Smash Book and Project Life

Smash Book!

Project Life!

How about Smash Life?

Take that journal down from the shelf…

Use that journal made by a friend

Let the friend and creator of the journal know how much I love it.  More than just a pretty sitting on a shelf.  It is time to fill this journal.

My first attempt is a photo from 1999.  January 2013 is when this picture became more than just something shoved away in a box.  Club Scrap stamp on green card stock, heat embossed with white embossing powder.  Spirals and wheels made me think of the windmills in California.  A song from about 1968 had sort of moved itself up from the dungeon of my brain.  “Windmills of Your Mind” is the song and I wrote a bit of the lyrics on this page.

Papers are from the stash of stuff Jann Gray gave me along with the journal.  October Afternoon and 7 Gypsies are among the papers from 2010.

Windmills of your mind

Pictures of my travels in our work are taken mostly daily.  Just need to be a little more creative in how to use them.  Select a representative amount for a trip/load and have them printed on 4″ x 6″ photo paper collage style.  Walgreens is printing my photos.

Collage of photos on 4"x6"

Cut out the photos……cut out the printed map of the load/trip….paste and glue to a page in the journal and I have a start to my “Smash Life” 😀

Actual trip from this month and year

I am over the flu – finally!  Now I’m in the throes of trying to conquer a 40 year pack a day smoking habit which is proving to be a bit of a challenge.  My doctor told me I  needed to quit before I get myself locked into full blown COPD.  Cold Turkey is more like “Lukewarm” Turkey.  At least I’ve cut the pack a day down to ONE cigarette a day.  Maybe that is progress.  Poor Joe.  I’m not sure if he can say that he has been carried home on his shield after the days battle.  I hope he can survive this.  I’m not sure I can but I’m going to work one day at a time at it.

Are you creating in a Smash Book or taking part in the Project Life phenomenon?  Are you venturing off on your own and making your own Smash Life journal?

Leslie

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. aspot2stamp
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 08:30:44

    So happy to hear that you are doing better. The flu is full swing around us but some how my crew has managed to have it bypass us so far……I pray it stays that way. Take care my friends and give Joe a big hi and hug from us and ask him to give you one from me as well 🙂
    Much love
    Shwlly

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 08:39:24

      I was going to call you today, Monday the 28th of January. To see if you and your family were doing well. It is good to see you have let me know that all is well in your neck of the woods. I’m still going to call you.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 28, 2013 @ 15:43:38

    Hi Leslie so glad to hear that you have fully recovered from the flu and well done on cutting down the ciggies. Have you tried or thought about electronic cigarettes? I haven’t tried them yet but my sister has and she said it helps when that nicotine dragon rears it head 🙂 What is COPD? Doctors are always trying to frighten us with something!
    No journals for me – perhaps one day???? Never say never 🙂 I have too many other projects and ideas I want to do first.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 28, 2013 @ 20:37:28

      Some idiot made the decision to not scare the whiz out of us. Emphysema is such a harsh and terrifying word. Tame it some to COPD – Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease.

      I do have electronic cigarettes. Taste is really horrid, and right now, drawing on one of them only makes me want a real cigarette more.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Feb 10, 2013 @ 22:16:32

    Your smash/life is great.
    Wow, one cigarette a day from a pack a day…good for you. That is an awesome start.
    It is hard..but you can do it.

    Reply

  4. Tracy :)
    Sep 04, 2013 @ 18:40:43

    Your pages are great!!
    I always venture out on my own when creating.
    Glad you are over the flu.
    Good luck on you quitting smoking. It isn’t easy.
    My SIL got the same news from her doctor and has quit for over 2 months now. See it can be done.
    Awesome that you went down from 1 pack to 1 ciggy…wow.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

