I miss your smile.

Using my IBM Selectric typewriter I made several card inserts.  Some of them I knew exactly what I would do with the outside of the card, while others have been a challenge.  These two cards were the challenge for me.  The first card is using the Operation Write Home sketch challenge #1.

Smiling woman

  • Paper:  Stampin’ Up! and Club Scrap
  • Stamped image:  Hero Arts “Variety & Quality”
  • Ribbon:  Stampin’ Up! Apricot Appeal 1/4″ grossgrain
  • Half back pearls:  My stash
  • Twinkling H2O in yellow over stamped image

I miss your smile sentiment

I have it on good authority – Joe – that purple is a masculine color. The second card is from Operation Write Home Sketch Challenge #3.

Thinking of you card

Where tag

When tag

  • Paper:  Stampin’ Up! and Club Scrap
  • Stamped images:  Hero Arts “Travel Journal” and Studio G dollar stamp set
  • VersaMark and black embossing powder:  My stash
  • Gold brads:  My stash
  • Vellum heart:  My stash
  • Words on tags:  IBM Selectric typewiter

How much you are missed

Vellum is the most trickiest of papers to attach to a card or scrapbook layout.  The adhesive always shows through and you have to figure out how to attach the vellum and hide the evidence.  I have some Vellum Glue Dots…..I’ve had them for many years.  I don’t know if they are still sold in this kind of a package or if there is a different variety now available.

The glue dots are very small, almost microscopic, over a sheet of acetate.  Press the vellum back onto the glue dots then adhere to your project.  They do stick very well and you can also add a bit of extra adhesive to an area that will be covered if you are not fully confident of the vellum dots.

Vellum glue dots

I am, now, in the process of putting together several card kits to take along with me.  My good friend, Maureen, left a comment on my post of yesterday with some fantastic suggestions that will help in my traveling card making.

I think I’d put together 8 or 10 “kits” with patterned papers, matching cardstock, a yard each of a couple of coordinating ribbons, a few stickers and embellishments. Take half now, and have the others ready for your next “dump and run” when you come home for a day in between jobs. I’d also prepare a set of sentiments for adhering to the outside and inside of the cards, stamped on both white and ivory cardstock. For each kit, since you know the colors of the PP and cardstock, you can go ahead and stamp (in coordinating ink colors) onto a full sheet of paper, some images and sentiments for cutting later. For your tool kit, make sure to bring Distress inks to possibly change the color of the sentiment cards to match your project, and bring a corner rounder, one feminine edge punch, one “non feminine” edge punch, a few label punches. It’s a lot of prep work, I know, but if you do the stamping beforehand, you won’t have to drag stamps and inks all over the country, and it will cut down on your supplies to pack.

I think this is an awesome suggestion and I appreciate it very much.  Maureen teaches all kinds of paper crafting at a Michaels near her in Austin, Texas.  If you live near Austin and are looking for someone to teach you how to make cards, scrapbook layouts, and the cutest boxes or bags to give as gifts feel free to reply to her comment on my blog post of yesterday by clicking on the link here —>  Maureen’s Comment.

I will not give out Maureen’s email address since I don’t have her permission to do so.  That is why I am leaving you the link.  She will get notification of  your interest in learning from her.

Okay, no more cards to share.  I’m back off to spend the day cramming my tote over full of stuff and digging it all back out again.  Probably several times.

Leslie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 16:25:53

    Now I love purple and consider it gender neutral but think of browns, greys, greens and blues as being masculine 🙂 Vellum is a tricky material and I either end up using eyelets to attach it to card fronts or as a wrap around with a strip of double sided tape on the back of the card to hold it in place. Or, a third way, strategically place embellishments to hide the adhesive 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 07:37:54

      Vellum is such beautiful stuff but it is so cantankerous. I have gobs of the stuff. Plain, patterned, striped, polka dots, and in several colors. Oh to be able to spend time playing with it all 😦 Oh well, something to look forward to when I retire…..IF is more like it.

      Hope you two are keeping warm. We’ve had some cold days. Snow, ice, and today it is raining with near freezing temperatures. Happy New Year wishes I send to you and Rod. May 2013 bring your wishes to fruition. Your home sells, you move to the house of your dreams, you and Rod fall in love with each other all over again throughout this coming year, your children and grandchildren fill your heart to bursting with their antics and loving ways, most of all I wish 2013 to be a year of health and happiness for both you and Rod.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy :)
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 23:40:15

    Your cards are so sweet, love the inside of them.
    I love the second card…love that heart 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 07:40:47

      Thank you, Tracy. It feels strange to have had the burst of creative insight these past couple days. Normally my brain shuts down and I end up walking around in circles. Kind of like your zombie people do. Okay, I just creeped myself OUT!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

