Knock! Knock! Who’s There?

While going through my rubber stamps, during the inventory process, I would get card ideas.  Some of them were good while others not so much.  I even ventured into the realm of coloring images with Stampin’ Up! markers.

Here is one of the cards that made me laugh.  I showed it to Joe and got a reaction I didn’t think would happen.  He threw his head back and barked a laugh. 😀

Knock knock joke

The lettering is a combination of alpha stamp sets I have.  Knock knock is from Club Scrap’s “DIY Cropping Kit” of 2003.  Who’s There is from All Night Media’s “Jive Alphabet”.  The “?” is from Studio G’s mini alphabet set.  All of these alpha stamps are years, and years, old and may no longer be available.

Here is the inside of the card.  The sentiment and the card front background images are from Club Scrap’s “Mosaic Twist” set of 2005.

Orange you glad

I made a video of my inventory and organization process with the rubber stamps and I state this sentiment is lost in my 4″ x 6″ cards because of all the other images I have crammed on the card.

I’ve made two card fronts and inserts from my stash of scraps and stamp sets.  These are ready to be attached to card bases when I decide what color I want to use for the bases.  Or even if I want to attach them and send them on to someone.  Both of these cards use the same “message” sentiment but in different ways.

Here is the first one.  I tried my hand at coloring the bird house image.  It is a Stampin’ Up! stamp from the 1997 Just A Note Mini set and the message is from the 2004 Friend to Friend set.

Bird house card

The insert has the bird house stamped in the lower right hand corner and the rest is left blank.

Bird house insert

The second card I’m not over the moon about so this one will be left to mess around with.  The “Friend” stamp is from Stampin’ Up! “With All My Heart”.

Friend card front

The card insert is the same “Friend to Friend” message as is on the front of the other one.  I’ve stamped it on the top of the insert leaving room to write a note later.

Friend card insert

Alrighty then, it is time to get back into my room and finish this project of getting my images and sentiments sorted.  Personal discipline.  Something I  am striving for….reluctantly 😀  My end goal is to create cards as well as I do scrapbook layouts and journals.  My desire is to make cards well enough that I can submit them to Operation Write Home for our military people to send cards home to their loved ones.  Until I get THAT good the cards I am fairly pleased with will still be sent on to Operation Write Home but will have personal notes from me to “Any Hero”.  Those are the military people that receive very little, if any,  mail.  I would like to brighten someone’s day and uplift a spirit.

What major project have you taken on recently that you wonder if you have “done gone insane”?

Leslie

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. gardenpinks
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 17:31:45

    Oh love the Knock, Knock card 🙂 The second is fine but don’t think the blue trim quite suits it, like the paper and quote very much though. Perhaps some flowers??
    Love the birdhouse one and also liked the background paper – birds and flourishes are amongst my favourite images 🙂 The colouring is great and like the way you carried the stamping through to the insert – brilliant:)
    Oh my, oh my Leslie you have really set yourself a job and a half there with all your stamps and now doing even more reorganising with an index sheet. It was the sentments, sayings and phrases that took me longest to sort out – I have all birthday ones together for example. And I don’t even have that many sentiments – well not enough for me anyway.
    I shall take some photos soon of my stamp organisation and put it on my blog so you can see how I have done it.
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 09, 2012 @ 08:12:42

      Thank you 😀 That Knock Knock card was fun to make 😀

      I knew I was in trouble when I attached that turquoise fuzzy rick rack stuff on that one card front. Sometimes I just don’t know when to quit on something that is going in the wrong direction. Maybe I’ll learn one day to just stop it before the train jumps the track 😉

      I’d love to see what you do with your rubber stamp inventory. Honestly, I’d just love to see what images and phrases you have. I think it is fun seeing the stuff that others have. My way of snooping through your cupboards 😀 It also helps me to figure out a better way of doing things because, amazing as it may be, I don’t have all the answers 😀 to my many questions. Thanks for offering to show me how you have your stamps organized. I do appreciate it.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Nancy
    Dec 08, 2012 @ 18:39:27

    LOL!! Love the “knock, knock” card, Leslie! That’s fantastic!! 🙂
    The other cards are great! I do agree with Lynn about the blue trim on the one card. If you can’t take it off, perhaps you could add more of that shade of blue somewhere else on that card front so it all ties in?
    Thank you so much for your sweet comments on my blog, my friend! Seeing a note from you truly warms my heart…every time! I appreciate you!
    Love and prayers,
    Nancy 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 09, 2012 @ 08:19:08

      Thank you, Nancy, for stopping and checking in on me. I had fun making that card. More fun that the one with the turquoise fuzzy rick rack. That was not fun and I should have stopped what I was doing before I got as far as I did.

      I can say the same of you. Seeing a comment from you brings a big smile to my face. You have become so busy over the past couple of years with all of your design teams and challenges. Your blog is one of my daily stops to see what you do and read the back stories you have on why you created each item. It is totally awesome that you have gained such a following of appreciative fans 😀 You deserve it all, my friend.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. Jann Gray
    Dec 09, 2012 @ 15:03:07

    YEAH!!!! Leslie is creating! Love your cards – and am SOOOO impressed with your organizational system…knowing WHAT you have gives you SO many ideas!

    Thank you for your kind words on my blog! You always encourage me in the most special way!

    Hugs to you sweet friend!
    Love you,
    Jann

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Dec 10, 2012 @ 12:08:38

      Thank you, Jann. “knowing WHAT you have gives you SO many ideas!” That has been the thought process. Trouble is I see something and get an idea but don’t write it down. Within 5 minutes the idea is gone forever 😦 Hopefully it will come back to me after I have this project finished 😉

      I am so loving your Christmas 2012 series. Just watching your process is inspirational to me and I learn so much from you. Thank you for sharing your knowledge with everyone.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. Maureen Mathis
    Dec 10, 2012 @ 17:42:34

    M O M

    Reply

  5. thefrugalcrafter
    Dec 11, 2012 @ 09:14:42

    I always seem to be taking on a large organization project! The cards look great and I hope you like your new organization system!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

