Goal for 2014 – Put Things Away!

I  have developed a really bad habit over the past eight years.  One that I am determined to break.

I don’t put things away when I’m finished using them.  I only do it when I’m so frustrated by the amount of CRAP on my table that prohibits me from being creative.

Piles of CRAP

Piles of CRAP

I have disrespected my tools and products for so long.  When I come into my room I don’t think of this space as being a spiritually uplifting space.  A place where creativity reins.  I just think of it as CRAP.

Piles of crap are everywhere on my working table.

A pile here...

A pile here….

A pile there....

A pile there….

And more piles

And more piles

I tell myself that I’m going to get this room cleaned up and organized.  But I get to the door and look at the mess.  With a huge sigh I turn and leave.

Well, that has ended as of yesterday – January 11, 2014.  I found a form on the internet at Productive Flourishing.  The form I have chosen is titled Productivity Jump Starter.  You’ll have to scroll down near the bottom of the page to find this form.

Productive Jump Starter

Productivity Jump Starter

First thing I did was to go through the piles of CRAP on my work table and put everything in piles.  Like stuff with like stuff.  That way I could see what was actually there and what would require my main focus.

Sort out "Like with Like"

Sort out “Like with Like”

I found that my adhesives were the most abundant and needed to be dealt with first.  ATG tape, “Magic Mending Tape” as Joe calls the stuff I think of as Scotch Tape, metal tape rolls that have become my most favorite, my two ATG guns, painters tape, and a glue stick.

Various adhesives

Various adhesives

The cupboard above my work table, which my husband worked so hard installing several years ago, holds my liquid glues and foam dots on the bottom shelf.  The second shelf has some glittery water color things and some Pearl Ex.  Along with my Spin and Splash toy.  The top shelf has my stash of glitter.   Unsightly mess is what it is.

Cupboard above my work table

Cupboard above my work table

I gathered together all of my adhesives.  Wet glue and dry stuff.  The wet glue all went into a cardboard box I made in November.  The box is one covered in newspaper sheets from the Classified section and not one of the pretty ones.

The dry adhesives are in a tray I purchased from IKEA many years back and just tossed stuff in there.

Getting the adhesives all together

Getting the adhesives all together

I decided to build my own storage device for the dry adhesives.  The rear section will hold my foam dots and my Scor-Tape.

Where the Scor-Tape and foam dots will live

Where the Scor-Tape and foam dots will live

I will need a section for the Scotch tape and my glue dots.  I also had to figure how much space I would need for the rolls of metal tape and painters tape.

Figure out where the other tapes will live

Figure out where the other tapes will live

I located a piece of Foam Core board and got my trusty metal tape.

Foam Core board scrap and metal tape

Foam Core board scrap and metal tape

This is, by far, NOT the prettiest box I have made but it is doing what I needed it to do.

It works and that is all I care about

It works and that is all I care about

I, briefly, toyed with the idea of taking my ATG tape out of the box but decided it was fine just where it is.

Box of ATG tape

Box of ATG tape

Now all my adhesives are together on one shelf.  Everything has a place, and everything is in its place.

Now neatly organized

Now neatly organized

I can now see the surface of my work table.  WOO HOO!!!

A cleared space

A cleared space

Since I have fully retired from my over the road truck driving job I no longer have any excuse for treating my beloved craft supplies as though they are CRAP.

Do you have a major project that you have been putting off because looking at it sucks the very life out of your soul?  Join me in this journey from Crap to FAB! 😀

Leslie

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 12:04:20

    Isn’t it amazing how many different types of adhesives we need for this hobby?? All my wet glue and rolls of tape were stored in a small container on my desk but hated it as it sat there inelegantly gathering dust! I was recently given a set of small drawers and this set fits neatly in a corner alongside my desk to hand so all the wet glue has gone in one drawer and most of the rolls of tape have gone in the second drawer although the rolls of dry board and aluminium tape had to go in drawer number three leaving one more drawer for all the packs of flowers that kept spilling everywhere! Sorted 🙂 The rest of my desk stays tidy-ish because I have to put most of it away when I want to use the laptop and, of course, it has to stay fairly tidy in case anyone wants to come and view the house! There are better things in life to do than house work and it drives me insane having to keep on top of all that however the down side of constantly keeping the house tidy is that I am starting to obsess over mess 🙂 Cushions and sofa covers are constantly twitched straight, ‘oh my god there is a cobweb quick where is the brush’ – I never noticed cobwebs before all this house sale malarkey 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 12, 2014 @ 14:05:09

      Lynn, I can’t believe the assortment of glues and adhesives that get used in paper crafting! There are so many of them.

