I didn’t know I had that! The things you find while going through the disorganized mess.

For the love of Pete!

Wait.  Who’s Pete?

Never mind.  I need to have a mild curse phrase because the one running around in my head is far from mild.  More along the lines of an “F” bomb or three.  I am now working on the fourth cupboard along the wall of my work table.  You will see the doors standing open.

Lord, have mercy upon me.

Lord, have mercy upon me.

All the CRAP that is on my work table….well most of it anyway….has come from the cupboard with the open doors.  I just can’t believe that all that crap was crammed into that space.

The "Before"

The “Before”

How the heck had all this CRAP stayed in that cupboard?!

So much CRAP

So much CRAP

Taking a closer look at what I had stashed away in that frightful mess, I came across a piece of my husband’s history.  An address book that someone in his family handled a lot.  They are long dead now. This address book is from the 1930’s or 1940’s.

An old address book

An old address book

Okay.  Maybe not the 1930’s or 1940’s.  There are postal zip codes in this address book so it is sometime around the 1950’s though.

Old addresses

Old addresses

I will give this to Joe when he gets home.  I’m sure he will be surprised to see this treasure from his past.

And he might not be so thrilled at the next piece of his past.  Joe and his friend, Cliff, modified a pickup truck in 1979.  The truck was transformed into a van with a flatbed at the rear.  The two guys fabricated the cab to fit on the chasis.  They upholstered the inside of the thing.  The two of them spent months working on something they thought could be sold by a car manufacturer.  They did sell it to someone that blew smoke up their a$$ and screwed them out of a patent and any royalties.

An old document from Joe's past.

An old document from Joe’s past

Sorting through this unbelievable mess I had to work out a system of putting like things with like things.  The stuff that I pulled out will be put in a different space in my room.  A better place than where it had been that is for sure!

This cupboard will be used to store my “Bling”.  Flowers, chipboard embellishments, half backed rhinestones and pearls, and all the stuff that I keep telling myself I don’t have any of.  This is ridiculous!  I have more embellishment stuff than I realized.

Now this cupboard has gone from CRAP!

The "Before"

The “Before”

To FAB!

Embellishment cupboard

Embellishment cupboard

Hey, I’m making progress.  The floor is open now and I don’t have to worry about breaking my neck.  I’ll take the little skirmish wins as I do this battle.

Leslie

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Flacco
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 13:18:16

    Your organizing is going very well, keep up the good work. I love how in the background there’s that little sign just behind the chair that reads “Creativity.” I think that’s an ode to how well you’re doing with all your projects! Keep the sign, it’s good for inspiration and with keeping on track with goals!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 18, 2014 @ 09:48:29

      Thank you, Jack. Your encouragement and support is very much appreciated. It is a bit difficult to proclaim to the world that I am a mess and have the photos to prove it :/
      Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 16:59:08

    You do know what is going to happen when this room is totally organised don’t you??? You will be standing there scratching your head saying “Now where the f*** has that been put??”
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 18, 2014 @ 09:50:46

      OMGracious! You had me howling with laughter. I have, in fact on numerous occasions, uttered those very words! I so needed that deep belly laugh 😀

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen
    Jan 17, 2014 @ 20:25:36

    Lynn is right! You should use a small 3 ring notebook to make quick notes of the craft room areas and their contents. Just use a single sheet for each cupboard or cabinet. Actually, this is one thing I think I would actually do for my room. I’m still trying to find a stamp a ma jig. I need one, but don’t want to buy one til I’ve torn my room apart. While I do it, I ll make notes! And I ll do it in pencil, just like I do my address book, cause its always changing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

