How to make a file folder box – The beginning

Are you ready for another long ride?  No, no, no.  It is not about cleaning my craft room.  I promise!  This is about making a file folder box.  Like this one I made on Sunday.

File folder box

File folder box

As you know, my posts are ALWAYS photo heavy.  This one has to be broken up into bite sized chunks.  Although it took me only about four hours to make this box from scratch, there is a ton of stuff involved in making this thing.  The file folders, actually, fit in this box and there is plenty of room for growth.

File folders in the box

File folders in the box

You will need some cardboard that will be 12 inches by 36 inches.  A giant box will work for this.  As you know, I have sheets of cardboard for projects like this.  I get mine from my local Budget Box and Bag store.

Sheets of cardboard

Sheets of cardboard

These sheets of cardboard are what get placed on top of forklift pallets to keep product from falling through the slats.  These sheets are also placed on top of a full forklift pallet as a buffer when another pallet is stacked on top.

I had to take one  sheet out to my kitchen and put it on the floor.  I then sneaked into my  husband’s office – while he is not home – and “borrowed” a straight edge.  Shhhhh.  Don’t tell him.

 

On the kitchen floor

On the kitchen floor

Using my trusty ruler, I made tick marks the width of the cardboard at 12 inches.  If my math is correct I will only need to cut one (1) of these 12 x 36 pieces.

Using the straight edge I lined it up on my tick marks and used my pencil to connect the dots.

Make tick marks across at 12 inches

Make tick marks across at 12 inches

Use a straight edge to connect the dots

Use a straight edge to connect the dots

 

Perfect line

Perfect line

Next stash of my husband’s to raid is his wood pile.  I need a board that will span the width of the cardboard and be wide enough so I can cut through it.  I have placed the board under the cardboard and under the line to be cut.

Raid the wood pile

Raid the wood pile

Wood placed under the cardboard

Wood placed under the cardboard

With the cardboard sandwiched between the piece of wood and the straightedge, lined up on the pencil line, it was time to make the first cut.  Make sure your craft knife has a fresh blade in it.  A dull blade will cause the cardboard to tear and have jagged lines.  You need clean lines.

Line the straight edge up on the pencil line

Line the straight edge up on the pencil line

Make sure you have a fresh blade

Make sure you have a fresh blade

Using the straight edge as a guide, cut through the first layer of cardboard with your craft knife.  Using the straight edge for this first bit of business will keep a straight line instead of a drunken wiggly line….like I usually make.

Make your first cut through the cardboard

Make your first cut through the cardboard

Move the straight edge out of the way.  Place your craft knife at the top of the cut you  just made and carefully cut through the bottom layer of cardboard.  Make double sure before you start this that your cardboard is on the wood.  Don’t need to cut through your flooring :/

Cut through the bottom layer of the cardboard

Cut through the bottom layer of the cardboard

Now, with much creaking, groaning, popping, and snapping get yourself up off the floor.  Take a moment to make the dizzy go away or let the blood get back down from your face before you run around your house with a sharp knife.

I put everything back where I found it.  Husband will never know I had entered his domain and tampered with his goods.  That is if he doesn’t read my blog :/  Then I’ll have some explaining to do.  I can always bat my eyes at him.  That usually works well 😀

Tomorrow.  The big honkin industrial paper cutter gets off the floor and onto the table.  I will have all the measurements tomorrow for the cuts that will be made to create this file folder box.   See…I was still a bit dizzy when I took this photo.

Industrial paper cutter

Industrial paper cutter

Don’t worry .  You don’t need an industrial paper cutter for this job.  A sharp craft knife, self healing mat, and a straight edge is what you will need.  I have the monster machine and might as well use it.

I guess I ought to ask….Are you guys even interested in finding out how to create a file folder box?

What have you been doing to “Show someone how special they are”?

Leslie

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. tina
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 10:31:57

    i’m interested,

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 10:40:29

      Thanks, Tina, for your interest. I have all the dimensions coming up tomorrow.

      I’ve been to your blog and am still trying to leave comments on your recent layouts. I love what you are doing there. The “No Title” one is so cute with the Grandfather and little granddaughter. Your layout of you with your Cricut had me giggling with your titles. Glad you only went “buggy” and not “batty” 😀 Your recent layout with the girl in pink is beautiful. I love your style and the use of colors.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 15:17:09

    My goodness, what an intense project. That sharp craft knife does wonders, huh?Are you sure you didn’t want to use power tools to get the job done? 😉 Love your floor-view camera angle, drew me right in the picture. Oh, and I love how you raided the wood pile!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 21:52:59

      Thank you, Jack, for your kind comment. I saw what I had done and I, too, felt pretty amazed by the photo. I didn’t know I could do that! 😀 As to power tools….well, I am no “Tool Belt Diva” let me tell you. I’m more of a Maven of Mayhem. Or a Dork with some Torque. Simple tools and I get along better. No one else, and nothing else, gets harmed in the process 😀 Know what I mean, jelly bean? 😀

      Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Feb 06, 2014 @ 17:43:05

    I would be interested in the measurements and how to so that I can do a scaled down version Leslie. I’m sure I could work it out myself but seeing as you have done all the hard work I’ll just read up on it 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 21:54:17

      A scaled down version would be good for just about anything. Thanks for your interest, Lynn. Once you see how easy this is to make you will be able to convert it to just about any size you need.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

