Glazier points, transparent archival bags, Fragment Charms, Velcro dots, and Devcon epoxy.

Joe and I have been playing “tag” in the creation of Maureen’s gift.  His job is to make me look good 😉  This piece is quite heavy and he is making sure that it won’t come from together and crash on Maureen’s feet….or whatever might be below it once it gets hung on the wall.

Starting with the Glazier Points and Joe’s hammer precision.  The blog post I’ve linked to (Glazier Points) has good photos of what the glazier points look like and how to install them.  These are mainly used to hold glass panes in windowed doors.  Caulk or a putty is then spread around the glass seated in the frame to ward off winds and rain from getting in.  These points are extremely useful when re-purposing a picture frame.

Joe attaching the glazier points

While this project was in Joe’s excellent care I had to take care of a minor problem I had made for myself with my Stampin’ Up! – recently unmounted stamps.  The system I had with the plastic bits attached to photocopier paper was not working well.  The paper was too floppy and the notebook was getting too unwieldy to handle.  A trip to Michaels had been made earlier in the day.  I purchased some Translucent Archival bags.

Translucent Archival Bags

I thought these would be with the card making items but they were not.  I had to hunt around the store to find these.  They were located in the section of Michaels that has all the paper bags and tissue papers for parties.  I picked up two different sizes.  These were around $4 each and work great for me.

Once home I cut the plastic bit away from the copy paper, trimmed around the plastic bit and put it in one of the archival bags.

Cut away the plastic storage mount

Good thing I don’t have a gazillion stamps to do this with.  Man, I can make more work for myself than anyone else!

Insert the stamp and plastic mount in the bag

The plastic bit and the rubber stamp(s) will be stored in a bag.

Slides right into the sleeve for easy storage

With the sleeve I feel confident I won’t be losing the stamps as they come loose from the plastic bit.

Now the stamps are secure

I’m not going to be changing the notation in my reference binder.  I’ll save that task for another time when I figure out a good location for these stamps to be in.  I do have several empty drawers now that I’ve removed all those bulky boxes.

While at Michaels I picked up some Tim Holtz Fragment Charms.

Tim Holtz Fragment Charms

I laid several of these pieces strategically on the Mariposa papers.  When I found a selection I liked I adhered the Fragment to the paper using Glossy Accents.  I left them to dry overnight and cut around them when dry.  I had to use a nail file to clean up the stray paper edges to make them cleaner to look at.

Fragment Charm with attached paper

The hole in the charm is there to string ribbon or chain through.  It was Joe’s ingenious idea to poke the thumb tack through the hole.  That’s why I keep him around 😀

Fragment Charms with thumb tacks

I used a dab of hot glue at the hole then pushed the tack through the paper to secure the charm and the tack.

Secured to a scrap of foam core board

For ease of storage and shipping I have pushed the thumb tacks through a scrap of foam core board.  Joe came to my rescue once again!

Realizing that Maureen may want to hang some of her cards, tags, or other creations on this board without poking holes in them I found some black Velcro dots amongst my sewing stuff.  Using a dab of fabric glue I attached the hook part of the “Hook and Loop” piece to the ribbon on the board.

Black Velcro dot

I attached the Velcro Loop piece to some colorful and decorative binder clips.  Wiping the round piece with alcohol first before attaching the Velcro to make sure it would adhere well.

Loop Velcro dot on a binder clip

There are five Velcro dots placed on the front.  All she will need do is stick the binder clip to the Velcro hook piece and then display her item 😀

Binder clip adhered to the board

I’m hoping this will work well for her.  Photos of her family that she wants to display can be held in place and changed out with no damage to the photo.

Hang the card using the binder clip instead of the tack

Before I could actually do the part above Joe had this project back in his hands.  He has some industrial strength 5 Minute Epoxy made by Devcon.  He also has some fantastic mixing tubes and a gun to go with the epoxy.

Devcon expoxy application

The guy at Lowe’s had cut the wood a bit wonky when we had the pieces cut last year.  There is quite a gap in one corner that needed to be strengthened and Joe is the resident genius in matters of making things happen 😀

The mixing tubes are great.  As he squeezes the gun part the plunger part in the tube pushes the epoxy mixtures through the tube.  The auger type thing inside the tube blends the two components as they travel out the nozzle.  How many more times can I say “tube”?

Epoxy mixing tube

Joe does a test run to make sure the stuff is mixing well and not clogging.

Specialty gun used to apply the epoxy

He is able to control the amount of epoxy applied to this project.  Once this stuff sets it is permanent.  Structurally he has strengthened the frame and secured the pieces in there good.  Thank you my Sweetie Pie 😀

Precise application of the epoxy

I put brown paper on the back of the piece using hot glue.  This gives it a more finished appearance and will keep the black acrylic paint from rubbing off on her walls.  Can’t have that happen!

Brown paper covering the back of the frame

I’ve added flowers, cording, die cut butterflies, and feathers .

The corners decorated

Two of the corners have been worked over with hot glue and stuff.

Flowers, feathers, cording and die cut butterflies

Flowers, feathers, cording, and some die cut butterflies.

Die cut butterflies to hide the cut cord

Die cut butterflies have been attached to the cut cord ends.  This project is now complete and ready to be shipped off.  Joe and I have been waffling between driving down to personally deliver this and hang it for her or if we should just ship it and let her wrestle with it.

Now it is back to the rubber stamp cataloging project.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Dec 14, 2012 @ 17:42:02

    A fantastic joint effort and the finished board looks superb. Well done Leslie and Joe 🙂
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 15, 2012 @ 06:20:00

      Thank you, Lynn. I’m so glad that I have Joe to help me. This project would not be possible without his help. I would have muddled through it by myself but not have confident in the piece holding together for very long. How are you coming in your Christmas prep? So much to do….so little time 😉

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. r
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 00:07:00

    This is such a great project. Love that you two work so well together 🙂
    I love the idea of the velcro on the clips.
    I also love that you have left me comments on all the days of my blog. It made me smile, thank you.
    Now time for me to catch up on yours 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 15, 2012 @ 06:28:39

      I found two of this comment so they both appeared 😉 Tracy, I am so fortunate to have a husband that will lend a hand to my projects and do his best work while at it instead of getting it out of the way so he can continue on with his stuff. Believe me, I’ve had two before my Joe so I totally appreciate that he is who he is.

      Thank you for catching up on my blog 🙂 I appreciate you stopping in. I so enjoy your posts and find your humor fun.

      Love – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Tracy :)
    Dec 15, 2012 @ 00:08:56

    This is such a great project. Love that you two work so well together 🙂
    I love the idea of the velcro on the clips.
    I also love that you have left me comments on all the days of my blog. It made me smile, thank you.
    Now time for me to catch up on yours 🙂
    Not sure what happened with my last comment

    Reply

  4. Bag Charms
    Aug 16, 2013 @ 09:07:39

    Great project, thanks for your sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

