A “Two-Fer” Today. Sizzix Paddle Punches and more organization.

I thought about making two posts for today but decided not to.  So I will divide this post into two categories.  The first category will be about “Sizzix Paddle Punches”.

HOW TO USE A SIZZIX PADDLE PUNCH:  These little buggers are difficult to use.  When I began collecting my craft stash, long ago, I didn’t have any hand punches.  I had seen these Sizzix Paddle Punches and thought they would be ideal in place of hand punches.

Sizzix Paddle Punches

Sizzix Paddle Punches

They are, in fact, NOT EASY to use at all.  That is unless you know what you are doing.  These four had been chucked up on the highest shelf of the cupboard I am cleaning and organizing.  They have been up there since shortly after I purchased them over six years ago.

Now.  How to use the Sizzix Paddle Punch.  The tools you will need are as follows.

A Rubber Hammer and a prying implement.  I’m using a small screw driver.  The screw driver is to pry the lid open on the punch.

Rubber hammer and screw driver

Rubber hammer and screw driver

Position the punch on the paper you wish to use.  Have a self healing mat under the paper.  This is to protect your work surface.  There are finger grips on the handle of the Paddle Punch.  The grip will be facing upward.

Place the punch on the desired paper

Place the punch on the desired paper

Using the rubber hammer, you will WHACK away in a “Clockwise” direction around the punch.

Whack the top of the punch

Whack the top of the punch

Whack the side and bottom of the punch

Whack the side and bottom of the punch

Whack the left and top of the punch

Whack the left and top of the punch

The punched item

The punched item

Take a look at the punched item.  If it has not fully cut through the paper you need to give the area another good WHACK.  Using the screw driver, pokey tool, or pencil push the punched item free of the Paddle Punch.

Punched heart

Punched heart

I have punched out all of the designs.

Punch results

Punch results

End of Sizzix Paddle Punch demonstration.

ORGANIZATION continued.

Way  up on the top shelf of the cupboard I am working in I found many things that I had forgotten were up there.  Case in point….some “E-Z Water” used in diorama models, a set of number and letter punches, tins, and the Sizzix Punches.

E-Z Water, letter and number stamps, tins, and Sizzix Paddle Punches

E-Z Water, letter and number stamps, tins, and Sizzix Paddle Punches

The E-Z Water was to be used on a gift for our son’s birthday way back in 2011.  You can see the video and read the post HERE.  The E-Z Water was never used on the project.  I ended up having Joe use Glossy Accents for the water feature instead

I had ideas for the number and letter stamps.  That is as far as it went…..Ideas.

Number and letter stamps

Number and letter stamps

Tins I had purchased from Stampin’ Up! thinking I could use them for mini albums.  Problem is they are way to thin.  A gift card would fit in the tins, though.

A couple of tins

A couple of tins

All these things were chucked up on the shelf and forgotten.  Most of these items have wound up in the “Give Away” bin I have started.

Now, for what is actually going up on the top shelf of this cupboard?  Markers, pens, flock, chalk, and ink spots I located throughout my room and from my work table.

The pens have found a home in a store bought cookie insert.  This will work until I can find a suitable replacement.

Pens

Pens

 

Ink Spots

Ink Spots

The shelf is now organized and looks better.

Organized top shelf

Organized top shelf

Now each time I come into my room, and need some inspiration to keep going away at the organization project I have made for myself, I open the cupboard door and feel a rush of pure pleasure.

 

Neatly organized now

Neatly organized now

Oh, and I found more glue :/  on my work table.  Hidden under some other stuff.

