Puffy scrapbook stickers can be used on cards.

Puffy stickers, sometimes called dimensional stickers, can be found at your local craft/hobby stores and at online sellers. The stickers I have used on this Father’s Day card are made by Recollections and can be found at Michaels.

20130113-201137.jpg

The stickers come on an acetate sheet.

20130113-201242.jpg

These stickers are die cut and embossed vinyl. They can be used on a scrapbook layout as emphasis, or embellishments, for photos of a fishing trip taken by the family over the summer.

The brown matted squares are: 2″ x 2″ and 2-1/4″ x 2-1/4″. The long brown piece is 1-1/2″ x 4″. I’ve used the Tim Holtz “Chitchat” word stickers to create the words “For My Father” since I have not brought any rubber stamps with me.

This is the final Father’s Day card in the kit I put together a couple weeks ago. My next set of cards will be “Love” cards that can be used as Valentines or just to convey a message of love to someone. Hopefully I will have one ready tomorrow night when we stop somewhere on the highway.

Look through your stash of stickers. How can you use them other than in layouts?

Leslie

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JasmineKyleSings
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 07:33:17

    Love the fishing puffy stickers!!

    Reply

  2. thefrugalcrafter
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 09:45:26

    I remember puffy stickers when I was a kid, they were my favorite to collect!

    Reply

  3. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 11:18:07

    I always forget about my stickers, but they do make cards less labor intensive! Sometimes I feel like stamping can get to be a chore, so I need to remember that you don’t NEED to stamp on everything! It’s only one small component of crafting. The best thing I like about stickers is that after you use them, they’re GONE and you don’t have to worry about storing them. I feel like I justify a lot of supply purchases with “I can use it on tons of projects” but it’s led me to getting overrun by my supplies, and that hurts my creativity, I think. I need to work on that this year, I think!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2013 @ 13:43:33

      Girl, I can so relate to what you’ve stated. Too much stuff available to bring home to momma πŸ˜€ but ends up being shoved in a dark space.

      Next thing to do is use the punches I’ve brought with me to spiffy up the stickers πŸ‘

      Yep, you are so right. Stickers used up means less to store.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. gardenpinks
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 18:15:00

    When I first started card making years ago (can’t remember how long ago) I collected hundreds of stickers but rarely use them now. Most of the stickers/peel offs I had were the gold and silver ones and many were borders or words. Some were outline peel offs and could be attached to clear vellum or paper and coloured to represent stained glass windows. I think Kim has my stash of stickers now and I bet I get sworn at by her mum LOL Sometimes it is good to revisit these ‘older’ things. Like this card very much, it is great fun.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2013 @ 22:07:11

      I wonder if Kim’s Mum ever paws through the sticker stash once in a while? Maybe she took first dibs on them before Kim got them. That would be a hoot if she did. πŸ˜€

      Trying to be frugal in this paper crafting thing seems to be a losing battle :-).

      I can imagine you crocheting in a car since that needs minimal attention paid to it. Sewing ribbon into flowers would set my stomach to lurching.

      I’m enjoying your bits of personal insights. Thank you for sharing. Oh, the answering comment I made previously about the cost of lace was from my own experience and not aimed at you.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

