Scraps! The dilemma of a paper hoarder :/

A warning before hand….this post is PHOTO HEAVY.

I don’t know how you are with the paper you purchase and use in your scrapbook albums, on greeting cards, or for altered projects.  I find that I am a looney toon when it comes to card stock and paper.  I will use one sheet, cut it up, create something with it then tuck the scraps in a plastic bag of some kind and jam it away in a cupboard where that paper I fell in love with will be forgotten and not used again.

I’m fickle….to a fault :/

Here is a very small example of what I am referring to.

Paper scraps

Paper scraps

Last year, I forget when but before I went back out on the road as a truck driver, I went through a big portion of my scrap paper and had a marathon of cutting.  Watch this video by Sandy Allnock if you need some inspiration.

 

Several hours in the morning for paperwork, followed by a couple hours of house cleaning, and the rest of the afternoon and evening for crafting is how my days go now.  The Mileage Journals and Note Pads are being created on my dining room table because my room is a total wreck.  WRECK I tell you!.

Current state of my craft room

Current state of my craft room

Joe is due home late Thursday  night, more likely Friday sometime.  He and Jim are both cooling their heels at a Kenworth dealership in Springfield, Illinois having their trucks diagnosed.  Those two guys are having so much fun they can hardly stand it.  Joe sounds so tired, poor guy.

I have taken on a project that is scream worthy.  Cleaning my craft room and getting it in a more efficient work flow environment.  Sorting through all of my paper and getting it ordered in the shelves better has been my number one priority.  Going through all the paper pads and plastic sheath new paper comes in.  Separating the cut papers from the uncut has been a massive job.

What size to cut the scraps?  Cut them to fit on a A2 greeting card.  Need a little more inspiration?  Check out this blog post by Sandy Allnock and how she used the cut scraps for some really cute cards.

Sizes to cut your scraps

Sizes to cut your scraps

This scrap piece measure 3-1/4 by 9.

3-1/4 x 9 scrap

3-1/4 x 9 scrap

Cut this scrap at 5″ and 3″.

Cut at 5" and 3"

Cut at 5″ and 3″

This is what you will be left with.

Off cuts

Off cuts

Throw these pieces in the recycling bag, box, or bin you have close by.

Have a long and thin patterned piece?  Cut it to a width of 2 inches.

Patterned paper with selvedge

Patterned paper with selvedge

 

2 inch piece of useable scrap

2 inch piece of useable scrap

I got two pieces of 2 x 4 and one 2 x 2 out of this.

Two pieces of 2x4 and one 2x2

Two pieces of 2×4 and one 2×2

Have a scrap with an image on one area of the paper?

Scrap with an image

Scrap with an image

Cut the 11 inch piece down to 5 inches

Cut the 11 inch piece down to 5 inches

The back side of the 3 x 5 with the image is solid.  You can use the back side of the paper on your card.

After about four nights of chopping through the paper scraps, while watching television, this is what I have accomplished.

4-1/4 x 5-1/2 inch background paper

4-1/4 x 5-1/2 inch background paper

4x5 paper

4×5 paper

 

4x4 paper

4×4 paper

 

3x5 paper

3×5 paper

3x3 paper

3×3 paper

 

Stack of scraps

Stack of scraps

2x4 paper

2×4 paper

 

2x2 paper

2×2 paper

1-1/2 x 5-1/2 paper

1-1/2 x 5-1/2 paper

 

1 x 5 paper

1 x 5 paper

 

1 x 4 paper

1 x 4 paper

1-1/2 x 3 paper

1-1/2 x 3 paper

 

1 x 3 paper

1 x 3 paper

One basket of the cut paper.

One basket of cut paper scraps

One basket of cut paper scraps

Holy Crap!  All of these are chock full of cut paper scraps!

Baskets and boxes of cut scraps

Baskets and boxes of cut scraps

Next project, after I get my room cleaned, is to sort these cut scraps into color order.

Okay, that’s enough for now.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 15:55:48

    I’d be afraid to cut a piece and then later need the original scrap size, so I just avoid the disappointment by not cutting it down til I need it and storing by color. You are much braver than I!

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 16:14:13

    WHAT??? We’re supposed to CUT our paper??? Oh, horrors!!! I am going to think about that concept while I go and look at my paper stacks on my shelves, under my shelves, in my drawers, in my bins… 🙂

    Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 16:56:20

    I have very few paper scraps as I rarely use paper – love it but don’t use it. On the card stock front though I do have scraps!! Not much coloured card though as I don’t buy very much coloured card and still have quite a pile of A4 and A5 sized sheets waiting to be used up!! I tend to use mainly white heavy weight card stock and there are some scraps but I don’t keep very small pieces – straight into the recycle bin. The others are kept in two plastic containers and are to hand so that I am constantly rummaging through them and use them up 🙂 Now I do have piles and piles of tissue paper!! Luckily it squishes down quite well into a box file!

    Good luck with the big tidy up 🙂

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 18:14:09

      Oh to have squishy down paper *sigh*. I know you use your inks and sprays to color the papers you use maybe one day I will smarten up. Don’t hold your breath on that one. Don’t need you turning blue :/

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Crafty Colonel
    Oct 09, 2013 @ 17:30:59

    I did that with some of my paper and it now sits in boxes that I haven’t looked at. I think my goal now is to see how many cards I can make with the cut up pieces and get them out to Sandy!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 09, 2013 @ 18:17:02

      Alas, I’m afraid the boxes will end up being the final resting place of all this paper :/. I hope you have fun “shopping” in your stash to create your masterpieces.

      Thank you for stopping by.

      Leslie

      Reply

  5. aspot2stamp
    Oct 10, 2013 @ 10:09:02

    Cutting up paper….GASP !!! the horrors of it all… 🙂 lol Actually the benefits of a house full of small crafters is I get to share my scrap stash. Lots of junque journals and art journals going on around here. That being said it is in no way organized just in a tote with a lid under my desk. Wow that is a lot of paper scraps just think of all cards and layouts at your finger tips. Here is a link maybe it will inspire you with all your scraps http://www.youtube.com/user/connieastewart .
    Happy crafting and big hugs
    Shelly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Oct 14, 2013 @ 07:41:00

      Yes, indeed, you would need to have a good supply of paper for the journal keepers you have in your house. You are such a great Mom, those kids are loved and encouraged by you.

      Thanks for the link to Connie Stewart. You want to hear something funny? I met her about four years ago. She lives here in Oklahoma City somewhere. We met at a Stampin’ Up! group meetings while I was home one winter. She is just as excitable in real life as she is in her videos 😀 She is a really nice person and funny as all get out.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

