

Magnets – they will be the death of me

The extension

The extension

After battling the greeting card box, and having a little more success….I’m still not totally thrilled with how it has come out.  Especially the flippin’ MAGNETS!  I decided to turn my focus to the smaller box for the Internet passwords.

This box will use a half sheet of 8-1/2 x 11 chipboard.  The measurements are shown below.  Please note the change to three of the measurements.  Don’t ask me where my head was during this process.  I don’t have a clue what I was thinking.

Measurements on chipboard

Measurements on chipboard

Lay the pieces out on the decorative paper of your choice in this layout.  When attaching the chipboard to the paper I moved it over to the right edge and in 3/4 of an inch.

 

Laid out on paper

Laid out on paper

When completed, this box has thinner edges than the cardboard, which I was happier with.  The box itself was more square and less wonky.

 

Cardboard and chipboard comparison

Cardboard and chipboard comparison

The index cards for the Internet site and password file are 2-1/2 inches by 3 inches.  I found these at my local office supply store.

Index cards

Index cards

I will not be doing a full fledged tutorial on the construction of these boxes UNTIL I get the blasted things figured out.  I don’t like the side flaps showing on the front of the box.  Might as well have a “Mickey Mouse” image on this box.

Box with index cards

Box with index cards

Yes, and you can totally forget about the addition of any MAGNETS to close the box with.  I think I will be going back to my old friend – Velcro.  Velcro loves me and I love it back.

Here is a sample of how to use the index cards for the passwords.

 

Index card ready for info

Index card ready for info

I think I’m going to find something mindless to do for the next few hours.  My brain hurts :/

Go, “Show someone how special they are”.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 14, 2014 @ 18:42:16

    Well Leslie you certainly did a lot of hard brain work there with the smaller sizes!!! Well done and thank you, now to convert to centimetres 😀 I was scratching my head of how to avoid the flaps at the front too if you use the ‘attach to paper first’ method and think that the side flap papers would be best tucked inside the box and the front section paper flaps wrapped around the sides – clear as mud or what??!! The inside sections could be strengthened with strips as done with the larger file folder. Or…….don’t attach the paper first but use strips to join all the sections and then add the decorative paper 😀 Rather fiddly on the tiddly box though.
    Now what are you going to make to give your brain another work out??? At least there is no worry of you suffering from dementia 🙂

    I have finally finished my second little house but I need to take photos however I am suffering a little just now as I have a badly pulled chest muscle and a broken rib! Who knew that turning over in bed could be so dangerous LOL.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 15, 2014 @ 10:45:44

      OMG! You broke a rib a couple years back getting out of bed! You suffered with that for several weeks. Not being able to take deep breaths. I think you were even made worse by a bad cold or flu :/

      I’ve been watching the news reports for Britain and things don’t look very good in your part of the world. I sincerely hope you and Rod are not being pummeled by the fierce weather. I feel bad for all those still without power since just before Christmas. And looks like another part of your world is under water as well. Bet most of your folk wonder if the “End Times” are coming as people have been claiming for hundreds of years.

      I’m looking forward to seeing your newest creation once it gets posted to your blog 😀

      As to the newest insanity…I’m going to be making them with the structure strips then covering them with the paper. I will be making them out of chipboard instead of cardboard. Get rid of the flaps on the outside. And magnets….they won’t even come close to any of the new projects.

      Love You – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Feb 15, 2014 @ 18:37:18

        What a good memory you have Leslie – I did break a rib turning over whilst suffering from a hacking cough and it is exactly the same this time – hacking cough, turned over and one broken rib and pulled muscle later I am in pain! I have had a head cold and cough for some weeks and neither wants to clear up.

        Our weather has been dreadful as has the weather over there in the US; couldn’t believe it when I saw on the news that the East Coast was badly hit by more snow and the temperatures over there colder than Sochi!!!!! Incredible.
        We had gale force winds last night that battered us for hours with torrential rain, I couldn’t get to sleep for some time worrying about whether there was going to be damage to the house however when we got up this morning is was to find a 60 foot tree had been uprooted! The rootball is 8 feet tall! It fell away from the house but brought several other trees down with it and we can’t yet assess the damage to the boundary fence as it is covered with branches. Such a shame as it was a beautiful tree and now there is a huge gap; on the brighter side we do now have a view across to the far hills 🙂 Pity that a rare tree was damaged when there was an ugly conifer that could have been taken out 😀
        The school our daughter teaches at, plus other schools, had to close on Thursday as staff and pupils were finding it increasingly difficult to get in due to large areas including roads being flooded. It is half term now so everyone had an extra day off. The army are now helping out in the worst affected areas and the Dutch have sent over huge pumps to help get the water away from villages that have been cut off since the beginning of December.
        As in the US there have been several fatalities due the weather – several people swept away by the high tides, one chap killed in his garden on Wednesday when a tree blew down on him, a pregnant lady killed in her car by a falling tree, a lady cab driver killed when part of a building fell on her cab and the passengers badly hurt.
        C’est la vie!
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xxxx

  2. Jack Flacco
    Feb 18, 2014 @ 12:43:38

    There’s always something I’m learning here. I’ve always loved boxes, they great when they’re like the ones you make. The seal properly and make a neat way of storing things. How to take an ordinary object and make it extraordinary. I think I once said that, didn’t I? 🙂

    Reply

  3. Betsy Skagen
    Feb 26, 2014 @ 11:23:09

    Did you like using the chipboard? The Gentleman Crafter always uses it and I’ve thought about it. Do you have to use a saw to cut it? (yuk–I hate sawing) I love your boxes and may try out your technique. But…did you know Lastpass.com, which is free, is a whole lot easier and safer way to store passwords? Just a helpful hint.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 26, 2014 @ 11:58:07

      The chipboard is fairly easy to use. A craft knife is necessary….and a stash of fresh sharp blades. You don’t need a saw because the chipboard is cardboard…unlike the chipboard wood product. I don’t do saws either.

      Thanks for the tip on “Lastpass.com” I’ll have to check them out. All I need is another password I can’t remember :/ Seriously, I do need to have a central area to keep the ever growing mess. :/

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

