Using a famous quote on a layout.

This is a short post and features only ONE photo.  Can you believe it?!

Using a famous quote on a layout

Using a famous quote on a layout

I love my granddaughters.  It is difficult to let them know, and understand, that the teen years are to be spent having fun and learning about themselves.  With all the bullying going on around the world and the fashion industry bombarding young girls with images to be idealized it is no wonder our young girls are a mess and the suicide rates are too high.

Hedy Lamarr.  Who is she?  Many of you may not have even heard the name before.  Mainly because Hedy Lamarr was of a time long ago.  She made her mark in the movie industry in the 1930’s and 1940’s.  She was a glamorous and beautiful woman.

Did you know that this glamorous and beautiful woman was smart?!  I mean really smart!  She invented a communication device with an unbreakable code for the allied troops during World War II.  She even holds a patent for her invention.

Hedy Lamarr: Movie star, inventer of WiFi

It is with this idea in my mind, I wanted to let my granddaughter know that beauty and glamor is not everything in a girl’s life.

  • Any girl can be glamorous.  All you have to do is stand still and look stupid. – Hedy Lamarr

I want my granddaughter to know that she is fantastic just as she is.  She is beautiful.  Just be herself.  And most of all….TRUST herself.

So that is the end of my rant. 😀

Tomorrow…..how to build a pocket behind a photo using “structure strips”.

Leslie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heidi-Jo Schepp
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 06:32:46

    This is so true!
    If it wasn’t for your words and loving gestures guiding me through the years I would not be the woman I am today and the woman that I continue to be!
    Yes the teenage years are roughest for the child and the parent; however mostly the child. They are finding who they are!
    I love seeing your posts Mommy!
    Thank you for guiding me in my rough and hard long lived journey!
    I love you more and more every day Mom!
    Your daughter,
    Heidi Jo

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 25, 2014 @ 06:58:18

      My Precious. I love you so much and you have become an incredible woman that I am proud of. Thank you for sneaking in here and leaving a comment that made my heart as big as the moon and put a few tears in my eyes. I’ll be seeing you soon. When Carissa has her babies 😀

      Love you so much – Mom

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 10:49:03

    CARISSA IS HAVING TWINS?!!!!!! Oh my gosh, she must be THRILLED! Blessings like that definitely make it worth the wait! I’m speechless!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 25, 2014 @ 14:02:22

      Yes, Carissa is having twins. According to Joe, who say her last night, Jaime is beside himself and walking on the clouds while Carissa is so beautiful 😀 I’m so glad they are finally pregnant. It has been a long and rough road for them. Plus, Jaime is a twin so this is exciting for him.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. aspot2stamp
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 11:32:00

    Ditto what She (Maureen ) said !!! Will keep you all in prayer. Oh yeah I love the quote and you’ve taught me something new today. I agree our young women and girls are surrounded by so much trash. I prefer the dove commercials who celebrate real women just as we are. Not to mention that our young men are being brainwashed as well telling them if you don’t have the “Girl” that’s in the swimsuit ads then it sucks to be you. spoken from a Mamma who has been on both sides.
    Ok off my soapbox 🙂
    Love you Ladies
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 25, 2014 @ 14:05:35

      As if being a teen isn’t bad enough! Boys and girls get their heads full of unrealistic ideas. When they get old enough to be on their own the world comes crashing down around their ears. Media has so much blame in this, in my opinion.

      I’m glad you learned something new today 😀 And that you learned it from me 😀 The one who doesn’t know much 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. donnanuce
    Jan 25, 2014 @ 12:03:43

    Thank you for your inspirational quote about Heddy Lamar. I like to think I raised my very smart daughter with that philosophy. What a beautiful response from your daughter. Have a great day.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 25, 2014 @ 14:09:21

      Thank you. If I haven’t told you this, I’m going to tell you now. Thank you for your service to our country. It is not easy for military families and especially harder for the family member who is so far from home in the thick of the craziness. I appreciate you.

      I have no doubt your daughter is a smart and strong woman. It takes a strong mother to teach her daughter not to cave in to all the hype and to be who and what she is.

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

