Baby! Oh Baby! It’s TWINS!

My “baby” is having twins.  The anticipated time is June.  That is not far off and I had better get my butt in gear.

I started blogging and my YouTube videos way back in 2005 or 2006.  My intent was to help my daughter, Carissa, learn this art along with me.  She had expressed an interest in this paper crafting but soon tired of it.  I have continued with my blathering and nonsense because I figure….maybe one day……she will come back to me :/  Well, then there is the bonus of finding there are other crafters out there that like to learn things and share their knowledge and that is why I keep doing this.  …..Boring you to death……

I had excited utterances of baby books.  Making an album to showcase the two little humans arrival into this world.  Their weights and measurements at birth, adorable teeny tiny feet inked up and pressed to paper, the family that gathers together to welcome the new lives into the world…..you know all the usual suspects.

Then I remembered that Carissa would not be terribly excited about this.

I mean….really!  Think about this seriously!  How old were your children when you even first thought about making their baby books?  Five?  Seven?  Twelve?  This is not the time to overwhelm my Carissa and make her feel she is inadequate.  There will be more pressing things on her mind than putting photos in an album and documenting every moment of her babies life.

I spent about four hours on the internet.  Looking for something that would be useful for Carissa.  I came across this blog – Unoriginal Mom

One of my Christmas presents from my daughters, Tiffany and Keri, was a pack of baby scrapbook paper by Paper Studio.  Sorry, I’ve cut the head off the paper pack.

Paper Studio baby pack

Paper Studio baby pack

In my truck driving business I have file folders.  BOY DO I!  And I have a Dymo LabelWriter 400 Turbo.  I’m in business folks.

File folders and labels

File folders and labels

I mounted the file folder labels on black card stock.  Using my Stampin’ Up! Corner Rounder punch to round the edges.  I think I’m going to let Carissa decide which file folder to use for the Birth Certificates and Social Security Cards, Pediatrician visits, Insurance forms, all the warranty books and leaflets for the equipment she will be buying or getting along with a place to keep receipts, and the Immunization Records for her two little ones.

Mounted on card stock and corners rounded

Mounted on card stock and corners rounded

Here are all the file folder labels.  I’ve put sticky tape on the backs of them.  Several of these file folders have glitter and raised areas so they will need some extra strength sticky.  And I’ve put the labels in a small coin envelope for her.

All the file folder labels

All the file folder labels

Scor-Tape applied to the backs

Scor-Tape applied to the backs

Tucked in a coin envelope

Tucked in a coin envelope

The following instructions and photos are creating the BABY FILES.  You can adjust the paper theme to fit your needs.  The process will be exactly the same.

The paper is 12 x 12.  I’ve cut the paper at 9 inches.  I will have a 3 inch strip for the folder tab and the rest of the paper will be used on the front cover of the file folder.

Cut the paper at 9 inches

Cut the paper at 9 inches

Sorry, my head was somewhere else.  Put the 3 inch strip of paper on the face of the tab.  Turn the folder over with the back facing upward.  Adjust the strip of paper to have the tab part even with the top of the strip then trace around the file folder.

Trace around the file folder tab

Trace around the file folder tab

When finished tracing it will look like this.

Traced tab

Traced tab

Isn’t that C-U-T-E?!  Oh, you have to cut on the inside of your pencil lines for this to look as good as it does.

Cut the traced lines

Cut the traced lines

To make the front cover, place the 9 inch piece of paper inside the file folder.  Close the folder and trace around the entire cover.

Place the 9 inch piece of paper inside the file folder

Place the 9 inch piece of paper inside the file folder

Trace around the cover

Trace around the cover

Cut the inside pencil line you have just traced.

Cut the traced cover

Cut the traced cover

This paper is really THIN.  Normally I would use a liquid glue to attach this paper to the folder but this stuff is so thin that I had to go for my ATG tape.

Very thin paper

Very thin paper

All right.  Make sure your ammunition and weapons of choice are fully locked and loaded.

ATG guns

ATG guns

These file folders are going to be pawed through, grabbed, pinched, folded, spindled, and mutilated over the coming years.  We don’t want the papers to pull away or get damaged.  I mean, after all that work of tracing and cutting!

When applying the adhesive to the papers….It is vital that you get that adhesive to the very edge of the paper.  I had to make a couple passes and move the applicator head over slightly a few times.  I even had to rub the adhesive back on itself when I got the sticky off the paper.

