Remember When? A road trip with Dad.

Who remembers a family road trip with Dad driving?

I only remember one long trip with my father and it started, for him, in Denver, Colorado as he traveled north to pick my sister and I up at the foster home where we lived in Greeley. The three of us were going to Mount Rushmore in the Dakotas. South Dakota to be exact. That was a long and mostly silent trip.

When I met Joe, back in 1989, he took his kids on lots of road trips. He just loved traveling somewhere, seemingly anywhere, away from home. 50, 100, or even 1,000 miles didn’t give him a minutes pause. Get in and let’s go.

Road trips with Joe, then with the family and now in our day job, always had a ticking clock. Time to leave home, time for gas stops, time for the unscheduled roadside pee stops for one of the kids, meal time stops. Joe planned in advance how long it would take to get there. He planned how long the stay would be. He planned how long it would take to get back home.

I’ve created a Father’s Day card for the “Road Trip Dads”.

20130106-161837.jpg

Tim Holtz Alterations embossing folder with watches was used on some khaki paper (unknown) to represent the ticking clocks in our Dad’s heads.

The map paper bits are from Stampin’ Up! and I don’t remember what pack. Maps of the roads, whether real or in their heads, are a feature of traveling with Dad.

The “Road Trip” images are from Club Scrap. I think from the Journey collection.

20130106-162435.jpg

I only had enough room for two of the images. I used the Mica water colors in place of shimmer spritz stuff. It is cold and freezing now as we travel and not good for water based fabulous sparkle sprays.

The “Remember When” is a Stampin’ Up! stamp from the Word Play set.

I had to use Glossy Accents to adhere the map pieces atop the embossed paper. The deep impression didn’t play well with the ATG tape. You might want to keep that in mind if you are having trouble getting papers to stick to the bumpy texture left behind after embossing.

Do you have a favorite “Road Trip” memory? Hopefully it didn’t include many “Do I have to stop this car?!” threats to you and your wiggly siblings.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Jan 10, 2013 @ 17:38:26

    “Are we nearly there yet??” Oh I remember the road trips with my dad very well because he would not use motorways if he could avoid them, he didn’t like driving that much and he was always afraid that he might fall asleep on a motorway so it was the twisty, windy back roads and, inevitably, me throwing up most of the way there and back!! Dad would have to make several pit stops to make cups of tea – he had a small portable calor gas heater for the kettle. I was so glad when I was old enough to opt out of many of the trips 🙂 Yet now I quite enjoy road journeys, especially with my sister as we spend so much time chattering!
    Great card too!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 11, 2013 @ 09:47:43

      Would this be considered a “fond” memory? With all the cookie tossing going on being motion sick, I would imagine the destination was often met with gratitude upon finally arriving mixed with enjoying the adventures out of the car then dread when it was time to return home. Having the brief respite for tea at a roadside with your Dad using his portable calor gas heater was a mixed blessing. Tea to settle your poor tummy only to lose it all within minutes later. Awesome to learn that you and your sister take road trips and they are pleasant for you. More than pleasant, treasured times spent together in companionship.

      I have forgotten to mention to you, I had passed on your hug to Shelly when I saw her. She is very thankful for your concern for her and for letting me be the proxy of your loving hug. She is still in the thick of it all but has the warmth of your friendship to bolster her in moments when she feels so alone sometimes. I have been told, by Shelly, that you mean a lot to her and she appreciates you. She doesn’t get much time to spend on her computer, of late, or she would have sent you an email herself. Sad to say, but I think next she is on the computer to update her blog or send you and email may be after her Mom passes. Circumstances are rather bleak on that front.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Jan 11, 2013 @ 15:31:52

        Thank you for the update regarding poor Shelly. Think of her often as she is going through this most difficult emotional time. I have been very fortunate to make some wonderful friends through the internet – where would we be without it??. Thank you so much for passing along my hug Leslie 🙂
        Hugs to you too
        Lynn xxx

      • Message In A Fold
        Jan 12, 2013 @ 09:25:36

        Shelly, poor girl, appreciates knowing that you think of her. I feel the same as you do! Can’t believe the friendship we have developed over the internet. Thank goodness we have or I would have never known you 😀 and missed out on a lot!

        Love you my friend – Leslie

Leave a Reply

