Dealing with “Special Requests”.

Joe has requested another mileage book made for 2014.  He has requested a journal featuring maps of some kind and a pocket inside.

It is good to have family members be the “Guinea Pig” in your journey as a “Paper Artist”.  They get all the wonky creations as you develop your skills toward a professional level.  I haven’t reached that level just yet, but I’m getting closer.  My main problem is my “Perfectionism”.

I purchased a Heidi Swapp “No Limits” paper pad some months back.  I wanted Joe to look through and choose the papers he liked.

Looking at the options

Looking at the options

Explaining the creation process to Joe was a game of communication.   He told me what he wanted and liked, I told him what would work and what would not.  This process took about half an hour because I could not get him to understand the images he wanted on his book cover would have to be glued OVER a base.  He had chosen several map images that are not large enough for a complete cover.  To get him to understand what I was trying to convey I gave him one of the book covers, told  him there needed to be one inch margin all around the cover board.  I let him play with that for a while until he totally understood the concept I was trying to get across.

First choice

First choice

Second choice

Second choice

Once Joe understood the process he decided on some fairly plain paper as the background and chose the images he favored to be placed on the covers.   I also had Joe pick out paper for the inside covers, to hide the edges that wrap around from the front.

Favored choice for front

Favored choice for front

Favored choice for back

Favored choice for back

A second choice for the front

A second choice for the front

When you know what your capabilities are in the construction process, you can guide the person making the “Special Request”.  There are ways of implementing their choices and desires.  Focal images too large for the front, that is dealt with by wrapping the edges around to the inside and covering them with the inside cover paper.

Wrap the image edges

Wrap the image edges

Want to draw attention to a design feature on the base paper?  Use the images to frame the feature.

Include background images

Include background images

I chose to add Washi Tape to the inside cover edges.  The Washi was applied to keep the wrapped images from tearing and/or snagging through wear.

Decorative Washi Tape

Decorative Washi Tape

The back page has a pocket on two sides.  I cut a 12 x 12 sheet of paper to 9 inches wide by 9-7/8 inches long.  Score the paper in half lengthwise at 4-1/2 inches.  Score the bottom edge at 3 inches.  Fold the 3 inch score line up then fold the page in half to create the two pockets.  Joe can put his receipts in the pocket then deal with them at night as he does his paperwork.

 

Pocket page

Pocket page

He only wanted a single focal image on the back of the book.  This was accomplished as on the front.  Wrap the edges around the cover and hide them beneath the inside cover page.

Back cover

Back cover

Upon seeing the completed journal, Joe had to emphasis this item was his.  He said “MINE”.

Joe likes his new journal

Joe likes his new journal

When his children were little, they used to argue and fuss over toys.  One child would proclaim the toy was “MINE”, sending the others into fits of anguish.  Joe solved this “MINE” problem by making the declarative child carry the toy under their arm all day long.  That put a stop to the scream fest of toy ownership.

I reminded Joe of what happens when a person says something is “MINE”.  He obliged.  I think I was mere seconds from getting a tongue stuck out at me.

Humoring me

Humoring me

When dealing with Special Requests by family or others, be confident in your skills as a Paper Artist.  You can create an item to their needs while you focus on manipulating the paper(s) to achieve the desired results.  Keep in mind there are some requests that can not be fulfilled.  Either from the images on the paper or from your skill level.  Family members are the best asset you have in honing your skills.  Take advantage of them and don’t pass up the options of Special Requests from them.  You will both learn something, which is always a good thing.

Go “Show someone how special they are”.

Leslie

 

 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 14:33:30

    Sometimes, I’ll layer papers over the chipboard base, and then cover the entire front or back with a layer of contact paper that then is folder over the edges so that the paper layers don’t peel up with the wear and tear it’s sure to receive. I even applied a rectangular piece onto the inside of the covers so the whole thing was protected from abuse. I did this on some memo pads that I knew I’d be shoving in and out of my purse. No possibility of survival of “cute” embellishments in that sort of environment. I applied the contact paper before poking the holes for binding, that way, the contact paper protected the entire cover.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 12, 2014 @ 06:13:30

      I used the plastic contact paper on some pouches some time back and that works really well, the clear contact paper. Should have thought of that on Joe’s book :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 17:43:47

    I have had those awkward communications with my DH too Leslie! Great fun isn’t it????? Still Joe got the book he wanted and declared it MINE! 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  3. Tiffany Bockenstette-Adams
    Feb 11, 2014 @ 13:24:51

    Just the other day we were lovingly posting pics and looking through the book you made me, my “special request.”. Such talent. I will show it to you with all the pics in it.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 12, 2014 @ 06:22:56

      Well, hello there daughter of my heart! This is a wonderful surprise 😀 Hey, I would love to see what you have done with the scrapbook I made for you. All your photos in it. I can’t wait to see it.

      When is Kerri’s birthday? I don’t have her’s in my calendar.

      Love you My Sweet – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Betsy Skagen
    Feb 12, 2014 @ 13:10:46

    I like Joe more and more! He appreciates your art AND he has ingenious ways to solve the “mine” debate. Is he available as an adoptable supportive uncle? 😉 What’s more, while he wants you to create something for him, he still respects that you are the artist and lets you make the overall design decisions. Oh my, don’t get me started on some of my family members–lol.
    I love the book you made and I am still amazed at all that you get completed in a week. Cheers! Betsy at http://www.PaperCalliope.com

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 13, 2014 @ 18:40:25

      Thank you, Betsy, for your kind comment on the Mileage Book I made for Joe. Joe is the worst “enabler” an addicted person can have :/ If he goes with me into a Hobby Lobby or a Michaels he wanders the aisles with me asking “Do you have that? Do you have this?” I have to remind him of our budget and the space constraints of my “Studio” or he will be tossing stuff into the cart right and left.

      As to the “Mine” thing….he would have been reduced to ashes many years ago, and quite a number of times, had the child been able to throw flames from their eyes. It is really funny to hear that grown up child repeat the same punishment to their offspring 😀 It works.

      Get well my new friend. I’m looking forward to hearing your project is going to be PUBLISHED!

      Leslie

      Reply

  5. Betsy Skagen
    Feb 20, 2014 @ 13:00:39

    Thanks Leslie! My husband does the same thing at Michaels. Then we go home and he tells me how we are over budget. Grrr. 😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

