Video tutorials and prototypes.

Otherwise known as “Crafting like a mad woman”.

After receiving a note from my friend, Tina, who expressed an interest in a video tutorial on creating the storage boxes I made last week…and a request from another friend, Lynn, for the measurements to make the boxes…I got busy in my craft room.

It took three days and five hours of video footage to create the tutorial.  Of course, my brilliant idea couldn’t wait until after the Thanksgiving holiday.  In between grocery shopping, food prep, and the actual cooking….well helping Joe do the cooking…..I spent a large part of the time in my craft room.

I struggled between filming EVERY step in the process or just skimming through it.  I opted to go the whole way just in case there was a new crafter that is not wise, yet, to the complex process.  My thoughts also went to the crafter that is well seasoned in card making but not so intimate with construction.

I created an “Introduction” video to let people know they were in for some butt numbing if they chose to go further.  I’m not very good at the “Voice Over” thing so please forgive my stumbling speech through the Introduction.  You can watch it here.  If  you so choose, you can watch the videos from my YouTube Channel.

Let me tell you….I got so sick of hearing my voice during the transfer process from my camera to my computer then going through the video footage to create the tutorials.

Okay, that is over with.  You can watch the videos in your leisure.  Now on to the “Prototype” part of this post.

Joe has informed me we are going to be working out at a fitness facility.  Many years ago we used to frequently go to a workout center.  I didn’t like leaving my purse in the lockers provided in the dressing rooms.  Needing to carry an ID and/or gym membership card meant that I had to lug around my black hole of a purse.  I don’t know about you and your workout clothing, mine have no pockets to tuck the ID/cards away.

I can’t find the video made my Jim  The Gentleman Crafter where he shows off a cute little pouch thing he made.  This pouch thing had a lid that slid along some ribbon to enable access to the storage part to tuck in an ID and a credit or debit card, even a bit of cash.  Hanging around his neck meant that he didn’t have to worry about that one person that thinks they have been granted the rights to others valuables.

Since I had been freshly off a large construction project I figured a smaller one would be just the thing to take on.  These are what I created.

Small neck pouches

Small neck pouches

When I approached Joe with my idea he told me he wanted one.

Joe, modeling his neck pouch

Joe, modeling his neck pouch

The first one I created is 1/4 inch thick.  4 inches wide and 3 inches deep.  This is just the right size for an ID or membership card, small amount of cash, a spare house key, and vehicle key.  The strap I made is just long enough to get in the way constantly.  Quite possibly make me crazy as it thumps my chest as I move.

Small pouch

Small pouch

I used velco dots for the lid closure and hid some 1/4 inch webbing behind the paper along the top fold.

When I presented my creation to Joe he had some complicated requests.  First he wanted it big enough to fit a little card wallet.  Then he wanted the whole thing covered in some kind of water proofing stuff.  This guy has so much faith in my construction abilities :/

 

Neck pouch with card wallet

Neck pouch with card wallet

The card wallet has an accordion insert to hold several credit cards.  Spare keys can be placed in the slots along with the ID, cash, and anything else small enough to fit in the wallet.

I got so flustered by his many requests I forgot to hide the webbing behind the paper hinge part.  I had to use some strong adhesives to attach the webbing to the clear plastic contact paper after I had applied it to the ENTIRE outside and inside of the box.

Unsightly webbing display

Unsightly webbing display

I think I will give this project another try to perfect my workmanship.  Maybe if I get these perfected I might be more inclined to sell some on Etsy.

Those of you in the US, I hope you enjoyed your Thanksgiving holiday with friends and family.

Leslie

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 19:30:50

    I haven’t yet had chance to catch up with the videos Leslie but hopefully I shall have more time after the weekend 🙂 I like the idea of the pouch boxes but think I would like one made out of fabric. I hate going to the swimming baths and having to drag a handbag along plus a bag of towel, shower gel, hairbrush, swimming costume, etc so a small bag that can be tucked away safely would be so much better!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 11:03:12

      I know what you mean about all the stuff one has to take to public swimming pools/baths. Purses are such a drag to tote around all the time. Plus the constant worry of someone stealing your wallet while you are away enjoying the waters. How to waterproof a fabric pouch would be one quandary I would have. The other would be how to safely swim without being (a) choked to death by the ribbon/string, and (b) keeping the pouch around your neck and not floating to the bottom of the pool after you first jump in. I think this would require some thought and some practical experimenting. 😀

      Thanks for your response. Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy :)
    Dec 04, 2013 @ 23:25:51

    I get tired of hearing my voice repeating the same things over again when I edit my video..but in the end they turn out. (at least I think so, lol)
    I posted in your above post before reading this one, and thought it was for your work cards from this past summer.
    I love this idea of keeping your cards and such with you…great idea and love the way it looks.
    I know Laura from following the paper trail has a video where the top part of the box slides up from the strings

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 05, 2013 @ 11:17:00

      YES! I’m not the only one that is glad when the video editing process is finished! I love your videos. The cheerful “Tracy here with a …..” makes me smile each time.

      I didn’t know that Laura Denison made a video on the neck pouch thing. Somewhere in Jim The Gentleman Crafter’s videos he showed one he had made and that is what inspired me to make one. Or to TRY to make one. The process is still in the works here at my craft room 😀

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

