“Fan”-Tastic layout. The final page.

You have hung with me through this entire tutorial and I appreciate all of you who have left comments on the progress of this mini album for my granddaughter.  Thank you all so very much.

Now for some totally selfish and self-aggrandizing, put my shoulder out of the socket by patting myself on the back, show off man-ship. I present to you the final page of my granddaughter’s mini album.  *bowing and taking in all the worship* 😀

AWESOME if I do say so myself

AWESOME if I do say so myself

The finished photos are tucked into the fan.

Gorgeous!

Gorgeous!

Now I could tell you that this is a project that is more along the lines of a “Master Student”.  I want to be adored just a bit longer.  Okay, that is enough of the adoration.  Let’s get into the construction business.

This is totally SIMPLE!  Really, trust me.  This is very simple.

First round up your scrap chipboard pieces.  You will need pieces that measure about 5 inches square.

Get out your scrap chipboard

Get out your scrap chipboard

Select pieces that are 5 inches square

Select pieces that are 5 inches square

I am using an old Sizzix die.  The “Dresden Plate” die.  You might have something similar in your Cricut or other electronic cutter.

Sizzix Dresden Plate

Sizzix Dresden Plate

You will cut six of the petals.  I was going to use this background paper for the layout but I didn’t want to hide the awesome graphics.  So I’m going with the back side of the page.  As you can see….this page was done before the one you saw yesterday.

Cut six petals

Cut six petals

You can keep the scrap from the die cuts if you want to use them as stencils.  I’m just going to toss these in the recycling bin.

Keep or toss

Keep or toss

I’m using paper from a long ago purchased paper pad from GCD Studions called Sophisticated Frost.

GCD Studios Sophisticated Frost

GCD Studios Sophisticated Frost

I like this pattern and think it will do well for this project.

I like this paper

I like this paper

Cut your chosen paper at 5 inches square and cut out 6 of the petals.  Try to line up the pattern in a pleasing display.

Cut the patterned paper

Cut the patterned paper

When you have the papers lined up in the pattern that is pleasing to you, glue them to the chipboard.

Glue the paper to the chipboard

Glue the paper to the chipboard

I have gone round all the edges with a gold leafing pen.  This might not ever be seen when I’m finished but I know it is there.

Paint the edges

Paint the edges

Now you will need to find some GROSS GRAIN ribbon.  This type of ribbon is strong enough and has lots of body to support the fan pieces and keep them from flopping around on you.

Gross grain ribbon

Gross grain ribbon

Now…on to the most dreaded tool in my studio.  The hot glue gun.  I have a love/hate relationship with this bit of nasty business.

Hot glue gun for the next bit

Hot glue gun for the next bit

Did you know that the manufacturers of all hot glue guns say it is NEVER advisable to have the hot gun on its side?  Why can’t they make a proper stand for the infernal contraption that will make it stand upright if it HAS to be upright at all times?!  Mine has a terrible problem with “dropsy” :/

Blasted thing!

Blasted thing!

Okay, now that I’ve finished whining it is time to get on with things.  I forgot to tell you to cut the ribbon to fit the petal edges.  Do that now and cut a total of 4.

Cut four pieces of ribbon

Cut four pieces of ribbon

Using the hot glue gun, put a thin stream of glue down the left edge of the ribbon and QUICKLY attach the petal to the ribbon.  This stinkin’ stuff cools off so fast that I have not been very successful in showing you what you need to do.

Attach the petal to the ribbon using hot glue

Attach the petal to the ribbon using hot glue

It will look like this on the back.  This is why you need Gross Grain ribbon for this application.

The back side

The back side

Add more hot glue along the edge of the next ribbon area.  Don’t worry about the bleepin’ globs that squeeze out in the process.

Add more hot glue

Add more hot glue

Don’t panic at the mess.  I’ve already done that for you….panic that is.  I’ve also said “Crapazoid” many times.

Don't panic at the mess

Don’t panic at the mess

You will need to have your trusty Tim Holtz mat or some kind of silicone mat for this next part of the project.  And you will need an abundant supply of beaded ribbon stuff.

