Altered Tin Can – Part 1

Everything I used on this can was from my stash of goodies.  The only exception was a recent purchase from The Yard Store in Wichita, Kansas.  A ginormous roll of double sided tape.

Roll of double sided tape

Roll of double sided tape

A few of the cans I had cleaned yesterday were stained inside from the contents.  I chose to paint the inside of the cans with black acrylic paint.  I would have preferred to have used some antique white or a cream but I don’t  have any in my stash.

Stained can

Stained can

Black acrylic paint

Black acrylic paint

Painted cans

Painted cans

I chose some paper from the pad I received as a Christmas gift.  Carissa is fond of vintage images.

Paper I got for Christmas

Paper I got for Christmas

Using the double sided tape from that giant roll, I adhered a couple of sheets of the paper to the can.  The can measures 6-3/4 inches from top to bottom.  One 12×12 sheet of paper was not enough to wrap around the can fully so I had to use two sheets.

Attach paper to the outside of the can

Attach paper to the outside of the can

I have a doily I had purchased several years back from Shepherd of the Hills in Lebanon, Missouri.  It has been stuffed away in a drawer ever since.  Time to make use of it.

Now I have to warn you.  I am not very well versed in “Shabby Chic”.  This is my very first attempt at the design concept.  I just hope that Carissa likes what I’ve done.

Hot glue a doily to the front of the can

Hot glue a doily to the front of the can

I had to hide the paper seam.  I had two seams.  One that started at the actual seam of the can and the other from the addition of the extra paper to cover the can.  This doily was big enough to just about hide that unsightly seam.

Starting at the back seam of the paper I began attaching some lace I have had for a long time.  I think I got this at a yard sale a couple years back.

Hot glue lace trim to top of can

Hot glue lace trim to top of can

I then attached the same lace to the bottom of the can.

Hot glue lace to the bottom of the can

Hot glue lace to the bottom of the can

I attached a string of tear drop pearls to the upper rim of the can.  On top of the lace.

Hot glue tear drop pearl string to the top of the can

Hot glue tear drop pearl string to top of the can

I have a piece of lace applique that has been with me since about 1992.  It is a left over piece I had used on a prom dress I had made for Carissa way back then.  I don’t know if she will even remember this piece from her past.

Lace applique I've had for a long time

Lace applique I’ve had for a long time

Next I needed to add some dimension and decided to use some silk flowers I’ve had for a number of years.  I purchased this sprig of little white roses from Hobby Lobby and they have been stuffed away in a drawer since then.

 

Hot glue silk roses to the can

Hot glue silk roses to the can

I have a grouping of three on the left side of the can and a grouping of two on the right side of the can.  I hot glued the leaves under the flowers.

 

A grouping of three silk roses

A grouping of three silk roses

A grouping of two silk roses

A grouping of two silk roses

I had an oopsy :/  I was picking off the hot glue tails and stray blobs when I tore the paper.  Crapazoid!  The thing to do is cover it up with more lace.

Crapazoid!  I tore the paper

Crapazoid! I tore the paper

Cover the oopsy with more lace

Cover the oopsy with more lace

The front of the can seems to have a huge hole in it, design wise anyway.  I remembered I had purchased some pretty butterflies from Michaels in Colorado last year, or the year  before, when I decorated my hard hat.  This will take up the empty space.

Left over butterflies from my hard hat

Left over butterflies from my hard hat

Hot glue the butterfly to the center of the can

Hot glue the butterfly to the center of the can

I have left the back of the can only covered in the paper and lace trim.

Back of the can

Back of the can

I am going to go back into my room and experiment with the placement of dangling some string pearls on the front.  Not sure how that will come out.

Are you getting inspired to make some storage for yourself out of tin cans?   Maybe even think about making some gifts for the people in your family or a friend or two?

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 17:35:17

    Very Beautiful Leslie I’m sure she will love it. Very creative use of the applique what a nice piece of memorabilia. Thanks for sharing your great ideas. This may work for the infant formula cans I have stashed away. Will have to finish cleaning up my Christmas projects mess in my corner to dig new stuff out. Hope you are keeping well and warm. It is quite cold here but we are warm and safe. School is cancelled today and tomorrow because of hazardous road conditions and sub zero temperatures. Take care and say Hi to Joe from us 🙂

    Love ya
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 07, 2014 @ 09:23:04

      Our local weather stations are telling about the bad storms brewing in your part of the world and further east. This winter is already starting out furiously! Hope you, Brian, and your kids all had a great Christmas.

      I don’t know what you need organizing in your craft area, using the infant formula cans. Maybe you and your brood can come up with a plan of action for their craft stuff and your stuff. When ever you do get to creating I would love to see the results!

      Love to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy :)
    Jan 06, 2014 @ 22:54:35

    Your altered shabby chic can turned out beautifully Leslie 🙂
    Great way to fix your crapazoid, teehee.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 07, 2014 @ 09:25:36

      Thank you, Tracy. Your vote of confidence in my shabby chic attempt is welcome to hear. There always seems to be some kind of mess I get myself into and a lot of crapazoids that go along with it :/ If it were my can I’d have just ignored it. Can’t give my daughter a defective thing, now can I. 😀

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Jack Flacco
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 10:56:09

    I love the whole antique paper idea around the can. It reminds me of when I visit Black Creek Pioneer Village in Toronto–it’s an old town dolled up to emulate an authentic town of the 1800’s. I used to seen papers wrapped around boxes in a similar fashion. I’ve always loved that idea. It provides for a wonderful look to an ordinary object.

    BTW, you did a great job with the project. Drat that the paper tore a bit, but you carried on without a problem! Good job!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 10, 2014 @ 18:17:53

      Jack, I very much appreciate your comment on my altered tin can. High praise indeed, I consider, if my attempt at making something look old fashioned has met with your approval. Especially since you have seen boxes wrapped in old style papers. Thank you. Also, I appreciate your support of my covering the torn paper bit.

      Thank you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. tina
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 14:11:04

    very pretty. you always have such neat ideals,, glad your back in your craft area..

    Reply

  5. gardenpinks
    Jan 07, 2014 @ 16:43:22

    Loved what did with the tin Leslie and I’m sure Carissa will love it too. Fabulous papers you had as a Christmas gift especially as you haven’t got very many 😀
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 10, 2014 @ 18:20:05

      You crack me up! “Especially as you haven’t got very many {papers}”. You are right. More paper than I know what to do with! Thank you, my friend, for your kind words. I appreciate you.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

