Masculine birthday card and some packing.

Looking through my stamps, for inspiration, my eyes fell upon this stamp from Club Scrap.

A Club Scrap stamp

Close up of stamp

What would I ever think of to use this stamp?  Looking through my notebook of birthday sentiments I found this one.

Birthday sentiment

So this is what I came up with for a birthday card for a boy.

Birthday card for a boy

I have some Club Scrap card stock that has been embossed.  This is an old, very old, set of paper that I’ve had for years.  The card stock is in both dark blue and brown.  I’ll show you the embossed brown card stock.

Embossed card stock from Club Scrap

I’ve covered the front of the card with a piece of card stock, not sure who it is from.  See the photo above.

For this project, I’ve used….

  • Paper:  Club Scrap and Stampin’ Up!
  • Stamp:  Club Scrap Sun/Moon; Stampin’ Up! Fundamental Phrases (birthday), and All Night Media’s Jive Alphabet (A).
  • Ribbon:  My stash.
  • Ink:  Ranger Archival Ink (black on tag); Stampin’ Up! Summer Sun (Sun/Moon); Walnut Stain Distress Ink around the paper edges.
  • Punches:  Stampin’ Up! Word Window and Curly Label; EK Success 1-3/4″ Circle; Coluzzle Circle template (blue card stock behind the Sun/Moon image)
  • Pen:  Gold Kodak gel pen to enhance some of the sun’s rays.
  • Foam Squares:  Recollections dimensional foam squares behind the Sun/Moon and the tag.

These super dark card stock papers are difficult to apply my little “signature”.

My "signature"

I have some 1″ x 3/4″ labels.   I just keep finding really old stuff in my craft room and getting to use it.  I stamped my little “bee” on a sheet of labels and left the ink to dry.

Small labels

Once the ink was dry I colored the image with Stampin’ Up! markers and a silver gel pen.  I’ve cut the bee out using a 1/2″ circle punch from Stampin’ Up!

1/2" circle punch

Punch out bee

The packing has been an on and off thing since yesterday.  I spent 12 hours of my day being totally indecisive.  Take this?  No.  Wait, YES!  No, maybe not.  I’ve got it down to this for now.  There is still time for me to change my mind :-}

The Martha Stewart Portable Work Station gets packed first 😀  Bling, rulers, and stickers will go here….

Bling and stickers

In the outside pocket.

A pocket just for those items

Tools from my craft tote will go here.  I have the new tool kit from Maureen in the big tote.

The tools I had in the big tote

Perfect Pearls and glitter glue in this little pocket.

Perfect Pearls and glitter glue

Adhesives in this pocket.

Adhesives

Glitter and Mica water colors to take along with go……

Glitter and mica water colors

In this pocket.

In this pocket

 

My big tote has been packed and repacked.

 

 

My big tote

 

Punches in the top pockets.  I’d cram more in there if I could….and I have tried.

Punches to take along

The fantastic gift from Jann Gray of What You Make It holds multiple colors of Cat’s Eye ink pads, brads, and all manner of goodies.  That is in the brown cigar box.

The goodies from Jann

Traveling craft kit

Filled with goodies

 

Stampin’ Up! markers in another cigar box I had stashed away.  Then it is tucked in a Tyvek envelope to keep the lid closed.

Stampin' Up! markers

My little embossing machine, acrylic stamp blocks, embossing folders, and the awesome tool kit from Maureen.

Embossing machine and folders

The embossing folders.  I wonder if I can get more in here?  Hmmmm.

Embossing folders

I’m working on getting packets made to work on while away.  I’ve got some “girly” birthday cards to make.  I will be using an old Stampin’ Up! Hostess set – Birthday Bakery – for these cards.  I’ve selected the colors of card stock and ribbon to use.

Three birthday card kits

Two birthday card kits

One birthday card kit

I can’t decide on which sentiment to use so I stamped both of them three times.  I also stamped three of the multi cake images from the stamp set.

Three images and two sayings

I did a “trial run” with coloring.  The paper I’m using for the birthday cakes is some LetterPress stuff that was in the clearance bin at Hobby Lobby.  I’ve used Copic markers, Stampin’ Up! markers, and Mica water colors to test which I like.  The Mica water colors are getting my vote.

A sampling of all three

Okay, now that I’ve tied you up for most of the day I’ll let you get about your business.  Hope you have a wonderful day.  Enjoy the festivities of the New Year tonight and be careful out there if you will be driving.  Weather and inebriated people will try to mess with you.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JasmineKyleSings
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 10:52:36

    I love that sunburst OOHHH and those little cakes!!!

    Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Jan 01, 2013 @ 11:03:30

    Super card Leslie and yes I like the mica painted cakes too 🙂
    Your poor tote will be bursting at the seams if you squish any more in there!! But there is always going to be a “wish I’d brought ———–” moment. When we had less ‘stuff’ we seemed to be far more creative with what we had – well that is how it seems to me 🙂
    Love and hugs and safe travels
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 01, 2013 @ 11:59:29

      I KNOW! 😀 Creativity was boundless when we didn’t have much stuff. Now all the details just get in the way ;-). I fear I will never get that tote into a hotel room for the weight of the contents. Good grief, I’m not very good at self editing when it comes to packing 😦

      I, too, like the mica cakes better than the marker painted ones. I’m going with the mica 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

