Keeping it simple. Or….I ran out of ideas.

This page was one that I found a bit difficult to make.  Odd as it may seem there are times that I get totally stumped and this was one of them.  The reason for my problem….the background paper.  I didn’t want to cover it up as I had done on most of the other pages.  I wanted this background paper to be the main player.

Background paper

Background paper

This page is all about her different school friends and the fun they have together.  Being accepted and liked for who you are and being a part of a group is important for young girls.  This paper made me think of all the different parts of a teen’s life that make up their world.  Foreign to adults only because the age separation is so vast but we “oldies” had some of the same iconic images in our youth.

As old as I am, the word bubbles would say things like “Groovy” or “Rad”.  We didn’t have cell phones back when dinosaurs walked the earth so there was no such thing as a “text message”.  The only text messages were on torn slips of paper passed from one classroom student to another until it ended up in the hands of the intended person.

We covered our text books with the brown paper grocery bags.  These pristine craft colored text books would be covered with doodles, hearts, and the obligatory name of the current crush written in block letters in various places across the paper.  These names, usually, included hearts to denote the rating of the crush.  If the name was totally surrounded by hearts that meant we were “going steady” with that person.  If there were only a few hearts around the name it meant that we liked the person and wished to know them better.

Okay, enough of a trip down memory lane 😀  This is about a simple pocket.

Select the WIDEST photo you have for this pocket.  This is the photo you will use to create a pocket that will fit all of the things you want to stash.

The photo I am using is 6 inches wide.  Follow these steps and you can make any size of pocket you will need for  your layouts.

Measure the width of your photo

Measure the width of your photo

You will  need to have a 1/2 inch tab on both sides to easily attach the pocket to your page.  So you will add 1 inch.

 

Add 1 inch

Add 1 inch

You can stop here if you choose, however, if you will have several photos or other memorabilia…such as theater tickets or a school recital program to be tucked into the pocket you will need to increase the measurement to fit the thickness.  I’ve added 1/4 inch so that I have a 1/8 inch extra space.

Add 1/4 inch to your measurements

Add 1/4 inch to your measurements

Cut the paper to the width you have determined.  I have chosen to make the pocket 3-3/4 of an inch tall with a 1/2 inch tab for adhering.  My piece will measure 7-1/4 inches by 4 inches.

Cut the pocket

Cut the pocket

Next, you will do the scoring for the folds.  Start with the left most side and score at 1/2 inch.

Score the left side at 1/2 inch

Score the left side at 1/2 inch

Turn your paper and score the bottom edge at 1/2 inch.

Score the bottom at 1/2 inch

Score the bottom at 1/2 inch

Turn your paper once again and score the right most side at 1/2 inch.

Score the right side at 1/2 inch

Score the right side at 1/2 inch

Next you will score both the left and right sides at 5/8 inch.  This will give you the space needed for a bulky pocket.

Score both sides at 5/8 inch

Score both sides at 5/8 inch

This is what it will look like

This is what it will look like

Fold all of your score lines.  It will look similar to this.

Fold all score lines

Fold all score lines

 

Fold on the bottom score line

Fold on the bottom score line

Next, you will trim away the bulk from the two bottom corners.  On a diagonal, and quite close to the score lines, snip from the outer edge to the side score lines.

Snip from the edge to the fold line

Snip from the edge to the fold line

Do it again along the bottom

Do it again along the bottom

Your pocket will now look like this.

This is what it will look like

This is what it will look like

Now press all of your tabs in place and apply adhesive of your choice.  Make sure to not get any adhesive or glue on the inside of the pocket or you will make this pocket useless :/

 

Add adhesive to the tabs

Add adhesive to the tabs

If you will be using an embossing folder on this pocket front it would be very advisable to do that step now before you adhere the pocket.  I will be using one of my old, and I mean old, Sizzix Simple Impressions embossing folders.

Sizzix Simple Impressions

Sizzix Simple Impressions

Ink up the embossed image if you choose to make it stand out just a bit more.  It has been since the stone ages that I used it last and could not remember what plates or things needed to get the right sandwich in my Big Shot :/

Ink up the embossed image

Ink up the embossed image

Adhere the pocket to your page and test the fit of your photos and/or memorabilia.

Make sure the photos fit

Make sure the photos fit

Then all you have to do is fiddle with the page until you have it the way you like it.

Finished simple page

Finished simple page

I hope this has been helpful to anyone wishing they knew how to make a pocket for a page.  Now go and “Show someone how special they are”.

Leslie

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 10:23:17

    Great work! I hope she’s not watching your blog; I want her to be BLOWN AWAY!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 17:13:25

      Thank you, Maureen. I want her to be blown away as well. I don’t think I have to worry about her dropping in to my blog. My kids don’t come by very often, so I doubt my granddaughter would either. Like I was safe with Carissa’s cans. She was surprised and happy with what I made her.

      I was going to ask if you were inside where it was warm….I just checked the weather where you live and you guys are in sunshine and mid 60’s. No snow where you are.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:42:12

    Simple but great! BTW, that background paper looks like the album cover to Led Zeppelin’s third LP so named: Led Zeppelin III. The only difference is the LP had moving pictures that was kind of cool. The photos were printed on a wheel and anytime someone would turn the wheel, the photos would change through the slots on the front cover. Very ingenious thing for back then. Alas, nowadays those album covers are collector’s items since everything is on CD–not even–digital!

    Anyway, keep up the good work, Leslie!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 17:29:46

      Thanks, Jack. I remember that album! Whoa. You’ve just given me a ride on the way back machine 😀 1970’s. Graduating from high school. Foster parents telling me I was listening to the devil. If they only listened to the lyrics they would have known differently. I think I will go and listen to some Led Zeppelin for a while.

      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Little Miss Menopause
    Jan 31, 2014 @ 00:09:39

    THIS is the most creative, original, innovative blog I have ever been to!! Wow. Thank you for finding me so I could retrace the bread crumbs back to here! I definitely have a certain special someone in mind for this. Can’t wait to explore more! You’re extraordinarily talented!
    take care,
    Stephanie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

