A Crime Scene birthday card.

Going through my rubber stamp cataloging I came across this stamp set from Stampin’ Up! titled “Alpha Builders Accessories”.  The letters are only C-I-S.

Alpha Builders Accessories

C-I-S?

What can a person do with this?  Maybe that is why it was in a garage sale a couple years back and my neighbor picked it up for 50 cents and promptly gave it to me.

I’ve had an idea bouncing around in my head since I unmounted this set in my cataloging frenzy.   A birthday card that will be a “CSI” crime scene file folder.  This is a “Prototype” of a card.  Or I guess it is a “Practice” card 😀

Crime scene folder

The magnifying glass is a stamp from Club Scrap.  To make the folder I used an 8-1/2″ x 11″ ivory or vanilla card stock.  I cut the card stock from the 11″ side down to 5-1/2″.  I now have two 5-1/2″ x 8-1/2″ pieces of card stock.

5-1/2" x 8-1/2" card stock

To create the file folder tab I scored the card stock at 4″ instead of the standard 4-1/4″.

Score at 4"

This will give you a 1/4″ leading edge on the right of your card base.

1/4" over hang on card base

Next I  made a 2″ mark down from the top of the card on the over hang of the card back.

Measure 2" down from the top

Make a mark at 2"

Next I drew a line, using a pencil, down the card from the 2″ mark to the bottom edge.

Draw a line from the 2" mark down to the bottom of the card

Cut away the excess card stock using your pencil line as a guide.

Follow the pencil line

and cut away this piece

Next I used a Corner Rounder punch.

Corner Rounder punch

Round the corners of the card

To get into the tight area of the tab I had to take the paper guide off of the punch.  If you have one of those Corner Chompers you won’t need to do this step.  To remove the paper guide you will grab hold of one of the “ears” and pull GENTLY outward while pulling down on the guide.  The two pieces will come apart.

Remove the paper guide

Insert the tab corner into the punch as you would normally.

Insert the paper into the punch as normal

You will have a rounded corner on the file folder tab.

Folder tab corners rounded

Next, I stamped a birthday cake image from the “Fun and Fast Notes” stamp set from Stampin’ Up!  I cut a section out of the cake to make it look as though it were sliced through.  Behind the cut out portion of the image I put a scrap piece of white card stock.  Using a pencil I drew lines where the cake layers would be seen from the cut.

Cut a slice out of your cake image

Next I colored the scrap paper within the lines marked to show the inside of the cake is chocolate 😀

Creating the inside of the cake

Adhere the adhesive of your choice around the colored marks, then mount the pieces together

Add adhesive to the colored scrap

Cake with exposed slice

I have a pad of index cards that I will be using as the “report” inside the file.

Lined index card

Here is the inside of this card.

Inside of the card

I have a few weeks to give this card idea a bit more thought before Carissa’s birthday.  She is my youngest daughter.

What would you do to create a “Crime Scene” card?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 14:57:56

    My guess it’s that with that stamp set, you can create most of the letters of the alphabet. Join the c and the i, and you get a, or b if you stamp the i twice to make a long stem. a D is just a backward b. E is tricky, cause you’d have to ink up less than the c to make an incomplete circle. F comes from the i topped of by the curve, and the i stamped across the base. Who knows? I’m just trying to figure out why the heck those stamps are part of a set. Give it a try!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 08:33:03

      This is an idea I might experiment with. My stamping skills are rudimentary, at best, and I have a feeling this would be more in the “advanced” arena 😀 I wonder if the entire alphabet was created in this manner but only sold in sets of three with different designs on the images. Thank you, Maureen, for the stimulating idea 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 18:06:46

    What a great idea Leslie, look forward to seeing how you complete this 🙂 Doubt I would have even come up with an idea like that – don’t have that sort of brain for inventiveness lol
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 08:44:07

      Thank you, Lynn. Maybe this is a sign that I watch way too many police drama television shows? 😀 I think I might have to enlist the aid of my son-in-law, who is an actual police officer, to get a better handle on the “lingo” 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. aspot2stamp
    Dec 16, 2012 @ 22:55:28

    Awesome idea Leslie 🙂 What a fun idea and the little file folder could have so many uses. Will wait to see what you make after the idea cooks a bit more in your mind.
    Hugs to ya

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 17, 2012 @ 08:51:41

      Thank you, Shelly. I have an old, ancient almost, IBM Selectric typewriter. I think I may have to drag that heavy sucker out and turn it on to see if it works 😀 when this idea has had some time to percolate more.

      I’ve been remiss once again in calling you. Hope you and your family are well.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

      • aspot2stamp
        Dec 17, 2012 @ 09:10:29

        Thank you for you thoughts and love for me and my family That is very much appreciated more than mere words can express. It is the love and care from freinds and family that continue to show us how God had placed them in our lives to help us to push foward to brighter days. I truely love you my wonderful friend 🙂
        Big hugz
        Shelly

  4. Tracy :)
    Dec 22, 2012 @ 11:34:27

    This is such a fun card 🙂
    Great tip on making the file folder with the corner rounder 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 23, 2012 @ 22:23:14

      Thank you, Tracy. I had better get my prototype figured out quickly or I will miss my daughter’s birthday with my procrastinating 😦

      Glad you enjoyed the file folder and corner rounder tip 🙂

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

  5. rootbeerbeauty
    Jan 01, 2015 @ 05:45:39

    You. Saved. My. Life. I’ve been wasting so much expensive paper. Wasting it on a blunt hobby knives not being able to cut my tabs the way I wanted them! I bumped into your site while googling for a new corner punch.. only to find out I could just take the paper guide off! Hoping this works for mine too. Thanks so much! My tabs will me awesome!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Jan 01, 2015 @ 11:09:18

      Oh My Goodness! I thank you for your comment in reference to making tabs using a corner punch. I totally forgot about this long ago blog post and idea for a card. Needless to say, I’m very happy to learn that you have been helped by this long forgotten idea I had. Indeed, your tabs will be AWESOME! 😀
      Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

