Tim Holtz January 2014 tag.

Once I finished making my granddaughter’s mini album, last week, I thought it was time to begin a project I am totally unfamiliar with.  Doing a bit of “Altered Art”.

There are some things I have to be drug kicking and screaming into.  This is one of them.  Using Tim Holtz, and Ranger Industries, Distress Stains.  I don’t have any of the black and gray that Tim used on his tag.   I used Weathered Wood and Vintage Photo on the tag base.

Tim Holtz - January 2014 tag

Tim Holtz – January 2014 tag

Using the items that I have on hand I thought I’d give this a try.  The numbers Tim  has on his tag are rub ons.  I have some really OLD number stickers that have been hanging around in my craft room since 2006.

Number stickers

Number stickers

After I applied the stickers, rubbed and mashed on them with my bone folder to make sure they were stuck on good, then rubbing them some more on the back side of the tag I figured it was time to get out the sanding block I have had from a home improvement store.

 

Distress the number stickers

Distress the number stickers

Tim’s tag has some black spatters on it so I broke out my black acrylic paint, watered it down a bit using a paint brush.  Next I set to banging the paint brush on my left index finger.  Uhm, OUCH!  It smarts when you  hit your knuckle with a wooden stick!  I can actually say that I did get some spatters going on.

Black paint spatters

Black paint spatters

I had to do a bit of scheming to come up with a pocket watch.  YES!  I remembered I had a Graphic 45 paper pad called “A Proper Gentleman” and there is a pocket watch in there.  Looked to be about the right size I would need, too.

From A Proper Gentleman

From A Proper Gentleman

My old Sizzix dies are being brought out and into the light.  This time I have used the Circles die.  The largest circle will fit in the time piece area of the image.  I hope anyway.

Sizzix Circle dies

Sizzix Circle dies

A piece of scrap packaging, a bit of metal tape and I’m in business here.

 

Metal tape and packaging

Metal tape and packaging

Tape on the package piece

Tape on the package piece

Metallic circle die cut

Metallic circle die cut

Next was to run the die cut through a Tim Holtz embossing folder.  I think this is the one he used on his tag…

Embossed die cut

Embossed die cut

I don’t have the die that Tim used, and I don’t have the grunge board he used.  I do, however, have a silver gel pen and an image of a pocket watch.  I went around the outside of the watch with the gel pen.  Note to self…..next time maybe don’t do this.

Silver gel pen around image

Silver gel pen around image

Very carefully, I cut the watch face out from the image and inserted the embossed metallic circle.  The test fit worked very well.  Take the piece out and then smear some black acrylic paint on the embossed piece and wipe it off – quickly.

 

Remove the watch face

Remove the watch face

Distress the embossed piece

Distress the embossed piece

I then taped the embossed piece into the pocket watch “ring” that I had left after cutting the face out.

Tape the embossed piece into the pocket watch image

Tape the embossed piece into the pocket watch image

I don’t have a ticket the size used by Tim Holtz.  However, I do have one or two tickets that I can use.

A ticket, anyone?

A ticket, anyone?

I do have the rubber stamp set that Tim used on his ticket.  I stamped it on one of my yellow tickets then had to use a Stampin’ Up! Ticket Corner Punch to make this look like a ticket.

 

Stamped sentiment

Stamped sentiment

I don’t have the little hangy down thing that Tim used on his safety pin doo dad.  BUT I do have some Memory Makers Page Pebbles and a bit of paper with a sort of time theme.  I used a Stampin’ Up! 3/4 inch circle punch to cut out an image from the paper.  Then I attached the Page Pebble to the punch.  Hey, that turned out pretty good 😀

3/4 inch circle punch

3/4 inch circle punch

Decorative paper

Decorative paper

Page Pebble

Page Pebble

Hey, pretty cool!

Hey, pretty cool!

And, lastly, I have the word stickers from Tim Holtz that match his tag.

Word stickers

Word stickers

I think I’ve already told you that I am a “Sissy La La Pants”.  I survived the making of this tag challenge and have come pretty close to what Tim has done.

Lesson learned in this piece?  Doesn’t matter what you have OR DON’T HAVE.  The important thing is to get out of your comfort zone and try something totally not of your ilk.  I learned that Distress Stain is pretty fun to work with.  Having a sample to experiment with is freeing.  Sanding blocks and distress techniques have their place in crafting.  The right coach can help through the squeamish times.

Was I successful at making a Tim Holtz Tag?  Yes, indeed I was.

My January 2014 tag

My January 2014 tag

Hey, Tim.  Bring on February.  I’m ready for whatever you have to throw at me.

Uhmmm, maybe :/

Have you tried the tag challenge?  What do you like about it?  What have you learned about it?  I want to know.

Leslie

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Linda
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 01:52:58

    Wow!! Your tag is excellent! I’m amazed and impressed and INSPIRED! I took a look at Tim’s tag & immediately knew I had none of the items/supplies needed to recreate it. But you’ve totally nailed it using things from your existing stash. Wow! Love it! THANKS so much for sharing this project! 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 08:04:50

      Thank you, Linda. I’ve been so intimidated by his tags since he started making them, way back when. I don’t have many of his products either. However, I do have a whole lot of cr…..STUFF that I’ve found since I got my room organized. I am totally honored that I have inspired you to think about giving this a try.
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. tina
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 04:17:03

    i keep telling myself i’m gonna try it. just love you posting all the time..

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 17:47:33

    Fabulous tag Leslie and well done for having a go. I know a few people who make these and they don’t have all the items he uses so they improvise and quite often I prefer what they have made 🙂 I’ve never made a Tim Tag as he doesn’t inspire me at all although I do like some of the Ranger products such as distress inks but don’t like the stains, I have two I was gifted and hardly use them. There are other Ranger products I like but find they are overpriced so hunt out alternatives 🙂 However I am impressed that you came out of your comfort zone to have a go and made a very successful attempt 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 18:18:34

      Thank you, for your very kind comment on my attempt on the Tim Tag. I see the art journals that people make and am scared away by them. Being a “control freak” the relaxed style of the art journals and collages send me into fits. I want to straighten them up :/ I’ve lost my mind! So it goes with Tim’s Tags. They need to be straightened :/

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

