How to use Spellbinders – Label Six – dies to crop photos.

I have to go in my closet to use my Big Shot.  BUT AT LEAST I CAN GET TO MY CLOSET!  I’m having so much fun making this mini album for my granddaughter.  It’s like I have mojo on full tilt now 😀

Okay, now to get to the best part of this post.  Using Spellbinders Label Six dies to crop photos.

Using Spellbinder dies to crop photos

Using Spellbinder dies to crop photos

Lay the die over the photo and adjust it until you have it lined up the way you want.  This can be done with any Spellbinder dies not just this Label Six set.

Place the die in the desired location on the photo

Place the die in the desired location on the photo

Run it through your die cutting machine and you will have an instant triumph 😀  I used the next to the largest die for the photo and the largest die for the mat.  My granddaughter’s favorite color used to be black so I’ve used black on each page in some way or another.

Awesome results

Awesome results

The shape of this die calls for BLING!  I found my long forgotten stash of half back rhinestones from Stampin’ Up! in my room clean up.

Must add BLING!

Must add BLING!

Half backed rhinestones

Half backed rhinestones

I need to have a pocket element on this page to hold a journal spot.  This pocket will do double duty.  It will hold the sticker I chose for these photos and be the place to write her memories of these days.

Using some scrap paper from the background of this page I cut a piece to measure 4-1/2 inches by 3-1/4 inches.  Using my score board I scored 1/2 inch from the edge on three sides.  Cut out the two bottom corners where the score lines intersect.  Cut away at an angle to the flaps so they don’t bind up when folding the flaps over on the back.

Using scrap to create a pocket

Using scrap to create a pocket

Fold the flaps in on the back

Fold the flaps in on the back

Using 1/4 inch Scor-Tape I applied two pieces to each flap.  Peel the backing off and attach the pocket to the page.

I used Scor-Tape

I used Scor-Tape

Apply adhesive to three sides

Apply adhesive to three sides

Create the journal tags to go in your newly created pocket.

Journal tag back

Journal tag back

Journal tag front

Journal tag front

Attach all the elements on your page.  I needed to have something a little extra on this page, especially at the tabbed area.  Some newly found items was my stash of Tim Holtz Adage Tickets.  An embossing folder from Stampin’ Up! and some Walnut Stain Distress Ink were used for a texture feature on this page.  I don’t know what the embossing folder name is.  The design looks to be like a damask print.

The cropped photos and journal pocket

The cropped photos and journal pocket

A Stampin' Up! embossing folder

A Stampin’ Up! embossing folder

Tim Holtz Adage Ticket

Tim Holtz Adage Ticket

Another sticker from the sheet I purchased and the page is now ready.

Using Spellbinder dies to crop photos

Using Spellbinder dies to crop photos

I hope you have been inspired to take a second look at your Spellbinder dies in your scrapbook layouts.  After all….these dies are quite pricey at almost $25 per set.  It is time they begin paying for themselves 😀

Leslie

p.s.  Tomorrow’s layout will feature a famous quote!

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 11:14:23

    http://scrapbookingmadesimple.net/ If you’re looking to expand your Spellbinders sets, check out this amazing deal. Xyron teamed up with Spellbinders, and is selling 12 sets of Spellbinders dies for only $30 (I think shipping is $25). It was so hard to resist. It went on sale last night at 11 p.m. and they only have 1500 available, so you’d better get it ASAP if you want them. I put them in my cart, but took them out, since I don’t really NEED them, but maybe you do! When you go to the site, just click on the big banner on the home page, and it will take you to the deal page that has pix of the different shape sets in the bundle!

    Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 24, 2014 @ 11:15:09

    It will retail for $300!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

