Back to the drawing board. A prototype fatality.

Well folks, one of the pouch thing-a-ma-bobs has suffered near fatal injuries in the first trial run :/  The 1/4 inch blue one has been stressed to the point it is, literally, coming apart at the seams :/

Small neck pouches

Small neck pouches

The little guy just was not up to the real world challenge.  I had to make a deposit at the bank, sign a monthly contract at the workout facility, stop by a fabric shop to purchase more velcro dots, and a trip to Hobby Lobby for some fun foam for Joe.  All of which resulted in receipts.  The small amount of cash I brought with me, my ID, and my bank card were included in the little space that filled up quite quickly.

Receipts, ID, bank card, and cash

Receipts, ID, bank card, and cash

The first damage I noticed was tearing of the paper covering the webbing.  One side was more greatly affected than the other side was.

Bad tear at the webbing

Bad tear at the webbing

Start of tear on the other side

Start of tear on the other side

The pouch was pulling away on both sides of the opening.

Pulling away from the edges

Pulling away from the edges

Coming apart at the edge

Coming apart at the edge

Upon showing the damage to Joe, who was very supportive, his words were “I told you so” :/  His larger pouch has not suffered these ill effects.

So, back to the drawing board.   If you have been following my foray into constructing boxes with lids you will know that my success rate is improving.  It has not quite reached the “Peak of Perfection” yet.

Folks, I pride myself in “Telling it like it is”.  I’m not perfect and I don’t know much.  I’m not a whiz when it comes to creating on my own.  Sitting down and figuring out how to make something with only a vague idea of what the end result will be.  I have my suspicions that the crafters I admire go through the same process of a learning curve.

People like Laura Denison of Following the Paper Trail, Kathy Orta of Paper Phenomenon, Jenny Potter of Ozegran, and Jim Hankins of Jim, The Gentleman Crafter are people that I have chosen to be my “Mentors”.  It gives me hope that I can, one day, come up with an idea and execute it successfully.

What I want to convey to new crafters, or seasoned crafters that are attempting to get outside their comfort zone, is that is it OKAY to make mistakes.  You learn, well I learn, something from the mistakes.  A failure is not the end of the world.  IT IS ONLY THE BEGINNING OF GREATNESS!

I’m going to close this post with a music video.  Lately the deaf community has been represented at music concerts by a young woman who signs the lyrics to the deaf crowd as they feel the pulsating music.  I looked online to see what else there was available in Sign Language music videos.  Surprisingly, there is quite a lot.  The video below is a song that I like because of the music.  I was captured by the music when I first heard this a couple years ago.  The lyrics escaped me, except for the chorus part that gets repeated.  I didn’t know the deaf could be so expressive!  Shameful of me to admit my ignorance.

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jack Flacco
    Dec 03, 2013 @ 12:36:52

    Take heart, this is how greatness is born. You’ll now know what not to use and probably what to use to prevent this from happening in the future! I’m not sure if this’ll work, but have you tried reinforced plastic lining to prevent the seam from tearing? I’m sure there’s something at one of these office supply store available for purchase. In the meantime, keep up the good work! I like seeing what else you come up with!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 04, 2013 @ 07:45:25

      Thank you for your encouragement, I appreciate it. I had the same request from my husband for the pouch I made him. The larger one of the two, and the one that performed better. Great minds think alike 😀

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 19:34:46

    Oh how I empathise Leslie, none of us can be perfect at the first throw although it would be nice 🙂 Actually using the pouch taught you where its strengths and weaknesses lie so that is good plus your pouch get much more of a workout than Joe’s!! I do wonder though if fabric glued over the board and webbing would give you more strength than paper??
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 11:07:41

      I’ll have to give fabric a try. That is a great suggestion. Failures are only doors yet to open 😀 I’m trying to psyche myself up to take another whack at it 😀

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 23:20:26

    How can we learn if not for setbacks 😉
    I think this project served you well 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 11:11:31

      Indeed, you are correct Tracy. Setbacks are important for growth. A lesson in patience for me :/ Having to try again at this, in a different way, is good for my impatient nature :/

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Tracy :)
    Dec 08, 2013 @ 22:32:58

    I came to visit again to see if you had a new post.
    But this time I watched the video and a few others.
    When I was in grade school, I would take out signing books as I wanted to learn to sign. But no one to practice with, so i sadly let it go 😦

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 09, 2013 @ 10:02:02

      It has been kind of crazy at my house. Just have not made a new post. Thank you for stopping by once again 😀

      My mother was nearly stone deaf. She had hearing aids in both ears. One winter, while stuck in the house, she attempted to teach us sign language. It was “her” version of signing and I later learned the letters she taught us to make words were not even close to standard sign language 😀 I didn’t know that it could be so expressive!

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