Tim Holtz craft mat

Tim Holtz craft mat

Lots of beaded string

Lots of beaded string

Using the the hot glue, once again, run a bead of it along the outer edge of the petal, then QUICKLY attach the strung beads to the glue.  The craft mat will allow you to pick up the glued mess when it has cooled.  Make your way around the entire fan gluing the beaded string to the outer edges.

Attach the beaded string using hot glue

Attach the beaded string using hot glue

Go around the curves

Go around the curves

Go around the entire outside

Go around the entire outside

If you find a nasty goobery mess of hot glue, once it has cooled snip it away.

Hot glue goober

Hot glue goober

Snip it away

Snip it away

Now you will add the bead string to the inside fan pieces.  This will cover your many mistakes with the hot glue.

Add beads to ribboned area

Add beads to ribboned area

See, mess hidden

See, mess hidden

Decide how you want the fan pieces to fit on your page.  Using the hot glue secure the top fan piece to the base fan piece where you want it to live.

Fiddle with the fan placement

Fiddle with the fan placement

Make sure you don’t cover your binding holes.

Don't cover your binding holes

Don’t cover your binding holes

Did I mention to not cover the holes?

Did I mention to not cover the holes?

Now you just have to cover the bottom edge of the fan.  Can’t leave it looking like it is now can we.  I’ve used a lock piece from the Tim Holtz Ideology Lock and Key set.  The key I’ve attached to the silk flower.

AWESOME if I do say so myself

AWESOME if I do say so myself

Lynn Claridge, from the UK, gifted me with these totally awesome frame pieces.  Way back in 2010.  I’m going to use them as my photo mats for this “Cinderella Fantasy” page.  I thought this photo of my granddaughter with her new shoes was fairly appropriate for this layout.

Beautiful frames.  Thank you Lynn

Beautiful frames. Thank you Lynn

IMG_6026

So, there you have it.  Totally easy to make this stunning addition to a mini album or a scrapbook page.  Do you want to see it again?  Okay, I’ll be happy to show you once again.

Gorgeous!

Gorgeous!

Alright, alright.  You don’t have to throw eggs at me!  I’ll stop with the bragging!

Now go and “Show someone how special they are”.

Leslie

p.s.  You might need to dig up another binder clip.  The angle of the fan makes the photos want to dump out.

A binder clip may be needed

A binder clip may be needed

p.s. again

I forgot to show you the other photo for this page.  Also, both photos have a journal spot on the back of each.  Sorry, no photos :/

The other photo for this page

The other photo for this page

Okay, bye now.  Really.  Bye.

p.p.s.s.  Here is a video I made to show you the finished mini album.

Seriously….bye now.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 11:06:09

    I can’t believe you’ve finished already! You’ll have to let us know what she says when she opens it! Can’t wait to see what you have next! I’ve got to get cracking on 84 Valentiney gifty things for my grandkids to hand out at their preschool! Yikes! I have to leave time for it to be shipped to Gilbert, Arizona, so I’d better figure out today what to do!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 01, 2014 @ 07:15:51

      !You did that on purpose! Wanted to see if I was paying attention! Grandkids! That tossed my brain about for a few minutes then I remembered you and Charlie sponsored a foreign exchange student that has, literally, become one of your kids. He has two children if I remember right. How sweet of you. Making the Valentines for the preschool kids. Will you be sharing them on Facebook before you ship them off? I want to see them!

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Feb 02, 2014 @ 17:37:44

    Leslie just love that page with the fan – wonder if that die is still available? It looks so pretty and so glad that you have finally found a good place to use those frames – wonderful!! I bet your granddaughter is going to be so pleased with her album:)
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 02, 2014 @ 18:15:32

      Thank you, Lynn. Those frames you sent to me were just the right thing for that final page. I don’t know if the die is still available or not. I sure do hope Reilee likes this mini album. I always worry about the things I make :/

      Hope you are enjoying your house shadow box thing. Creating away in your little space there.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Feb 03, 2014 @ 12:56:04

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Feb 03, 2014 @ 13:58:18

      Thanks Maureen for doing the hard work! I’m trying to decide if I should cut a bunch of them with my chipboard and put them up on my Etsy. I don’t know if they will sell or not :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

