How to use images from books or magazines.

I have a number of sets of stamped images and letters from Club Scrap.  They put together a visual catalog of their stamps.  All that work is done by them so you don’t have to.  They even have the month and year listed of when the rubber stamps became available.  I have several years worth of these images.

Club Scrap stamp catalog

Club Scrap stamp catalog

For my son, the Mechanical Engineer, I am going to use some of these images on the front cover of the field journal I am making for him.

April 2002 the stamps were all about Architecture.

April 2002 - Architecture

April 2002 – Architecture

February 2008 the stamps were all about Bridges.

February 2008 - Bridges

February 2008 – Bridges

I photocopied the two selected pages onto a sheet of card stock.

Photocopied on card stock

Photocopied on card stock

Curtis is going to get some “Glitter” whether he likes it or not!  He will adjust and live with it!  I have sprayed the photocopied images with Tattered Angels Coffee Shop and Walnut Gold.

Tattered Angels

Tattered Angels

I have used my “Home Brew” of Stampin’ Up! Always Artichoke and Cajun Craze.

Always Artichoke

Always Artichoke

Cajun Craze

Cajun Craze

A little bit of color and a smidgen of glimmer 😀  If you would like to know how I made my own “Home Brew” you can check out this series of posts I made a loooooooooong time ago.

Spritzed and sparkly

Spritzed and sparkly

“Fussy Cut” the pieces you want to use from the photocopied image sheet.  Gotta tell ya.  There are some people that are crazy, I tell you.  There are some people that LOVE and I mean L-O-V-E to do fussy cutting.  I’m not one of them.  This is tedious, time consuming, always the potential for disaster, and a bit of blood letting.

Fussy cut the images

Fussy cut the images

I used a Tim Holtz embossing folder on a scrap of paper and smeared it with Peeled Paint and Weathered Wood Distress Stains.

Peeled Paint and Weathered Wood

Peeled Paint and Weathered Wood

Embossed scrap

Embossed scrap

Looks like the Peeled Paint has won this round.  Oh well, I think there is more than enough brown on the cover as it is.  I’m trying to make this thing masculine and it is headed in the right direction.  A bit off path a time or two but still heading the right way.

The pointy tool, doo-hickey, thing-a-ma-bog was a bit lost in all the visual and texture mayhem I have going on.  If you find yourself in this predicament, you could always try a black marker pen around the edges.  I did and I like how it worked out.

Use a black marker to outline the image

Use a black marker to outline the image

A bit of E6000 to hold the personalized disk in place.  All that is left is to put the journal together.

E-6000 glue

E-6000 glue

A little dab will do ya

A little dab will do ya

Put it all together

Put it all together

The final touch…..add your signature 😀  I like to make sure they know my things are not store bought 😀

My signature

My signature

Are you still there?  I hope you have garnered a kernel of knowledge from this post.  If you don’t have much in the way of rubber stamps but a lot of printed images you like this might give you an idea of how to make use of something in your stash.

Now go and…..Show someone how special they are.

Leslie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donnanuce
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 10:04:41

    Great use of your club scrap catalog. I love the book you made for your son. Your blog is a great inspiration.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 04, 2014 @ 10:40:18

      Thank you Donna. I’ve seen your newest offering…the masculine card and I absolutely LOVE it. All the dark colors and sharp angles. Awesome use of supplies from your stash.

      I’m really having a load of trouble leaving comments on Blogspot. A lot of my internet friends use this format and it makes me crazy that I can’t share my love 😦

      Thank you, Donna, for your very kind words. I appreciate you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 12:36:41

    This goes to show, you make the ordinary extraordinary. Simple things like photos on objects is genius. I love the fact that even if something may look innocent, it can go to a project!

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Feb 04, 2014 @ 17:51:50

    The pointy thing is a compass 😀 Great stuff, love the cover you made. What do you think of Distress stains? I only have two colours and I have to say not terribly impressed with them because I can’t control the depth of colour as well as I can with Distress Inks and Alcohol Inks. It must be me because others seem to love ’em!!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 05, 2014 @ 08:01:17

      I figured someone would come to my aid on the name of that pointy thing 😀 Thanks, Lynn. Now that you tell me it is a “Compass” I remember now. Another tool or gadget name that doesn’t make any sense. I suppose the name comes from the ancient shipping world when they plotted their sea/ocean routes on maps and navigated by the stars.

      What two colors of Distress Stain do you have? I’m not all that good at color blending. Don’t know much about it so I make mud :/ You might try wetting a surface, then lay down a color of ink, then hit it with one of your stains and spray a little more water to see what your results would be. I can’t be much help to you, sorry. I’m illiterate when it comes to the Distress Stains :/

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Feb 05, 2014 @ 17:13:16

        The colours of Distress Stains I have are bundled sage and a pink one – can’t remember which one and too lazy to get up and look in the drawer!!!!!! They actually go well together on the couple of occasions that I have used them; thank heavens they weren’t a purchase but in a box of goodies I won. I think I may use them like watercolours when I next feel tempted to use them!
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Feb 06, 2014 @ 08:43:28

        When you do use your Distress Stains, let me know what you did and how you like the results. I’m just starting using them and don’t have the color thing figured out. I don’t have many but I have enough to make mud :/

        Love you – Leslie

Leave a Reply