      You know, there are quite a number of new crafters that are starting out. Have you considered writing a post about your storage issues in your space? How you tamed your glue and adhesive nightmare? I think I might just get green with envy to see your storage unit but I think I might survive it….after a while anyway.

      Sorry, I had a chuckle at your expense :/ Reading about the constant tidying up you do in your home because of the viewings you do trying to sell your beautiful house. Poor Rod. He gets up from his comfy chair to get something to drink or for a visit to the loo and returns to find the cushions have all been adjusted.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. whisperingiris
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 14:42:13

    This totally happens to me! I really try to put things away after a project. I’m starting to get better! There’s hope.

    Reply

  3. VickiB
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 16:15:03

    How timely – I’m looking at my sewing/craft table and what a mess! Thanks for the inspiration to get up off my keester and clean it up. BTW – saw you had tape runner refills in bulk – mind telling me your source?

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 12, 2014 @ 16:33:29

      I buy my ATG tape from “Binding Source”. It is at “bindingsource.com”. You have to hunt around for it on their site. Do a search for ATG tape and the screen that comes up will make you think it is not the right page. It is though.

      I probably pay more than other people do. It is about $48 for the box plus shipping puts it up to about $54. This is a husband and wife team so I try to support small businesses. Hope this helps.

      Good luck with your clean up. I am making progress :/ It is getting better.

      Thank you for your comment. I appreciate you stopping by my blog.
      Leslie

      Reply

  4. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 16:35:46

    I’ll have to send you pix of my messy desk, and confess that it’s been like that since early Nov, I think, when I had my surgery. Maybe you could commit to having the last pic on your crafty blog posts be a cleared off space! I bet you’d get to your next project more quickly if there were a clean space the next time you feel the urge! Good Luck!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 12, 2014 @ 16:39:36

      How are you doing now? I keep meaning to ask but forget. I hope you have not had any trouble from the surgery and are getting your strength back.

      I’m making headway in that room. It feels good to be cleaning up the mess and getting in some creative time as well 😀

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  5. Tracy :)
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 21:55:42

    You did great Leslie 🙂
    I have to do the same. I had my room so organized a couple of years ago…but now its a crap area.
    My plan is to go through every cupboard, drawer and container and organize them totally.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 13, 2014 @ 07:18:50

      But my dear Tracy, so much fabulous-ness comes out of your “crap area”. I had a big chuckle from your comment. I’m so glad I am not the only one who has found themselves nearly blocked out of their room for all the crap 😀

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  6. aspot2stamp
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 11:27:03

    I have replaced piles of Christmas stuff with piled of planner making stuff. At least it gives me a different look :/ . In all seriousness the mess makes me bonkers but all in good time I will get it tamed…… yessss keep telling myself that LOL 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2014 @ 12:57:17

      The distraction of tending your father as he heals is what is important now. The piles will be there when your father is up and running across town with his new knee(s). That is when you will be free to tackle the piles.

      Take care my friend as you travel to and from the hospital.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  7. Sher
    Jan 14, 2014 @ 16:24:03

    You totally had me at “glitter!” I’m Sher with Productive Flourishing and I am just tickled pink that the planner helped you get all your crafty goodies organized. Wow! You’ve inspired me to tackle my own craft nightmare. (Maybe.) PS: I don’t know what metal tape is, but thanks to your pictures I know it’s shiny and I think I need to buy a lot of it. 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 15, 2014 @ 07:47:30

      Hey, this is totally cool! Thank you for stopping by my blog and checking out what I have done using your form. And thank you very much for that form! I’ve made use of several of your downloads and they have all been helpful for me. Getting my home cleaned and organized after being away from it so much over the past 12 years.

      The metal tape you mentioned in your comment can be purchased at any home improvement store. I bought mine from Lowes. It is actual metal. Not duck tape. This is the tape that gets put around the duct work of a home’s heating and cooling system. Seriously sticky stuff and it will cut you if you are not careful. The brand I have is “Shurtape”.

      Thank you, once again, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