Get the sticky to the edges

Get the sticky to the edges

Once you have the edges fully covered then take a few swipes at the inside of the paper with your adhesive.  This will insure the paper will not be falling off anytime soon.

Get that adhesive all over the place

Get that adhesive all over the place

Do this exact same thing to the tabbed piece you had cut out first.  Oh, and this sticky stuff liked my watch.  I had quite a tussle getting the paper free from my watch.  I took the watch off for the remainder of this process.  The paper stuck to my arm and pulled hairs.  This is sticky business :/

Sticky!

Sticky!

Look at that!  Is this adorable?…..or what?!

Covered folder

Covered folder

I was on the cell phone with Joe for about an hour and a half.  He was regaling me with his trials and tribulations moving a single truck from Oakland, California to Las Vegas, Nevada.  The $128 taxi ride from the Oakland airport where he returned the rental car and had to be taken to the place where the truck was waiting for him.  During the time I listened to him rant and did my best job of being a supportive and loving wife……while occupied with the sticky stuff here…..I got all 12 of the file folders covered.

Covered file folders

Covered file folders

There is no way they will get these folders mixed up with their household folders.  Nor will there be a chance of getting one of them lost in the house either.

Ta Da-a-a-a-a

Ta Da-a-a-a-a

The tedium quotient of this project is about a 7 on a scale of 1 to 10.  Don’t give up.  You will be totally pleased with the results when you see the finished project.  On a scale of 1 to 10, I’d give this project a 15 😀

If you  have been lusting after the decorative file folders you see at the office supply stores but don’t think the images fit your style.  Well…..there is nothing stopping you NOW!

Go and “Show someone how special they are”….especially if it is YOU.

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lilie
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 05:59:20

    Congratulations! I love your positive attitude and truly enjoy all of your posts. Thank you for all of the valuable information you always provide for us. Have a wonderful day.

    Reply

  2. tina
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 06:24:18

    congrats!!! and twins my oh my!! and your not boring….i always look forward to your posts,,and I’m really getting spoiled!! and another great project!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 05, 2014 @ 08:19:31

      Thank you, Tina! I’m glad you are not bored with all my foolishness. I’m having so much fun in my “Studio”. If I had to go back out of the road I would cry until my head falls off :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. aspot2stamp
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 11:27:57

    How exciting!! You are right she will be so busy and having a place to put notes with pictures or jotted notes will make it nice for her to put her treasures. Beautiful project and a great tutorial for altering file folders to fit any style. Tell Joe Hello from us 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 05, 2014 @ 13:54:04

      Joe says “Hi, back!” Thanks Shelly. I really enjoyed putting those together. I’m having more fun than I could have ever imagined!

      This project is so easy to do and can be made to fit anyone’s style.
      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:22:57

    I’m sure Carissa will be pleased with this file folder Leslie. Initially I had a small notebook for our twin daughters to jot down notes as I had the time and inclination, in that notebook I noted when they made sounds, talked, had teeth, the funny words they used, etc. In a small decorated box I had envelopes of the first curls of hair from their first hair cut, the identity bracelets from hospital, the tags from their hospital cots, the hospital notes and a scan photo of them before they were born plus a printout from the heart monitor during their birth. And that is where it all still is and our daughters will be 28 in July and have children of their own LOL I did actually do a scrapbook for our eldest daughter up until she was 5 years old and starting school, she now has the book and she is 40 this year!! No that can’t be right, OMG I’m old!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 06, 2014 @ 08:47:40

      I know! Where has the time gone?! It seems like just a week ago Carissa was three….now she is in her 30’s.

      I told Carissa she was charged with taking photos and making notes. Either texting me the photos and notes or putting them on Facebook. When I get to Arizona I will be copying her photos and notes to create the books for her.

      Thanks for the reminder of having a little notebook to write the important things in.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  5. Betsy Skagen
    Feb 07, 2014 @ 12:11:56

    Congratulations! I always wanted twins (I know, crazy). What a perfectly fabulous gift you are making her. Ingenious really.
    Betsy at PaperCalliope.com

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 08, 2014 @ 06:56:20

      Well…..twins would surely make your life exciting! Don’t know if that is a good thing or a bad thing.

      Thank you. I remember when my kids were little…I couldn’t find any of their records :/ The hunt for the immunization records to begin school was like going on a scavenger hunt :/

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

