“Will you open your Christmas present so it won’t be in front of the door forever?!”

I don’t do much online ordering.  When I do, the packages are small and light.  Joe, on the other hand, gets deliveries that are large and cumbersome.  Tuesday last, a package arrived.  The poor UPS guy struggled to get it up our ice slick steps and into the house.

Package arrival

Package arrival

The box was covered in snow and ice on one side and one end.  I was the one to get it in the house from the UPS guy.  Once inside and left on the linoleum floor to drip dry I called out to Joe that he had a package.

“That’s YOUR Christmas present” he told me.  :/  That thing is HEAVY!  What could Joe have bought me?  Especially one that would be so heavy?  First thought was it would be something for my least favorite thing in the world to do.  Cooking.  That box had to hold cast iron cookware.

Four days the box sat where it had been placed upon arrival.

That is, until he said the box needed to be removed from in front of the door.  Muttering and some gesturing followed his request.

Hefting the box to the table top was a strenuous exercise.  Once the copious amounts of tape adhered to the flaps was sliced through and the flaps opened all that was seen was white Styrofoam.  I tried to lift the foam out to see what was inside the box.  It was not coming free.  We moved the package to the floor once more and carefully turned it over on its head to remove the cardboard box.  Once the box was removed, and the Styrofoam off, the contents were puzzling.

Bottom of packaged item

Bottom of packaged item

It took the both of us to turn this item back right side up to remove the other part of the Styrofoam packaging.  What appeared was a paper trimmer.  And let me tell you….this is no “Ordinary” paper trimmer!

 

Paper trimmer

Paper trimmer

It took us both to get the paper trimmer up on the table for a closer look.  This thing is constructed of steel.  Not plastic like my other paper trimmers, which are all plastic.

 

Industrial paper trimmer

Industrial paper trimmer

Investigating this item further I  have determined that this is an “Industrial” paper trimmer.  One that will cut through a ream of paper.

People!  A REAM of paper!  500 sheets of paper!

There is a wheel-y thing that turns.

Wheel-y thing

Wheel-y thing

This raises and lowers the “throat” of this massive cutting machine.

Open

Open

Open

Open

Open more

Open more

Nearly fully open

Nearly fully open

My guess is….insert the stack of paper, cardboard, or chipboard…..lower the pressure plate to the top of the stack to secure it in place before cutting.

There, also, is a guide that will keep the paper from slipping while cutting.

Back stop type guide thing-y

Back stop type guide thing-y

This is the “Business” end of the paper trimmer.  A blade which is very sharp.  An over large handle to facilitate the blade action to cut through a ton of paper.

Business end of the paper trimmer

Business end of the paper trimmer

This giant paper trimmer is 24 inches long!

24 inch length of paper trimmer

24 inch length of paper trimmer

The cutting area is 17 inches long.

17 inch cutting area

17 inch cutting area

The next question I will be asked…..”When are you going to get your Christmas present OFF the table?”

I don’t have a place for it in my craft room.  In fact, I have no idea where I’m going to put this thing.

I asked Joe “Why did you think of this?”

His answer, “I thought you could use it to cut out the cardboard and chipboard you have been using.  This would be easier than the craft knife you currently use.”

How could I not love this man?!  The man that believes “There is a tool for every job.”

Guess I had better get busy!  I’ve got chipboard to cut for the little “neck pouches” I’ve made recently.  I have made adjustments to the one that failed.

The pouch is the same width of 4-1/4 inches.

Newest pouch

Newest pouch

It is 1/2 inch deep.  The previous one was only 1/4 inch.

1/2 inch deep

1/2 inch deep

Which has accommodated the placement of eyelets for the ribbon.

Inclusion of eyelets for ribbon

Inclusion of eyelets for ribbon

Same Velcro closures.

Velcro closures

Velcro closures

And a thing-a-ma-bob to allow the ribbon to be adjusted in length.

Ribbon adjuster

Ribbon adjuster

The newest one is now ready for the ribbon and the Velcro.  Both of these pouches have been covered, inside and out, with a clear vinyl self stick contact sheet.

 

Newest pouch

Newest pouch

I will do a post on this newest addition to my craft tools.  Would I recommend this for the average crafter?  No.  This thing weighs about 60 pounds – with packaging.  It is at least 45 pounds all by itself.  The paper trimmer is massive and will need to have a large open space to work.  This is not a tool that can be easily lifted to your work surface then just as easily taken off.

Thank you, Husband mine, for your thoughtful gift 😀

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 11:57:07

    He is so sweet! Now you can cut your foamboard easily, too! And colored matboard and papers for your notepads, too.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 11, 2013 @ 15:25:11

      I know! That new paper trimmer is going to come in quite handy. Joe has been thinking about all the things I can make using that paper cutter 😀 He even went into Michaels with me to purchase a few supplies 😀 You need something cut for a project let me know 😀

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. aspot2stamp
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 13:20:35

    How Sweet !! Wowzers that is some paper trimmer 🙂 now I guess you need to do some clearing out in your space and you wont have to worry about knocking that off your desk with your elbows lol 🙂 Seriously this is a very thoughtful gift and I’m sure you love it all the more because your sweetie put a lot of thought into his special surprise. Now we will have to wait and see what kinds of works you crank out with this.
    Love and hugs,
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 11, 2013 @ 15:30:08

      Shelly, you are so correct. That paper trimmer won’t be in any danger of falling off the end of my table 😀 Or the kitchen table for that matter :/ Joe has got some ideas he is peppering me with to put that ginormous thing to use 😀 I had a blast looking at the photos in your most recent post. Hope your furnace is working. Seems you guys got hit with the winter storm we had. Temperatures just floating above zero. Man has it been cold here.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Dec 09, 2013 @ 18:05:55

    Wooooo that is some kick ass cutter 🙂 You may need to relocate your craft room into the next biggest room that gets used least so that cutter can have a table all to itself. Good on yer Joe 🙂 Wonderful present. I take it you guys don’t do Christmas presents under the tree?????
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 11, 2013 @ 15:37:37

      The next biggest room in our house is the kitchen or the living room :/ I’m kind of stuck in my little bedroom slash craft room. I’ll have to do some serious purging, I think, to make room for that paper cutter.

      As for the Christmas tree and presents. No, we don’t do that any longer. Over the past 12 years we have pretty much ruined Christmas. While we traveled all across the country and not been home much. In fact, the Christmas tree is up. It has been up for the past two years :/ Just the bare tree. No decorations on it or around it. Sadly, Christmas at our house is just another day :/ I sure do hope that changes in 2014. One can only hope, anyway.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Tracy :)
    Dec 15, 2013 @ 22:59:15

    I have to say this paper cutter is the bomb!!!!
    I don’t have one, but have seen one like it before.
    Wayne keeps wanting me to get one like the schools have, lol.
    Send me a link to this one…I’ll pass it along to my man, teehee
    But why did you open your present before Christmas, tsk, tsk 😉

    Reply

  5. Betsy Skagen
    Jan 11, 2014 @ 18:02:35

    Awwwww, So thoughtful. And what an awesome gift.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

