Missing You cards.

I have three “Missing You” cards to share that I created yesterday.  The inside message has been typed, by me, on my IBM Selectric.  That old girl still works!  This old girl…..is used to computers and the backspace key and the spell check feature 😦

I received a blog notice from Operation Write Home recently.  There has been a “Mid Week Throw Down” with a challenge to make “Miss You” cards.

Card #1:

Missing You - Card #1

Inside saying - Card #1

  • Papers:  Club Scrap
  • Background stamp:  Large Hand Writing – Hampton Arts
  • Embossing folder:  Cuttlebug Swirls
  • Ink:  Stampin’ Up! Chocolate Chip for background stamp and Antique Linen Distress Ink to highlight Swirls
  • Sentiment:  Stampin’ Up! – Word Play
  • Ink:  Ranger Archival black
  • Ribbon:  from my stash
  • Pop Dots:  Recollections Foam Squares (under the “You Mean The World To Me” piece)

Card #2:

Missing You - Card #2

Inside saying - Card #2

  • Papers:  Club Scrap
  • Vintage Image:  my stash
  • Ribbon:  my stash
  • Corner Punch:  Stampin’ Up! Corner Rounder

Card #3

Missing You - Card #3

Inside saying - Card #3

  • Papers:  Club Scrap, Graphic 45 Steam Punk
  • Embossing Folder:  Cuttlebug Gears
  • Chipboard Gears:  Maya Road covered with Club Scrap paper
  • Border Punch:  Stampin’ Up! Lace Border punch
  • Outside Sentiment:  Stampin’ Up! Fundamental Phrases
  • Punches:  Stampin’ Up! Word Window and Stampin’ Up! Curly Label (I think)

The “Perfectionist” in me sees all the glaring flaws.  I’ll let you hunt them up cause I’m not telling.  I don’t think I will have to worry over much about these being returned as “Undeliverable”.  (Hope, hope, hope)

Okey Dokey.  I’m off to get back in my craft room.  I’m tussling with a little problem.  Should I spend some time in stamping sentiments and images on white card stock to have ready, and at hand, while I’m on the road?  Or should I just make as many cards as I can during my remaining days home?  Choices, choices, choices.

What would  you do were you faced with leaving home for an indefinite amount of time?  Have a limited amount of space for loved tools?  Creating cards atop ironing boards or beds in hotel rooms?

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 29, 2012 @ 09:20:21

    I think I’d put together 8 or 10 “kits” with patterned papers, matching cardstock, a yard each of a couple of coordinating ribbons, a few stickers and embellishments. Take half now, and have the others ready for your next “dump and run” when you come home for a day in between jobs. I’d also prepare a set of sentiments for adhering to the outside and inside of the cards, stamped on both white and ivory cardstock. For each kit, since you know the colors of the PP and cardstock, you can go ahead and stamp (in coordinating ink colors) onto a full sheet of paper, some images and sentiments for cutting later. For your tool kit, make sure to bring Distress inks to possibly change the color of the sentiment cards to match your project, and bring a corner rounder, one feminine edge punch, one “non feminine” edge punch, a few label punches. It’s a lot of prep work, I know, but if you do the stamping beforehand, you won’t have to drag stamps and inks all over the country, and it will cut down on your supplies to pack.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 29, 2012 @ 10:19:56

      Thank you, Maureen! A sensible friend, indeed, you are. I was lost in the forest :-{.

      Having kits set up will save me the wasted time of figuring out what to do. I’ll waste that time here at home.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 30, 2012 @ 16:17:19

    Love all the cards you made, they all fit the theme well.
    Hmm I, too, was going to suggest stamping images and sentiments to save lugging stamps and inks around. You could then challenge yourself with some trickier images, perhaps stamp a few images that need colouring? Just a practice run so you didn’t have to fret about the colouring 🙂 Coloured pencils would be a good medium to use initially.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 07:19:44

      Thank you Lynn. I don’t know what I’m going to do 😦 I spent several hours in my room yesterday trying to get some packets ready. Spent more time searching through my half done stamp catalog and the stamps themselves trying to find an idea. Blank! I did make one packet of three cards to be assembled 😦 Crapazoid! I still have one day remaining!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Dec 31, 2012 @ 00:13:18

    Your cards are really pretty.
    Nope, can’t see one flaw in any of those cards….must just be your eyes 😉
    I would (need) to take something creative with me. I can’t even go on a drive without taking something with me, lol.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 31, 2012 @ 07:43:57

      Thank you, Tracy. These cards were fun to put together. I think I had more fun with my typewriter 😀

      The packing up of crafty goodies has begun. The totes have been loaded and unloaded several times. Things put in, then taken back out. I can’t seem to decide what I want to take with me 😦 Total bummer. I still have today 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

