The future home of book binding supplies.

Today I am in the right most cupboard above my work table.  I have four cupboards on this wall and this is the one that has been the hardest to get to because I have my other video making light attached to one of the door handles.

Oh, look at this!  A clean work surface.  This photo was taken in October.  I needed to see that!  There is still hope for a clean work table.

Right side video making light

Right side video making light

Are you ready for this?  Seriously!  Are you ready.  I’m not.  There are a couple of sad stories about to be told with this cupboard.

 

The sad before

The sad before

The cardboard box to the right on the bottom shelf.  I hang my head in shame.  This is the box I received from my friend, Lynn, who lives in the UK.  She sent this to me for Christmas of 2010.  The bag of chocolate candy Maltesers are still unopened.  Don’t think I will be opening them now.  Lynn was so sweet to send them to me.  They are similar to the “Whopper” candy malt balls in the US.

Long forgotten Christmas gift

Long forgotten Christmas gift

The little box to the side of the candy is one hand made by Lynn.  A gorgeous box that holds delightful sparkly bits inside.

Beautiful handmade flowers and snowflakes

Beautiful handmade flowers and snowflakes

Lynn also included some very interesting photo frames that I have been wanting to use but could never remember where I had put them :/

Lovely photo frames

Lovely photo frames

Now you know my shameful secret *sigh*.

Moving along.  In this cupboard are numerous empty tin cans.  Don’t have a clue why I have saved them.  One of them I think will work for my embossing powders.

Empty tin

Empty tin

New home for my embossing powders

New home for my embossing powders

The next crazy tale is a box over flowing with motel room keys.  While doing my truck driving job we spent about 250 nights a year away from home.  Someone told us our private information was put on the magnetic strip of the hotel key.  Of course….we panicked and kept all of the keys.

Messy box of motel keys

Messy box of motel keys

Neat box of motel keys

Neat box of motel keys

I had a brilliant idea.  Alter the motel keys and make Christmas themed tags from them.  That is still an idea I am going to work on.  Make them everyday tags as well.

Christmas themed tags from motel keys

Christmas themed tags from motel keys

Working at getting my floor cleared so I don’t kill myself in this mess of a room.  I decided this cupboard would be the right place to hold all of my book binding supplies.  Chipboard, lined note pads, Post-It-Notes, scrap chipboard, scrap pieces of cardboard, scrap pieces of Foam Core board, and other similar items.  So the first item to get up off the floor is my stash of chipboard.

Box of chipboard sheets

Box of chipboard sheets

Now I can say that my book binding supplies are all in one place.  I even found a home for the beautiful cardboard boxes I made back in October.

From CRAP!

The sad before

The sad before

To FAB!

Book binding supplies.  Fabulous

Book binding supplies. Fabulous!

Oh and I will be keeping this giant postage stamp from the UK.  See.  Christmas of 2010 :/

Postage stamp from the UK

Postage stamp from the UK

Do you have any dirty little secrets hiding in your cupboards?  I don’t know about you but mine seem to be chalk full of them :/

Leslie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 11:04:55

    Was anything from the cabinet removed from the room? Is joe going to come home to a kitchen table piled high with stuff and give you the STINK EYE? It really looks like you’re making progress; keep up the good work!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 17, 2014 @ 06:33:09

      No. Not this time. I didn’t haul all the crap out to the kitchen and living room this time. I am so proud of myself 😀

      Yes. The stuff that belong elsewhere in the house was put in its proper place. Actually PUT in its proper place. Not just dumped somewhere else….like the first flat surface I came to 😀

      Thanks for your support 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 16, 2014 @ 17:44:59

    I cannot believe you still have that bag of Maltesers 🙂 The bag is still sealed so I would eat them!! Just thinking aloud here but couldn’t Joe construct some sort of overhead metal bag hooked to the ceiling for the video lights so that you could open the cupboards easily rather than them be for ‘out of sight out of mind items’??
    Progressing well.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 17, 2014 @ 06:36:18

      Joe had a look at my clean room when he was home the other night. He said he would come up with a solution to the lighting problem I have. I’ll have to take the lights off and put them back up when I need in the cupboards. At least that is what is working for now.

      Thanks for thinking of me. I’ll pass your idea on to Joe.
      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

