How to create a hidden pocket in a mini album.

Do you find the pieces you are using on a mini album page have taken up all the available space?  Did you not leave yourself enough room for a journal tag or spot?  Are you saying “Crapazoid!” about now?  Stick with me and I’ll show you how to make a  hidden pocket on a layout.

No place for journaling.

No place for journaling.

In the photo above you see that I have used the entire page element.  Look closer and you see the end of a tag sticking out on the lower right.  Here is where the tag will live.

Hidden pocket

Hidden pocket

Before I get into the construction of the hidden pocket I want to show you one of the things I found in my room when I did my organization.  Stampin’ Up! rub ons.  I found four sets of these.  Some of them have been used while the remainder have not even had the seal broken on them.  Bonus find!  I’m pretty sure this set is no longer available.  Check with your demonstrator, or look at the site online to see if they still make rub ons.

Stampin' Up! rub ons

Stampin’ Up! rub ons

Okay, now to the reason for this post.  If you remember back a few months….maybe October….I made some cardboard boxes to store some stuff in.  In the construction of my boxes I made use of structure strips to give the box strength.

Cleaning off my work table I found several piles of left over structure strips.

Structure strip scraps

Structure strip scraps

The structure strips are created using craft card stock cut to 1 inch lengths and scored at 1/2 inch down the center.  To turn this structure strips into what I will need them for I put them on my score board and made another score line 1/8 inch to the left of the center score.  Clear as mud?

Scoring to the left 1/8 inch

Scoring to the left 1/8 inch

This will create a “channel” for the hidden pocket.  I needed to create three of these.

Creating a channel

Creating a channel

Once finished with the scoring and folding I cut one end off at an angle.  Measured the length I would need on the back side of my photo and cut the other end at an angle as well.

 

Cut the end at an angle

Cut the end at an angle

Measure, cut, and test to fit

Measure, cut, and test to fit

Using adhesive of your choice, put it on the NARROWEST side of the structure strip.  Then attach the piece to the back of your photo mat.

Add adhesive to the narrow end

Add adhesive to the narrow end

Attach the strip to the back of our photo mat

Attach the strip to the back of your photo mat

Do this same thing to the other two pieces of structure strips.  When finished you will have the beginnings of your pocket.

Add adhesive to the other strips and place on mat

Add adhesive to the other strips and place on mat

Your pocket is coming together

Your pocket is coming together

Add adhesive to the outside flaps of these channels.  If using a liquid glue I would recommend you do this step one at a time.  Add glue to the smallest piece.  Or peel off the protective paper if using dry adhesive.

Apply adhesive to the three channels

Apply adhesive to the three channels

Place this first tab in the desired location of your layout and press it firmly to seat the adhesive.  If using liquid glue you will do the same at this point.

Attach the tab in the desired location

Attach the tab in the desired location

If using liquid glue, at this time put it on the two long tabs.  If using dry adhesive pull the protective covers off.  Carefully place the pocket in the desired location.  Make sure you have a “box” shape happening.

Peel off the protective covers and place on layout

Peel off the protective covers and place on layout

You will now have a box

You will now have a box

Using a bone folder, get inside the box and press down all three tabs to make sure you have good adhesion.

Use a bone folder to press down the tabs

Use a bone folder to press down the tabs

There you have it.  A hidden pocket on an otherwise full layout.

On a different note entirely.  I have been making blog posts ahead of time using a totally awesome Blog Post Planner created by Productive Flourishing.  This form has been a life saver to me.

Blog Post Planner

Blog Post Planner

I used it to bore you to tears with my craft room organization.  It took two days to clean up that mess but I stretched it out for the week so that you wouldn’t miss anything in my insanity.

Organization posts

Organization posts

Now that I’m making this mini album for my granddaughter and trying to use it as a tutorial I have split up the posts into easy to follow tips and ideas.  You can see how I kept track of the sequence of making the mini album.

Blog schedule for mini album

Blog schedule for mini album

If you are new to blogging and feel you have a lot to say, or would like to say, this is a good place to get your thoughts in order and give you a starting point in making your blog less intimidating.

Tomorrow’s post I’m going to show you how I made the Maya Road chipboard gears look metallic.  I did it with embossing powders.

Heat embossed chipboard gears

Heat embossed chipboard gears

Time to let “Someone know how special they are”.

Leslie

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Flacco
    Jan 26, 2014 @ 20:48:02

    Ha! Very cool! I love how it’s hidden away there without a hint of its location! I also love the multi-use of it! Great job!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 27, 2014 @ 10:16:02

      Thank you, Jack. The trouble with making mini albums is space is a premium 😀 A bit of misdirection, some flash, and a bit of bang is what is called for 😀 I’m surprised, and thrilled, that you are still hanging in here with me 😀

      Stay warm – brrrr – a new cold front is here :/

      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Sher
    Jan 28, 2014 @ 17:59:56

    Leslie, you are so talented! Do you have a Pinterest account so that we at Productive Flourishing can follow you and share your awesome work?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 29, 2014 @ 09:10:06

      Oh my! Thank you for your comment. I appreciate your enthusiasm, although I must admit to feeling a little awkward about such high praise. I do have a Pinterest account that you are free to take a look at. You can see some of the things I make. Most of the time I forget to add stuff to that account.

      I do want to let you know that I am totally grateful to you and your staff for the forms you create to keep me better organized. That is why I do my best to link your site in my blog.

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

