Altered Tin Can – Part 2

I have made a set of two cans for my youngest daughter.  This is the second can and the problems I encountered with the paper fitting.  Or the paper NOT fitting.  :/

Altered tin can #2

Altered tin can #2

The back side was a real disappointment.  There was nothing I could do to make the paper edges meet.  I don’t like the way this looks.

 

Have to figure out  how to hide that

Have to figure out how to hide that

After a full day of searching the internet for making a “Corset Lacing” guide I had to just wing it.  I saw enough photos to get an idea of what to do.

My fix is the following.  A sheet of 8-1/2 x 11 craft colored card stock cut at 2-1/2 inches.  I would later trim 1/8 of an inch off of that to make the pieces fold together properly. I would need a total of four strips of craft card stock.  This means that I have to do the same with the big can I had been working on earlier, as well.

2-1/2 x 11 craft card stock strip

2-1/2 x 11 craft card stock strip

Score the 2-1/2 inch width at 1/4 inch and again at 1-3/8 inches.

Score the strips at 1/4 and 1-3/8

Score the strips at 1/4 and 1-3/8

Fold the score lines.  This is when I found I needed to cut 1/8 inch from the side to be folded inward.

Fold on the score lines

Fold on the score lines

Next will be to mark the folded pieces to punch holes for eyelets.  I made my eyelets 1 inch apart and 1/2 inch away from the folded edge.  You might choose to make them closer together.

Mark the placement for your holes

Mark the placement for your holes

Next you will punch the holes on both pieces.  If you put the two pieces together make sure the 1/4 inch folded edges are BOTH on the same side.  If you are a “Lefty” the 1/4 inch will be on your right side.  A “Righty” the 1/4 will be on your left side.

Punch your holes

Punch your holes

Attach the eyelets.  Do both strips in this step.

 

Attach the eyelets to both strips

Attach the eyelets to both strips

Strips are now ready

Strips are now ready

Choose your ribbon.  I have chosen some off white satin 1/4 inch ribbon to lace these two strips together.

Begin lacing the strips together

Begin lacing the strips together

Now work the other ribbon through the eyelets ending with your ribbon ends on the outside at the top.

End with ribbon ends on the outside at the top

End with the ribbon ends on the outside at the top

Tie your ribbon in a nice bow.  After you have your bow in the desired look add a touch of clear glue at the bow knot.  This will keep the bow from untying.

Use clear glue to secure the bow

Use clear glue to secure the bow

Glue behind the knot

Glue behind the knot

Next you will add lace trim to the edges of the craft card stock.  Make sure the 1/4 inch fold is held firmly underneath.  Hot glue the lace near the folded edge.

Hot glue the lace on the strips

Hot glue the lace on the strips

You will see that this is beginning to look like what it is intended to be.  A Corset Lacing.

Starting to look like a Corset lace

Starting to look like a Corset lace

I am not a huge fan of hot glue.  In fact, I very seldom use the stuff.  If you are proficient with hot glue then you can use it in the next step.  I’m not so I will be using 1/4 inch Score-Tape.

1/4 inch Score Tape

1/4 inch Score Tape

Apply the tape to the 1/4 inch folded area on the strips.  Do it to both sides.

Add Score Tape to the 1/4 inch flaps

Add Score Tape to the 1/4 inch flaps

Place the can in a manner that is easy for you to handle.  I’ve laid it over on the side.  You will be attaching the Corset lacing strips at the back seam of the paper.

Get your can in position

Get your can in position

The top edge of the Corset strip will be jammed as high up under the top lace as you can get it to go.  Make sure the hot glue or the tape you are using is in the proper position to follow the seam.  Otherwise make adjustments before you fully adhere the one side to your can.

Get the Corset piece as close to the top of the can as you are able.

Get the Corset piece as close to the top of the can as you are able

Adhere the other side of the Corset piece to the other side of the seam area.  Voila!  Unsightly bit hidden.

Disguise!

Disguise!

While I was at it I made one for the larger can as well.  Can’t have one different from the other now can we.

Larger can  has the same treatment

Larger can has the same treatment

Now I am finished with my daughter’s birthday present.  I can put these in the mail and not fret over how they look.  I’m pretty happy with how they turned out.

Ready for mailing

Ready for mailing

I hope this has given you some ideas on how to fix a problem with paper that doesn’t fit well.

Have fun making your storage cans.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 18:34:55

    A very clever and nifty fix that looks like a design feature 🙂 They both look good, can just imagine these in the bathroom filled with cotton wool balls or some such thing.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 12, 2014 @ 09:36:53

      Thank you, Lynn. I’m pretty pleased with how they both turned out. The next thing is to get them mailed off to Arizona on Monday and hope they arrive in time for Carissa’s birthday. She will be surprised! It has been such a long time since she has received anything from me for her birthday. Always busy with paperwork or driving :/

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Jan 10, 2014 @ 22:30:47

    Lovely cans 🙂 Very pretty and the corset lacing brilliant !!
    Love ya
    shelly

    Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Jan 12, 2014 @ 22:50:16

    I love the corset lacing you did !!
    That is beautiful

    Reply

Leave a Reply

