Abracadabra and Hocus Pocus. The magic of paint and paper. More illusions :D

Do you remember the second box I made last week?  The one that I tore stuff off?  Here is a reminder if you don’t remember.

Box #2

Box #2

I only added a couple of “structure strips” to the places that had been damaged by my ripping stuff off.

Added structure strips to areas torn away.

Added structure strips to areas torn away.

More black acrylic paint was slathered over the box edges, inside and out, of both the box and the lid.

Black acrylic paint spread around the outside and inside of box and lid

Black acrylic paint spread around the outside and inside of box and lid

I’m using the DCWV Mariposa paper collection again.

DCWV Mariposa paper collection

DCWV Mariposa paper collection

These two sheets will be the outside of the box.

Papers for outside of the box

Papers for outside of the box

Papers for inside the box.

Papers for inside the box

Papers for inside the box

CRAPAZOID!!!!  I missed a whole section of the inside of the box with the black acrylic paint :/

What the heck was I doing?

What the heck was I doing?

Using another sheet of paper from the DCWV Mariposa papers I covered the outside of the lid.

DCWV Mariposa paper for the lid

DCWV Mariposa paper for the lid

These papers are supposed to be all coordinating and used together or independently.  I’m not 100% sure I like this color scheme but I’m going to just live with it.  I really like the paper on the lid.

Pretty lid :D

Pretty lid 😀

I’ve used this paper on other projects over the past four or five years.  My supply is dwindling away to the point I’m not sure what Box #3 is going to look like :/  The plastic packing I’ve saved for use with die cutting fits in this box very well.

Plastic packaging to be used in die cutting.

Plastic packaging to be used in die cutting

I’ve made a label for the front of this box.  So I know what is in there.  Moving my stash around every year over the winter…when I get back home from my truck driving I can’t remember where I put stuff.  Hopefully….HOPEFULLY!!!!!…..that is done – finished – retired – and I will be home all this coming year.

I have a Stampin’ Up! products called “Hodgepodge Hardware”.  I don’t think this product is sold any longer.  I’ve had this for about five years and it doesn’t get used.

Stampin' Up! Hodgepodge Hardware

Stampin’ Up! Hodgepodge Hardware

There are all sorts of goodies in this box.

 

Lots of shiny stuff :D

Lots of shiny stuff 😀

I’ve chosen the largest label thing-a-ma-bob for this box.  I used another one for the card box I made and I’ll show you that one at the end of this post.

I drew around the metal piece on the back side of one of the Mariposa paper scraps and cut around it.

Draw around the hardware piece

Draw around the hardware piece

Cut inside the pencil lines

Cut inside the pencil lines

Using another scrap of the Mariposa paper I covered a piece of chipboard about 1/2 inch larger than the hardware piece.

Cover a piece of chipboard with scrap paper

Cover a piece of chipboard with scrap paper

Backside of the chipboard

Backside of the chipboard

Mark where the holes will be punched.

Mark where the holes are to be punched

Mark where the holes are to be punched

I printed a label from my DYMO LabelWriter to be a centered on the label piece.

DYMO label

DYMO label

Adhere to label piece

Adhere to label piece

Now I can attach this label to the box with hot glue.

Label complete

Label complete

Now I have two (2) boxes complete 😀  I’m pretty happy with how they have turned out.

Two completed boxes

Two completed boxes

I like the brown with the pink better now.

Box complete

Box complete

So, there you have it.  A pretty box that had been damaged.  You don’t even know where the under side had been torn and ripped.  Abracadabra and Hocus Pocus!  It’s magic 😀

If there is anyone that would be interested in a video tutorial on making these storage boxes from scratch please let me know.  If there is enough interest I will do it.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy :)
    Nov 26, 2013 @ 20:37:45

    All of your boxes are so pretty.
    I love the black to make the papers pop.
    Beautiful

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 27, 2013 @ 07:30:04

      Thank you, Tracy. Even I have been pleasantly surprised how much difference the black paint makes. Doesn’t hurt, either, when the papers are luscious as well 😀

      Hugs to you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. tina
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 06:51:37

    bring on the video!!! i love your videos…. and have a very happy thanksgiving

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 27, 2013 @ 07:34:38

      Happy Thanksgiving to you, sweet friend. I’ll get a video made next week. Thank you for your enthusiastic request 😀 I am so bad. No excuse at all, except I don’t see your blog posts on my WordPress reader. I’ll have to go search for your blog to see what you have been up to lately. Probably pure awesomeness 😀

      Hope you and your family have a fantastic Thanksgiving.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Nov 27, 2013 @ 14:15:48

    Absolutely fabulous Leslie, just love those gorgeous papers – now I know why I don’t buy paper …..because I would hoard it!!!!! However by making these very useful boxes you get to see the paper on display 🙂 Approximately what sizes are the boxes please? Love what you have done and thank you for the link to Ozegran too, she makes some wonderful things that are also useful 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 27, 2013 @ 15:05:20

      Hahahahaha. I have hoarded the paper. For about six years now. The pages I have used of it have left me with some odd combinations but they are turning out to be of good use 😀

      I’m in the process of making a video on how to create the boxes. This thing is going to be a long one I’m afraid. I’ll probably cut it up into many segments so it is not quite so boring to watch. Hopefully I’ll have it up on my channel come Saturday. All dimensions will be in the video.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

