Completed Field Journal for Joe.

I had mentioned in my previous post that I have a cobbled together “Press”.  Here is what I use to put heavy pressure on the book covers I make after I have glued the papers on the chipboard.

Highly advanced press

Highly advanced press

The paper pad I used for this journal is “No Limits” by Heidi Swapp and sold at Michaels.

Journal covers

Journal covers

Joe wanted a tabbed divider between the lined paper and the graph paper.  Let me tell you, that took some experimenting to cover the tab.  I ended up using two different papers in the ‘No Limits” paper.  The next one I make I will have to cut the tabbed divider to the same size as the pages within the book instead of the same size as the front and back cover as I did here.

Tabbed divider

Tabbed divider

This is the tab.

Covered tab

Covered tab

The grid paper I have in this journal is printed with some special ink that does not reproduce.  Joe can draw out his design then make a photo copy of it.  The blue lines will disappear leaving only his drawings and notes.  This grid paper was very difficult to photograph.  I had to just about stick my nose up against the paper to get a good photo.

Vanishing grid lines

Vanishing grid lines

I asked Joe to pick out some decorative pieces from the Heidi Swapp paper pad.  He told me where he wanted these items to be placed.  Using the papers and a few Tim Holtz things from my stash I glued the items on the front.  Everything is a single layer.

Decorated front cover

Decorated front cover

This is the tag bit from “No Limits”.  Joe wanted this book to reflect an attention to “Detail” and I did my best to meet his request.

 

Close up of the decorative tag

Close up of the decorative tag

Joe wanted this journal item in his book and I found a place for it.  I added some black arrows to copy the larger white arrow of the journal item.

Journal item

Journal item

Arrows added to journal item

Arrows added to journal item

Joe created his “This Book Belongs To” sort of page.  He found some old photos of the airplanes he used to fly in his crop dusting business long before I met him.  He has personalized his book 😀  The brown chipboard behind this sheet is what I covered in the previous photos.

Personalized page

Personalized page

Joe's old airplanes

Joe’s old airplanes

When I presented the finished book to Joe this was his final reaction.  Declaring loudly while clutching the book to his chest he said “MINE”!  I guess that means he likes it 😀

Joe's journal

Joe’s journal

Now it is time to get back in my craft room and get back to the task of purging.  That room is a catastrophe!

Time to clean this  mess up

Time to clean this mess up!

Maybe I should save this photo for Wednesday and the “What’s On Your Work Desk Wednesday”.  A little shame never hurt anyone.  However, I think I have a lot to be shameful of :/

The table is under there somewhere

The table is under there somewhere

Oh well….NEXT TIME I’ll put stuff away when I finish with it :/

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 18:17:08

    And Joe got exactly what he wanted! Great stuff. Well done Leslie, isn’t it nice when our menfolk are so easily pleased?:) Good luck with the tidying and purging!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 15, 2013 @ 18:31:02

      Thank you Lynn. Your encouragement warms my heart. It is nice to have Joe so easily pleased with something made. At least he doesn’t notice the problems and I’m not pointing them out to him either 😀

      Hope you and your family are enjoying the preparations for Christmas. Happy Christmas to you and yours.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 14, 2013 @ 21:32:34

    He looks so happy with his new book! He could probably fill up at least half of it right now, as many ideas as he has. He is one really smart cookie; his brain is at least twice as big as mine, I envy him and all of his engineering ideas!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 15, 2013 @ 18:34:01

      Thank you Maureen for your encouragement. I sure do appreciate it right now as I struggle with the flaming paperwork.

      Joe is smart and I thank you for noting that. Ummmm, I’m not quite sure if his big head is full of brains or if most of it is just thick bone :/ I tell you, he can be pretty hard headed at times. But I think that just might be his personality quirk and not have anything to do with the contents of his head 😀 LOL

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 22:39:13

    I love the photo of Joe clutching his precious 😉
    I also love that he put his input into his book.
    It turned out wonderfully.
    I use my hard cover novels to add weight to adhere my papers to chipboard. I do add wax paper so the glue doesn’t get on my precious novels 🙂

    Reply

  4. Crafty Colonel
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 00:09:38

    Wow — beautiful book for your husband! Your messy desk is a sign of a very creative mind! Nothing to be ashamed of there!

    Reply

  5. Jack Flacco
    Dec 22, 2013 @ 15:16:48

    The attention you show to detail is so inspiring. I love the reaction you got from Joe–it really does say it all! Have yourself a great Holiday Season!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

