Free stickers from scrapbook or card making magazines.

Last spring I was in Barnes and Nobel booksellers with Joe. While he hunted and gathered his reading materials I looked at the selection of magazines for paper crafting. One I purchased had some stickers inside, like the Cracker Jack surprise in the box. I wasn’t all that impressed with them and stuffed them away in a cupboard in my craft room.

20130114-211601.jpg

In my attempt to keep my portable crafting kits down to a minimum I have been trying to see how creative I can be with just a few items. This time my card kits were put together with the stickers being the main feature. The card insides are blank. A light colored off white piece of card stock is attached inside so the person sending the card has room to write.

I attached the stickers to colored card stock then found papers and other card stock to use as the base, mats, and decoration.

20130114-212237.jpg

I created two cards tonight in the hotel room in Memphis, Tennessee. The first I used some Stampin’ Up! decorative paper, colored card stock also from Stampin’ Up!, some Liquid Pearls for a bit of texture, a bit of bling with some tear drop rhinestones, and I doodled in black ink around the sticker and the outer edge of the card stock the sticker was adhered to.

20130114-212732.jpg

I forgot to mention I used a Martha Stewart punch to add a bit of lacy trim.

My second card was quick. I used a Cuttlebug embossing folder to impress a filigreed frame to go behind a sticker that I fussy cut around to show a smidgen of the card stock it was attached to.

20130114-213055.jpg

That is all I created today. I do have to say that stickers can be useful on cards. Takes a bit of thought since my stash is pretty minimal. More so since I forgot to add ribbon to the kits. Drat.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 22:57:01

    LOVE that second card, especially! Layering the two similarly shaped pieces is BRILLIANT! I’m glad you didn’t have any ribbon, cause these are great!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 15, 2013 @ 16:30:08

    Great cards Leslie and I especially like the second one and neither of them needed ribbon. Think that would have over egged the pudding.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 15, 2013 @ 16:41:24

      Love that! “Over egged the pudding”. Good phrase to remember…..or keep in mind since I can’t remember much 😀

      Thank you Lynn. I like the second one, too.

      What’s happening in your world? Freezing rain here. Wet and cold trying to get hooked up. Finally left it half finished. By the way, “here” is Nashville, Tennessee.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

