Painting with Pearl Ex. Add a subtle touch of bling to your project.

Pearl Ex is a mica and powdered pigment product that requires an adhesive component to allow it to stick to paper.  Unlike Ranger Industries – Tim Holtz product “Perfect Pearls” which already has a binder in the product, Pearl Ex does not have a binder.

Pearl Ex

Pearl Ex

The cover of the mini album I am making for my granddaughter will feature a paper from DCWV’s Mariposa collection.  I will paint in the darker green areas of the ornate frame.

DCWV Mariposa paper

DCWV Mariposa paper

You will need a small amount of water, some white glue that dries clear, and the Pearl Ex pot of your choice. I’m going to use green.

Supplies needed to paint with Pearl Ex

Supplies needed to paint with Pearl Ex

Oh, nearly forgot.  You will need some kind of mixing pan.  I’m using a really old store bought pie tin that has seen better days.

Put a dollop of clear drying white glue in your mixing pan.  About the size of a dime.  For this project that is even too much glue.

A dollop of white glue

A dollop of white glue

You will need to add a small amount of Pearl Ex to the mixing pan – tray, plastic plate, glass jar with a lid, anything.  You don’t need as much Pearl Ex as the amount of glue used.  I tipped the little pot just a bit too far.  Ooops :/

Pearl Ex

Pearl Ex

Next you will need a small amount of water.  I am using already tainted water from the glue when completing a different part of this cover project.

Add water to the mixing tin

Add water to the mixing tin

Ooops!  Way too much water.  I only needed enough to slightly dilute the glue.  Mix everything together until no more blobs of Pearl Ex are seen and the glue is incorporated into the water and Pearl Ex.

Add water and stir well

Add water and stir well

Paint the desired area of your project.  I’m using a fine brush because of some really narrow lines in this image.  Use a brush appropriate to the area you will be painting.  If you are making one of those art journal things and will be slathering on the paint you can use a larger brush.

 

Paint the area you wish

Paint the area you wish

This will be a very subtle touch.  The BLING is only noticeable when the paper is tilted in the light.  It is not something that will reach out and steal all the attention.

Subtle bling

Subtle bling

When the paint and glue mixture has dried you can touch it.  There is very little texture in this application.

When the product is dried you can touch it

When the product is dried you can touch it

You won’t have to worry about the sparkly stuff coming off on your fingers.

Sparkle left on the paper

Sparkle left on the paper

Now that I have rounded up and corralled all of my “Bling” I can easily find my stash of half back pearls.

Bucket of BLING

Bucket of BLING

I added half backed pearls to the circle areas of the design image.  I have used some pearls from “Bling” and from Stampin’ Up!.

Addition of half backed pearls

Addition of half backed pearls

I want those suckers to stay where I put them.  I used Glossy Accents to the backs of the pearls.  The excess glue squeezed out from under the pearls and left a shiny mess behind.

Glossy Accents is visible

Glossy Accents is visible

To cut down on the glue shine I used more of the Pearl Ex and glue treatment of earlier around the pearls and over the Glossy Accents mess.

Nearly invisible now

Nearly invisible now

When I was finished fussing with the cover piece I adhered it down with a lot of double sided tape.

Double sided tape

Double sided tape

Applying the cover piece to the book front cover I had a moment of stark fear.  The piece fell from my fingers and landed right on the cover.  Thankfully, ancestors or angels were watching over me and made sure the heavily glued piece at least landed even.  A little too far left for me but it is even.  Whew!

The cover piece

The cover piece

Do you have Pearl Ex in your stash and have given up on every using it?  Get that stuff out and use it.  Mix a few little batches of different colors.  Stamp an image and get to painting.  This stuff works exactly the same as Twinkling H2O’s.  Only thing is you need to add just a touch of glue to the mix.

We spend a ton of money on the “Trending” items and we feel we just have to have these new bright and shiny products.  When we get them home they languish away in our stash because we can’t really use them.  Dig out your pots of Pearl Ex.  Mix up a little batch of “Happy Bling” and get to painting!

Leslie

 

 

 

 

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 21, 2014 @ 18:17:03

    Couldn’t make a comment last night so here I am. I do love the colours in Pearl Ex but am not so keen on them not having that binder. The mica powders I have do have a binder in them – not Perfect Pearls – so are easier to use but I adore the shimmer in all of them. The cover looks fab with the pearls and flowers added.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 21, 2014 @ 21:53:12

      The Pearl Ex and the Perfect Pearl stuff costs a lot of money over here. Over $25 for a set of six little pots. The bunch I have were purchased at a garage sale for $8 I think. I figure it is high time that I begin using from my stash instead of marking to the store.

      Hey! I can “shop at home” 😀 I crack myself up!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

