How to make a file folder box – The Measurements.

This post is about the measurements and cutting the cardboard to make this file folder box.

File folder box

File folder box

You might want to take a moment and jot these measurements down.  The box parts are listed next to the dimensions.

The dimensions

The dimensions

Hefting that 50 pound…I think it gets heavier each time I lift it…..industrial paper cutter to the table.  I prepared to be underwhelmed by the cuts.  HOWEVER, this thing cuts right through cardboard as if it were a single sheet of paper.  It spits the rest of the cardboard out the back after the cut and I have to go chase after it.

Cuts like a dream

Cuts like a dream

Spits, too

Spits, too

Having the extension down didn’t help one single bit.  The cut cardboard shot right off anyway.

Using the extension

Using the extension

Here are the cuts.  Two (2) 10 inch by 12 inch.  Front and back panels.

Front and back

Front and back

Two (2) 3 inch by 12 inch.  These are the box bottom and the box top.

Top and bottom

Top and bottom

Two (2) 3 inch by 10 inch pieces for the two sides.

Two side pieces

Two side pieces

And, lastly, the flap piece.  One (1) 2 inch by 12 inch piece.

One flap piece

One flap piece

This is the scrap left over from the cutting.  Oh, and a little strip from a mis-measured piece.

Scrap cardboard

Scrap cardboard

Ooooops, measured wrong.

Oooops, measured wrong.

The last bit of cutting and prep work before building the box is about to happen.  Structure strips need to be made.  Get out your craft card stock.  I used four (4) sheets of the card stock.  Cutting the sheets into 1 inch strips.

 

Cut card stock into 1 inch strips

Cut card stock into 1 inch strips

Next, score the strips at 1/2 inch using a score board.

Structure strips will be scored

Structure strips will be scored

At 1/2 inch

At 1/2 inch

When you have finished the last strip, go take a break or do something else for a while.  Your poor finger will thank you.

 

"Groovy" finger

“Groovy” finger

Tomorrow’s post will be all about assembling the box.  Hope your finger is better by then.  It won’t have a permanent crease.  I promise.

Leslie

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betsy Skagen
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 12:15:35

    Ok, that paper cutter really is nice. He did good!

    I have a couple questions for you, if you don’t mind. 1. How on earth do you get so much crafting AND blogging done in one day? I seriously am doing this non-stop and can’t keep up. (I think part of the problem is that as a professional writer by trade, I spend too much time editing). 2. Do you use your camera phone for your photos to make it all easier, or do you actually pull out your 35 mm? I am finding it much each to snap it with my camera phone and upload it right then, but I am concerned about the quality.

    Thanks! Betsy at PaperCalliope.com

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 08, 2014 @ 07:09:31

      Truthfully? I don’t get much crafting done on a daily basis. I spend about four hours crafting on the days when I can. So the “Method to my madness” is as follows:

      I have a Canon PowerShot digital camera with video capabilities. I use an 8 gigabyte memory stick in the little thing. I do mean little. This camera is about 2 inches tall and about 3-1/2 inches wide. It has a zoom lens that collapses when the camera is off so the front is flat. The back has a view window so I can see what I am taking a picture of and also review the shot once taken.

      I try to take photos of EVERYTHING I do when I want to make tutorials. This means that I could have 140 shots of one project.

      Depending on how involved the project is, like this file folder box, I split the tutorials into sections. The box took me 4 hours to create. From the cutting of the cardboard on the floor to leaving the completed box dry overnight.

      I have a “Blog Post Planner” from “creativeflourishing.com” that is under their “Free Stuff” tab. I will spend about 3 to 4 hours one day of the week making the blog posts for a large project. One post for each part of the tutorial. WordPress allows me to schedule posts in advance so I keep track of the days the posts will appear so I don’t go and mix myself up.

      Hope that has answered your question. I think I hit each of your questions :/

      Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 17:43:10

    Thanks for the measurements Leslie, have jotted those down and will have a play one day when I’ve got a couple of projects out of the way 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

