Vellum stickers for cards

Before I get into today’s post I want to express my heartfelt apologies to my blogging friends who use the Blogger and BlogSpot platforms.  I have been reading all of your blogs….I just can’t comment on your fantastic creations.  This problem has been fixed I HOPE.  While home on this recent “dump and run” I got into my WordPress utilities and included the two platforms so that I can have easier access to your blogs and I can leave you some “Love”.

With that said, I have a half baked idea for a card that I made using some stickers.

I have a couple of “books” of card stickers from K&Co that I purchased from my local craft/hobby store last year.  Each book has a page for birthday, get well, marriage/anniversary, thinking of you, and thank you.  The stickers can be used inside the card or on the front – layered or just stuck on.

Vellum stickers

I made a “trial” card to test out a theory.  It is a card that can be used for Valentine’s Day or just an “I love you” card.

Valentine or Love card

Everything looks crooked, while the Tin Man tag is the only thing I did put off kilter.

  • Papers:  Colorbok textured card stock (behind vellum sticker and the card base); pink card stock is from Stampin’ Up!; the brown designer paper behind the sticker sentiment is also from Stampin’ Up!
  • Embossing Folder:  Cuttlebug Swirls
  • Tag:  Graphic 45 chipboard tags from Wizard of OZ
  • Liquid Pearls from Ranger or Tim Holtz
  • Ribbon:  My stash

One of the embossed swirl designs resembled a heart so I used that bit to layer on some Liquid Pearls to define the heart better.  I am learning how to allow my imagination to work things out with the limited amount of stuff I bring along with me.  At times this is more of a challenge than I am prepared for 😀

I have wanted to get myself trained to put things away when I’m finished using them.  At  home it is easier to just pile things up until I have an avalanche off to one side before I even consider putting things away.  Crafting in hotel rooms as we travel is kind of a “forced” training 😀

Crafting in hotel rooms

If I don’t put the stuff away as I’m finished we won’t sleep very well 😀 and I run the risk of leaving something behind that has been wadded up in the bed clothes 😉  This is not a New Year’s Resolution or anything like that.  I’ll just call it “Self Improvement” 😀  The other thing I am attempting to do is quell the whining and misery I put Joe through wanting to be home to get into my crafting.  Taking it along with me and being able to be creative has helped a lot, so far, in our day job.

Do you take along creative things as you travel?  Knitting, crocheting, altered journals, scrapbook projects, card making stuff?  What are the things you have found helpful in your travel for organizing your stuff?  I’d like to know.  You may spark inspiration in me, and others, to keep my stuff organized and undamaged during my travels.

Thanks for stopping by.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Indira
    Jan 12, 2013 @ 18:51:52

    I wish I could, but I can’ t never decide :). But I always try to take my tablet to look for some inspiration.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 12, 2013 @ 19:26:12

      I’m with you, Indira. Deciding on what to take along is hard. Taking what I think I need there would be no room left for Joe 😀

      Good to hear from you. Hope you and your family are well and enjoying life now that the Christmas and New Year holidays are over with. Whew! What a lot of stuff to do in such a few days. Hope you all had a fantastic Christmas.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 11:34:09

    Glad to see I’m not the only one who doesn’t make New Year’s Resolutions! But I do think I’ll try to get my desk cleared off today! Just got a few new things in from Stampin’ Up, and I need to get some samples made for a new Mini card class at Michaels this week. Wish me luck! We got Kevin moved back into the dorm Saturday, and now that he’s back in Austin, I have NO MORE EXCUSES to keep procrastinating. Plus I’ve decided to give Project Life a try this year, and I’m already behind! But I did purchase some digital supplies, as I’m finally making a bit of progress on learning Photoshop Elements and hope to incorporate some digital elements into my Project Life book. Maybe I’ll finally be able to post something in the dusty old blog!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2013 @ 13:59:42

      Cool! Project Life! Photoshop Elements! You are getting a plan of action to keep you busy between basketball, soccer, and other sports and school events with Shannon.

      AND you are thinking of putting your work on your blog for me, and others, to admire. Can you display your blog link at the store for shoppers to drop by your blog to see what the current classes are and to promote the upcoming classes?

      Hmmm. I think you need an assistant do you can get your rest at night 🆘😉

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 14, 2013 @ 18:08:52

    Another lovely card Leslie 🙂 I like those vellum stickers. At the moment I am trying to curb a lace trim and bead trim addiction 🙂 For so long now we have been on a very tight budget and my craft diet has lasted as long but I had a longing for a ‘fix’ so was taken to a local craft shop. I only had a few spare pounds to spend and wanted to try some of the lace trims but my word aren’t they expensive now??? I remember as a child when these laces were pence per yard but now they are extortionately priced! Needless to say I only bought a few metres of the cheapest ones! Beads are another addiction and I have bought a few from ebay!
    I can’t do anything whilst travelling due to motion sickness – even map reading is difficult! However whenever I go somewhere I usually take some crocheting with me as I can do that whilst talking or watching television or I take some ribbon, thread and a needle and make some flowers 🙂 Not too much to lose then and I just stuff what I need into the nearest empty bag LOL

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 14, 2013 @ 21:55:46

      The good old days…when a pence was equal to having meat at the dinner table or cabbage. A full week’s chores which involved a lot of heavy lifting and and being told you can’t do anything right.

      Getting your hands on a length of lace trim wrapped in paper and put in a pocket for safe keeping during the long walk home. Reverently holding the bit of fabric in your hands and adoring it before scissors came out. Then the best part was standing in front of a mirror seeing how the lace turned a dress (frock) into the most beautiful piece of clothing you own.

      Yes, the good old days when lace was not so expensive 😉

      I justify my rabbit like hopping from one obsession to the next by thinking I give someone else some pleasure from the multitude of stuff I hoard. I think I have a split personality with Gollum sitting in the driver’s seat 😬

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