More glue

More glue

From CRAP –

Cupboard above my work table

Cupboard above my work table

To FAB –

Neatly organized now

Neatly organized now

There you have it.  The “Two-Fer” of the day.  Now you can get on with the rest of your day after losing 5 minutes you will never get back :/

Leslie

 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 10:54:15

    FANTASTIC !!!! Horray for Leslie said in my best cheer leader voice 🙂 Been watching your posts but didn’t have time to comment been getting my house in order ahead of time so I could be gone for my Dad’s surgery which went great. So today I am having a wee bit of down time then over to check the doggies. I have never seen paddle punches kinda looks like a ton of work for a die cut image. Can’t wait to see your room turns out. Mine will be on hold for a bit but I did make a small travel area in my planner to doodle with some pens and colored pencils it makes for nice little spots of time. Take care
    Love and hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2014 @ 12:54:06

      I’m very glad to hear your Dad has weathered the surgery well. His knee, was it? He will be glad of your company as he gets poked and prodded every 15 minutes in the hospital. Trying to recuperate in the hospital is not such a good place for that to happen with all the bothersome interruptions in his sleep.

      Doodles! Sounds like tons of fun. At least it would be a good thing to do to keep the creative mojo happening. Thanks for stopping by and checking on my mess. Maybe, just maybe, you will think your house is not messy after seeing the catastrophe mine is in 😀

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy :)
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 21:57:27

    I had to laugh at your demo of those punches….glad I don’t have them 😉
    Your organizing is going great. Your cupboards look awesome and way more functional.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 07:36:43

      I thought about you and your organizational posts from your craft room a couple years back. When you went through each of your cupboards, bins, and drawers and had everything looking so good. So, I have you to thank for all of this 😀

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 12:00:03

    Girl, give those things in your Give Away Box AWAY —– TODAY! Nothing like an empty Give Away Box to inspire you when you’re ready to tackle the next area of your craft room!

    I’m in a Scrappy Facebook group that sell our stuff by putting it in an album, with a description on each photo of the price and if it includes shipping or not. So far, I’ve made a few purchases, but yesterday, I finally created an album and listed a few things. I sold $5 of stuff right away! Hopefully, I’ll receive the paypal payment today and can mail it off. I’ll request to have you added, but I warn ya’ – it’s dangerous! There’s even and In Search Of (ISO) album where you can add a pic from the internet of what you’re looking for!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 14:52:36

      That seems to be a good idea. Put my stuff out there for someone that really needs it more than I do. I keep finding stuff to put in the “Give Away” bin. I think I will take a look at the FB page you mentioned and see what others are putting up for sale. Good for you getting a few items sold already!

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Jan 15, 2014 @ 19:06:25

    Those paddle punches definitely need to go in the giveaway bin or even perhaps the throw it bin! Ye gods what a waste of time and effort. Now if those small ink pads had gone into the giveaway bin I would have made an offer for them! So one cupboard, down how many more to go??
    I actually enjoy going through my craft things and reorganising them, I find it very therapeutic but then I don’t have a huge amount so it doesn’t take long. There are a couple of guilty purchases – the items I thought I needed but have hardly used and they cause me grief to think of the money wasted.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 17, 2014 @ 07:00:05

      I hear you, sister! Purchasing a much prized item and once home can’t figure out what to do with it/them :/ As you can well see….I have a room full of stuff just like that :/ However, it has all come together and is organized.

      I know you participate in different types of challenges. Your “Guilty Pleasures”, are they tools and/or equipment? Or are they supplies? Maybe you can do a little “Call Out” to your fellow bloggers and crafters for inspiration to make use of these guilty things. Maybe you will get an idea and you will no longer feel guilty 😀

      But then, again, if the pleasure is too great and you don’t want to use the item(s) and are just hoarding them…like beautiful paper….then you can pet them as you would a cat or dog. Stroke the paper, enjoy the visual bliss the design and texture brings. As you can tell…I have a stash of paper that I just can’t bring myself to cut into.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  5. help with depression
    Jan 19, 2014 @ 05:56:45

    May I simply say what a relief to find an individual who truly knows what they are talking about online. You actually know how to bring a problem to light and make it important. More and more people really need to read this and understand this side of your story. I was surprised that you aren’t more popular given that you surely have the gift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

