Metal Stamping…..give it a “Whack”.

I am going to assume that you have survived my week long postings of getting my “Studio” organized.  In my post about things that need to be “Whacked” I showed you the stamping tool set I have been wanting to use.

Stamping Tool set

Stamping Tool set

Letter tool

Letter tool

This tool set has a “thing” that acts like one of those fancy screwdrivers with multiple doo dads.  The letter and number stamps can be jammed up into the tool then pulled out to replace it with another letter or number.

I have a couple of metal disks…circa 2005…that have been hanging around.  I’m not sure what they are made of.  Aluminum or tin.  Way back when, these disks were highly sought after for the brand new invention of Alcohol Inks that were all the rage back then.  I didn’t have Alcohol Ink but I did purchase the disks.  Then proceeded to make them live in a black hole of a drawer.

Metal disks

Metal disks

Folks, this is the first time, EVER, for me to use this tool set.  Unlike the Cinch I wrote about yesterday, this tool set does NOT have directions for use.  There is a lot of “small print” regarding the warranty of the tool, but no usage directions.  Fine with me.  I don’t read directions anyway.

You will need a hammer.  Metal head hammer, a wooden mallet, or a combination head hammer such as mine with a rubber mallet on one end and a tough acrylic head on the other side.  My husband gets the heebie jeebies when I use his tools so I have a hammer that is all my own.

You will need a hammer

You will need a hammer

You are going to have to use your imagination here.  I was physically unable to hold the tool in my left hand, hammer in my right hand, whack away at the device, and take pictures of the process all at one time.

This tool is pretty easy to use.  If you like the look of “Willy Nilly”.

 

Stamped name

Stamped name

One day.  Don’t know when that will be :/  I will figure out how to get the letters lined up perfectly straight.  I imagine it will result in putting my face on my work table, closing one eye (the one to see with), and making the adjustments necessary to get the letter or number lined up perfectly.  Today…..not gonna happen.

There is a touch of double stamping.  Some letters had more of a “Power Stroke” happening than the other letters.  Note the depth of some of the impressions.  The results are wonky and quirky.  BUT….You can read the thing just fine.  Once you have finished with your fantastic work, turn the metal piece over and give the backside a tap or two to straighten out the wavy stuff going on.

Letters and numbers

Letters and numbers

To further ENHANCE the wonky and quirky I have rubbed a dab of black acrylic paint all over the metal thing.  Making sure to get the paint down into the stamped letters and numbers.

 

Black acrylic paint

Black acrylic paint

Wipe off the excess paint.  Careful on the wiping or you will totally clean the stuff off.

Enhanced letters and numbers

Enhanced letters and numbers

There are no hard and fast rules about doing this type of metal work.  The double stamping, crooked letters and numbers, botched depth all make this “Personalized” item more special.  I’ll keep telling myself that.  This is special and one of a kind.

Oh, and I didn’t forget to make sure the ribbon or chain hole was totally off center either :/  It’s going to be glued on with E6000 anyway.  Curtis is not much of a “Ribbon Guy” so I don’t have to worry about that.

This metal stamping tool cost me $3.95 when I bought it from a close out place – The Yard Store in Wichita, Kansas.  The metal disks cost about $1.50 for four disks way back in 2005.  Find a cheap set of metal stamps and personalize things for the people in your life that the rest of the world doesn’t even consider.  They won’t care if it is wonky or quirky.  They will love that you took the time to put their ACTUAL name on something.

As far as metal goes.  If you can’t easily find metal disks or squares.  Surely you have soda or beer cans in  your home.  Just don’t cut yourself on the sharp edges.

Now get out there and get to “Whacking”.  Show someone how special they are.

Leslie

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 13:50:49

    Are those disks thin enough that you could emboss them in your embossing folders?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 03, 2014 @ 13:58:57

      I will have to find out if the disks will go through the embossing folders or not. I’ll get back with you on that one.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

    • Elizabeth K
      Feb 04, 2014 @ 15:13:11

      Last week I used an embossing folder to emboss a Mixed Media Metal sheet, so I am sure those little disks would emboss just fine. I do have a vagabond and that might have made all the different though. I have tried to emboss metal with anything else. I say … give it a go and see what happens. =^_^=

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 17:57:04

    No Leslie I won’t bother thanks – life is too short to fool around with that tool, giving myself a headache in the process 😀 I’ll just use chipboard disks, make them look like metal and stamp names and numbers on them 🙂 Leslie I have put strips of metal cans through embossing folders so if those disks are thin enough they should emboss okay.

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 03, 2014 @ 22:31:43

      Brilliant idea to put aluminum cans through an embossing folder. I’ll have to give that a try. I think the disks are much tougher. In fact I know they are more dense than can aluminum, the beverage can metal that is. I was in fear of whacking my thumb or fingers more than getting a headache from the whacking. Still…..pretty dangerous stuff there 😀

      Thanks for the tip. Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Betsy Skagen
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 19:20:46

    Ha! I have a similar tool that has been never unused. I tried to sell it on craigslist, but no takers. So it sits in my drawer. Maybe you will inspire me. -Betsy at PaperCalliope.com
    P.S. How is the paper cutter working out?
    P.S.S. Is it considered “ok” to sign with my blog? I don’t want to break any etiquette rules, but definitely need to build an audience.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 03, 2014 @ 22:39:58

      Maybe…by the time I show the finished project you might want to get that puppy out and do some whacking 😀

      The paper cutter? FABULOUS! The project with the disk will be shown tomorrow, I think. My current project will be shown a couple days from now. All I’m going to say is that cutter slices through cardboard like it is a sheet of copy paper! Love that machine.

      Also, as to you leaving your blog link in the comments. I don’t know what the blog etiquette of this matter is. I, for one, won’t mind as long as your link doesn’t take me to a site that would be unseemly and uhmmm quite risque.

      To drive more people to your blog, the trick I have found, is to poke your nose in other people’s business. Read other blogs and leave comments. It has been my experience that those people, generally, will come to your blog to see what you are about. Some hang around to keep up with your posts while others just pop in and vanish into thin air.

      I’m still searching for the “hook” that will draw more viewers and subscribers to my blog. Shameless self promotion seems to be the only way to do it. Along with posting frequently. On a weekly basis, at least one post on the same day every month. You don’t have to be like me and post a blog everyday.

      Hope this helps. Thanks for coming by. I’ve got to see what you have been up to.

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

