Glitter. From Crap to Fab!

With Joe out on the road and away from home I don’t have anyone to talk to.  I also don’t have anyone to feed either.  This gives me hours and hours of quiet time to do the things I need to do.  I have to wrangle myself to keep me from getting my days and nights mixed up.  It is too easy to take a nap in the afternoon then wind up being awake until 2 in the morning.

I know.  I have it really rough.  Don’t I?

I am feeling pretty good about getting my adhesives all sorted and organized.  It is time to move on to the next two shelves in the cabinet above my work table.  This is still the “Way Before” photo.

Now to sort out the glitter

Now to sort out the glitter

Pull everything out of the cupboard and take a look at what I have.  Lay it out on my work table.

Empty the cupboard of glitter

Empty the cupboard of glitter

I know I have more stuff somewhere in this room.  Oh, yes.  It is in the closet.  Crapazoid.  I have to work my way to the closet through a frightful obstacle course.

My floor right now

My floor right now

I succeeded in getting to the closet and pulling out the drawers with my glitter glue.

Glitter glue

Glitter glue

Guess what I found while I was in the closet.  I’ll give you three guesses and I bet you can get it in one.

Yes, indeed.  More adhesive :/

I forgot I had this

I forgot I had this

More specialty adhesives

More specialty adhesives

I got the adhesives dealt with quickly.  And yes, I did make it safely through the obstacle course to return the now empty drawers back into the cube they came out of.

Since my supply of glitter and glitter glue is pretty small – for now.  I will use some metal buckets I had purchased from Target about five years ago.  The buckets have been sitting on a shelf in another cabinet all this time.

Glitter glue and Liquid Pearls

Glitter glue and Liquid Pearls

Pearl Ex and Perfect Pearls

Pearl Ex and Perfect Pearls

Glitter

Glitter

I think it is about time that I treat myself better and make my storage items look good.  Usually I just chuck stuff and don’t concern myself with how it looks.  Today that changes.

I will be digging through my Hodge Podge Hardware set I bought from Stampin’ Up! a long time ago.

Hodge Podge Hardware

Hodge Podge Hardware

I think I’ll use the small square nameplate thingys.

What to choose?

What to choose?

The small square ones will work well

The small square ones will work well.

I think I will use some Spellbinder dies I have.  That means another trip through the obstacle course for the dies and my Big Shot.  I also need to choose a ribbon.

Spellbinder dies

Spellbinder dies

Ribbon

Ribbon

I need some good stiff paper.  That means I have to look through my stash of Club Scrap paper.  A dark blue piece and a light green piece.

Club Scrap dark blue paper

Club Scrap dark blue paper

Club Scrap light green paper

Club Scrap light green paper

I also will need a scrap of paper to put behind the nameplate label thing-a-ma-bobs.

 

A piece of scrap for the nameplate

A piece of scrap for the nameplate

Out to the living room where my Dymo Label Maker is and do a test to see if the words will fit in the little nameplate things.

Dymo label

Dymo label

Get these labels put together.  Punch a hole in the corner.  Attach a grommet.

Create the label

Create the label

Run ribbon through the grommet

Run ribbon through the grommet

And attach the ribbon to the metal bucket.  Just in case you decide to do this I have a “Heads Up” for you.  Use some little glue dots to hold your ribbon in place around the bucket.  The ribbon wants to be dragged down by the weight of the label.  Just sayin’.

One down and two to go.

One down and two to go.

I have decided to let the Twinkling H2O’s stand at the shelf side.  Also my glittery “No Name” water colors from Hobby Lobby, and my box from Martha Stewart the glitter came in.  I have a confession to make.  I didn’t have any small bottles for the multi colored glitter I had purchased long ago from Stampin’ Up!  I didn’t want to fuss with the plastic containers so…..I tossed the stuff out.  I know.  Booooo – Hisssssss.

Twinkling H2O's

Twinkling H2O’s

No Name glitter water colors

No Name glitter water colors

Martha stewart glitter

Martha Stewart glitter

These all rest very well against the side of the cabinet.

That looks good

That looks good

Now….what you have been waiting for.  I know, I know.  I’ve drug it out long enough.  So here it is.

Ta Da!  I’m very pleased with the result.

 

Glitter stuff organized

Glitter stuff organized

If you don’t hear from me in several days….I may have fallen and can’t get up from the CRAP on my floor!  If you do see another one of these long winded posts you will know not to worry about me.

That fair?  Hope  so.

Are you getting inspired to tackle an organizational project?

Leslie

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. donnanuce
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 11:35:34

    You are inspiring me to organize my CRAP. Have a great day and be safe.

    Reply

  2. Jack Flacco
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 12:46:27

    Hey Leslie, this is a great idea! I really love how you’ve organized your shelves this way. I’m sure it took some time to play with the configuration, but overall, it looks amazing. I think I love the nameplate the most. And yes, it was a good choice, too!

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 16:51:31

    I will tell how you can clear up that crap Leslie – I will catch an early flight with a huge empty suitcase and fill it up – voila no more crap for you to trip over 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

  4. Tracy :)
    Jan 13, 2014 @ 21:47:35

    Not having to cook for someone else is just a dream to me 😉
    I am impressed with your before photos..never mind your after photos.
    My upper cupboards are dangerous when I open them…especially being under 5′ tall or should I say small, lol.
    Love how you decorated your tin pails…so sweet.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2014 @ 08:37:28

      As for cooking…I watch cooking shows. Go figure :/ I know that we have to eat to keep our bodies in working order but to eat several times a day gets me really annoyed. Worse, Joe has a hard time eating left overs so that means something new and exciting for each meal of the day.

      Oy! Having your precious creative supplies attack you when the doors are opened may not be the ideal way to start off the creative process :/ Wonder if that could be made into a “horror” film 😀 Get your daughters to help you some time. Set up a video camera inside one of your cupboards to tape you cautiously opening the door. Another of your daughters can video you as you are opening it. When things begin falling out of the cupboard you can all scream like you are terrified out of your shoes.

      Sorry. I think I’ve just gone and lost my mind from dealing with all my chaos :/

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  5. aspot2stamp
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 11:03:25

    Love the decorated tins Leslie 🙂 I have a set of hodge -podge hardware sitting in a mason jar on the shelf and that’s is as much as I’ve used it…… maybe on one of these journal / planners I’m whipping up ???? sounds like a plan…..I’ll let you know 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

  6. Betsy Skagen
    Jan 19, 2014 @ 04:15:36

    What a great way to tackle both organization and using old supplies. Great presentation as well!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

