Covering the File Folder box.

Finished file box

Finished file box

The first thing you will do to cover your brand spanking new file box is to figure out what paper you want to use on the inside and the outside of the box.  Second thing is to decide what color of acrylic paint you want to use on the edges of the box – inside and out.

Painting all of the structure strip pieces, and a little past the strips is all you will be glopping the paint on.

Paint all the edges of the box

Paint all the edges of the box

Depending on the color of your paint, you may need to use more than one coat.  I had to put three coats of the white paint on this box.  Let it dry between coats before you begin attaching the papers.

The MEASUREMENTS for the papers are as follows:

The FRONT and BACK pieces will measure 11-1/2 inches by 9-1/2 inches.

The LEFT and RIGHT sides will measure 9-1/2 inches by 2-1/2 inches.

The BOTTOM will measure 11-1/2 inches by 2-1/2 inches.

Inside measurements

Inside measurements

The INSIDE LID and FLAP measurements are as follows:

Inside LID measures 11-1/2 inches by 2-1/2 inches.

Inside FLAP measures 11-1/2 inches by 1-1/2 inches.

Inside lid and flap measurements

Inside lid and flap measurements

The OUTSIDE LID and FLAP measurements are as follows:

OUTSIDE LID measures 11-3/4 inches by 2-3/4 inches.

OUTSIDE FLAP measures 11-3/4 inches by 1-3/4 inches.

Outside Lid and Flap

Outside Lid and Flap

The OUTSIDE FRONT measurements are as follows:

Outside Front measures 11-3/4 inches by 9-3/4 inches.  If you put the crescent shaped notch in the front, trace the notch on BOTH THE INSIDE AND OUTSIDE PAPERS SEPARATELY then cut away an additional 1/4 inch or less.

Cut away for the notch

Cut away for the notch

Front measurements

Front measurements

The BACK measurements will be the same, as follows:

11-3/4 inches by 9-3/4 inches.

Back measurements

Back measurements

The LEFT and RIGHT PANELS will  measure the same and they are as follows:

9-3/4 inches by 2-3/4 inches

Left and right panels

Left and right panels

The BOTTOM PANEL will measure as follows:

11-3/4 inches by 2-3/4 inches

 

I had an EPIC FAIL!  I have some magnets that I purchased to use as closures.

 

Magnets for the closures

Magnets for the closures

I’ve never used magnets before so I didn’t know how I was going to make this happen.  I carried on with it.  Placed the magnets where I wanted them, cut holes, installed the magnets, covered them with paper to secure them….and they didn’t work.

 

Installed magnets

Installed magnets

Now there are EIGHT (8) yellow dots on the flap which tell the tail of my EPIC FAIL.

 

Yellow dots

Yellow dots

The way I fixed it was to just attach a length of ribbon.

Ribbon instead

Ribbon instead

I used my trusty ruler to attach the letter stickers to the outside of the box.  The stickers are from the Paper Studio baby papers used to cover the file folders.

Attach the sticker letters

Attach the sticker letters

The rest of the stickers, the file folder tab labels, and the folders are inside the box I made.

Stickers, tags, and files

Stickers, tags, and files

My baby is so beautiful.

My baby

My baby

My husband is home now and we are running errands like crazy people.  There will be a small gap in my creative posts.  I know, I hear all the loud sighs of relief from you guys.  I think you may deserve a break from me for a day or two.  BUT NOT FOR LONG!

Are you ready to go and “Show someone how special they are”?

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 17:41:23

    Looks lovely Leslie, very fresh and decorative 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Feb 10, 2014 @ 21:40:13

    Basic Grey magnets are the best; slim and strong! How far along is she in that picture?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 12, 2014 @ 06:18:15

      Do you leave the magnets on the surface? Then cover them with something? I think that is where I made my mistake, putting them in a hole and covering them over.

      Carissa is almost 4 months along in that picture. She is over 4 months now.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

