Whoa! That’s not trash!

I have to confess.  I am a bit of a hoarder.  I keep things that other people would consider quickly tossing in the recycling bin.  Case in point….plastic packaging and product cardboard packing.

Plastic packaging

Plastic packaging

Product cardboard

Product cardboard

I’m going to make you wait until the end of this post to see the results.  Hopefully it will change your mind about keeping stuff you might otherwise throw away.

Let’s start with the plastic packaging.  A pillow box which held some Tim Holtz embossing folders. Cut off one side of the packaging.

Tim Holtz embossing folder package

Tim Holtz embossing folder package

Cut away one side

Cut away one side

I’m going to be using a Stampin’ Up! Top Note die on this plastic piece.  Use a small amount of tape to hold the slippery plastic in place when die cutting.

Stampin' Up! Top Note die

Stampin’ Up! Top Note die

Secure the plastic with a bit of tape

Secure the plastic with a bit of tape

Cool!  Acetate die cut

Cool! Acetate die cut

Now for the cardboard.  This is one of the end flaps from a box of FoodSaver plastic rolls I use.

Product cardboard

Product cardboard

The die I will be using is an old Sizzix die.  An old telephone.  With a curly cord and rotary dial.  I’ve had this die for quite a number of years.  You can use any die you wish, I’m just showing you what I used.

Sizzix telephone die

Sizzix telephone die

Die cut the cardboard, then die cut card stock in the color of your choice.  Then glue the card stock to the cardboard die cut.

Die cut the cardboard

Die cut the cardboard

Die cut card stock

Die cut card stock

Put the pieces together

Put the pieces together

Presto!  Chango!  *flash of bright light and a bit of smoke in the air*

 

Top Note acetate die cut with bling

Top Note acetate die cut with bling

Telephone cardboard die cut

Telephone cardboard die cut

Both of these die cuts are being used to  hold the photos in place.  The sticker tags are also being used as added grip to keep the photos from falling out.  I’ve used Glue Dots on the acetate die cut and Red Liner tape on the bottom portion of the telephone.

I hope this has given you a bit of inspiration for your creative day.

Now….go “Show someone how special they are”.

Leslie

 

 

 

 

 

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 10:34:18

    Fantastic Leslie. Love that old phone brings back memories of my grandparents 🙂
    The album is a treasure chest of goodies. Loving your frequent posts.
    Love ya
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 29, 2014 @ 14:44:50

      It has been such a long time since I have been able to play with my toys 😀 I had a total blast making this mini album. Lest you get the idea that it is finished….not quite yet. There are a couple more pages coming up in the next few days. Then I need to get cracking on getting things made!

      My old Sizzix dies are being resurrected and put to use 😀 How fun, you had a fond memory of your grandparents. Thanks for letting me know that I sparked a loving memory for you.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 17:56:01

    No real crafter throws anything away 🙂 I am in the process of making another printer tray house and have constructed some sets of drawers in two of the spaces and the knobs for these drawers are old stud earrings! The background papers are made from a tatty book because I didn’t have enough sheets of one sort of designer paper!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 07:33:26

      This project you are doing sounds luscious! What a fantastic idea to use stud earrings as drawer pulls. I watched a video, recently, of a woman using old brittle book pages to cover a decoupage item she was making. Torn pieces adhered all kinds of sideways. Turned out pretty neat. I see a blog post in your future. 😀 Ahem. Hint. Hint.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. donnanuce
    Jan 29, 2014 @ 23:02:58

    Great use of the plastic. I normally hang on to it too but haven’t done much with it. I did die cut some snow flakes out of it. Thanks for the ideas!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 08:25:21

      Oooooh, snowflakes! That is an awesome idea! I bet you had fun with that!

      Donna, I’m having major difficulty in leaving comments on Blogspot blogs. I have been following your blog this month and am so enjoying your cards. The range of techniques and layers of your cards are stunning. I have to admit, your Valentine card is totally AWESOME! I’ve seen a lot of cards using wood grain papers or stamps and have not cared much for what I have seen.

      I’m sorry to learn of your broken foot and the difficulty you are having getting around….especially to your basement craft room. I totally admire your independent spirit and your determination to not let the broken foot keep you from doing what you want to do.

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Betsy Skagen
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 11:52:57

    No way! You are not a hoarder, you are a true Artiste! (make sure you say that with a French accent to make it sound especially impressive). I save packaging too. Although, I’m ashamed to admit I do more “saving” than actually “using”. However, this week I did use bubble wrap and ink to stamp interesting textures on cardstock. The challenge is that every time my kids come into my studio, they start popping the bubblewrap. Betsy at http://www.PaperCalliope.com

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 17:46:05

      Yikes! I know what you mean about saving the stuff more than using it. I’m determined to use the stuff I’ve found in my room organization. Who knew I had so much cr…..stuff! I didn’t find a post of your children and bubble wrap. I think I have to wonder through your blog a bit further – which should prove to be hysterical!

      Leslie

      Reply

  5. Elizabeth K
    Jan 30, 2014 @ 14:39:16

    I save those things too! ^^ One day I will be able to use them…lol

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 30, 2014 @ 17:51:58

      I think the problem with the majority of crafters. We see stuff and say “I can make something with that”. And that is as far as it gets :/ Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I’m checking yours out as well.

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

