And now, for something totally different.

We arrived in Danville, Illinois around 4 this afternoon. My friend, Shelly, has spent the last couple days at the hospital with her ailing Mom who is about to lose her fight with life. Shelly is taking in all the dire information and preparing herself for facing the loss.

There is a spark of hope the doctors and nurses are dangling out there that could possibly extend her Mom’s days a little longer. Having to bear this on her slender shoulders is hard for me to know what to say or do.

Inept is how I feel. All I have to offer Shelly is my time and an ear. Why is it that “Bewitched” is only a fairytale television show? An old one at that and most of you are saying “What?”.

We got to spend a little over two hours with Shelly and Brian. Joe received some encouragement and pointers about eBay from Brian. Shelly’s kids are the cutest. Watching and listening to these three took me back home to Greeley when our kids were young and full of life and antics. I find I miss my kids when they were young.

Will, the oldest, resembles a young Broderick Crawford as Ferris Bueller.

20130105-222620.jpg

Next is Ariel. A little slip of a girl that is soft spoken and the middle child. If you are one you know what that is like. Always being in the shadow of the older and the younger while trying to leave her imprint on the world.

20130105-222920.jpg

The youngest is Jasmine who can do a mean imitation of Jim Carrey without even trying hard. I think Jasmine will be a Fashionista given half a chance.

20130105-223115.jpg

Shelly, thank you for sharing your family with Joe and I this evening. We were both delighted with your company. I’m just dang sorry the circumstances in your lives has been over rich with sorrow these past months. Brian, I am sorry for your loss of your Father then quickly followed by your Brother.

You are all in my prayers and thoughts as you continue to deal with the rigors of life and ailing family. Love you guys.

Back to the hotel room I messed about with my crafting supplies to create a Father’s Day card. A little early in the year to be looking toward June but the older I get the faster the days slip past me.

20130105-223801.jpg

The papers are all Stampin’ Up! And from various packs of paper.

The stamp set is also from Stampin’ Up! Plane and Simple is the name.

I’ve used Glossy accents on the goggle lenses.

20130105-224006.jpg

On the compass image I have rimmed the edge with Bisque Liquid Pearls in an attempt to make the image look like it is metal. I’ve also used Glossy Accents for the crystal face in an attempt to make it look like glass.

20130105-224257.jpg

We will be heading to Indianapolis, Indiana tomorrow where we will stay to make an appointment Joe has in that town for an unrelated matter.

I will have tomorrow afternoon to mess around some more in my crafting bag of tricks.

I bid you all goodnight.

Leslie

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 00:10:49

    So glad you got to help share Shelly and Brians burdens for a bit. I know they were refreshed after spending time with you two. I know what you guys are like with people’s kiddos, and I KNOW they were so grateful to be able to watch you pour so much love into those kids hearts, because they see how much it’s needed right now as they deal with other things. What a blessing for all involved…..

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 10:30:16

      Thank you my friend for your sweet words.

      My heart aches for Shelly and her family. Her, and Brian’s, faith is palpable and strangely calming. The two of them keep life normal for the kids and themselves as they deal with their raw and open wounds.

      Odd as this may sound, I wanted to give them a bit of peace and a distraction for a couple hours; however it was all of them that gave me peace and the distraction. Amazing.

      Love you my friend

      Reply

  2. Maureen Mathis
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 10:53:22

    Meant to say Philippians 4:6,7!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 11:12:36

      I had to go look that reference up to remind me of the full text.

      Sad to say, I forget the praying with thanksgiving part. Thank you for the reminder to pray knowing that what will come from my requests will be more to be thankful over. Kind of like “Thanking God in advance” 😉 instead of just blathering at him.

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Jan 06, 2013 @ 13:54:18

    Poor Shelly and Brian, they have certainly had a great deal to shoulder recently. Do hope 2013 proves to be a whole lot better for them all. Lovely children they have too and thank you for sharing the photos.
    Leslie that is an ‘awesome’ card! You certainly have the knack for making cards for males. Love it!
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 06, 2013 @ 18:46:44

      Indeed, Shelly and Brian have had a really rough year. I really hope 2013 will turn around for them and become a fantastic year for all of them. The kids are totally delightful. Ariel, the middle child, is so cute. I just wanted to put her in my pocket 🙂

      Thank you for the boost of confidence you have given me with my latest card. That one was fun to put together.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

