Hello. My name is Leslie and I am a paper hoarder.

Scraps.  Man those bits of paper can take over your craft area.  They are the abandoned children of the whole sheets of paper.

Most paper crafters get so excited about the new lines that come out several times a year.  We hot foot it to the nearest scrapbooking store or craft/hobby store to romance the new collections.  I do mean romance these papers.

Alright, I have to speak for myself and no one else.  I’m really bad about this.  I love paper with texture and that has some weight.  I’m not a big fan of the design paper that is almost the weight of photocopier paper.  I like my paper to have some heft to it….some meat on its bones – kind of like me 😉

If you have gone to Hobby Lobby or Michaels and picked up a pad of paper by DCWV, K&Company, or Recollections to find the 2 inch round sticker holding the pad closed torn away that means I have beat you to the paper.

I have to see the full page, feel the texture, look at the printed designs, feel the weight of the paper, listen to it as I flick from one page to the next.  If a particular sheet of paper captures my total attention I have spent several minutes looking at the colors, images, and light reflection.  If the paper has that machined embossing that shines over some of the images I have to feel the whole sheet.

My craziness is akin to when Joe and I were first married.  Every chance I got I would run my fingers through his hair, touch the skin on his arm, brush my hand over his clothing, give a little squeeze of his backside.  This paper “fetish” is almost the same.  I have to touch my fingertips to the sheet of paper.  Let my fingers gently run across the face of it.  Open my hand and let my palm run over the texture caressing the slick surface of the product applied to the paper.  Let my fingertips trace the glitter applied to the papers.  Give the paper a gentle squeeze to feel the thickness of it.

When I have made my purchase I fantasize what I could make with the paper once I get home.  Sometimes I get so caught  up in my solo orgy that I forget to purchase glue, adhesive, or any other type of embellishments to go with the paper.  When I reach home I can’t wait to rip the packaging from the paper and freely run my  hands over each and every sheet enjoying it to the fullest without looking over my shoulder to see if there is someone else close looking askance at me.

When I have a project in mind for the papers I get out my trimmers and begin cutting away.  The scraps are shunted off to the side to be later dumped, unceremoniously, in a storage bin somewhere.  These scraps will languish away and be forgotten.  They no longer serve a purpose in my creative life.

One morning earlier this week I found a website whose sole aim is to gather greeting cards from crafters to be sent to our service people to be able to have cards to send home to their loved ones.  OWH “Operation Write Home” has lots of information about creating cards.  Videos on making cards, tips, techniques, and a really fun site to check out.   One of the videos and blog posts was on scraps to be used in card making.  Using Scraps is the title for the tutorial that I have used to reacquaint myself with my abandoned scrap children.

I made a note of the sizes used in card making.  The sizes for scraps on this website is to fit card fronts that are A2 or measure 4-1/4″ x 5-1/2″.

Measurements to cut the scraps

In cleaning off my work surface yesterday I had a huge pile of scraps from the Christmas Card Boxed Set.  A massive pile.  I thought I would start there first before I gathered all the rest of my scraps.

You can see, off to the left of the photo, I have a white storage bin with the scraps of white and cream that I dumped in the bin last year.  I got a start on the papers on my work surface and began placing them in neat little piles with a small sticky note stuck to the top of the stack.

Starting the scrap cutting

Once I finished with clearing my table I went to work on the basket of white scrap papers and got that bin empty.  This is what my scrap bins looked like.  Poor things.

Bins full of scraps

This is not a project that is fast.  It is quite time consuming to be exact.  I worked on two of the baskets yesterday all the time wondering if I had lost my mind and taken on a project with no end in sight.  The cutting and stacking went on today for another several hours.  I am happy to say that I have gotten through it all and am quite happy with the results.

Stacks of uniform sized scraps

This bin has all of the 4″ scraps ranging in size from 4″ x 4″ to 4″ x  5-1/2″.

4" wide scraps

This bin holds all of the 2″ x 2″, on up to 3″ x 5-1/2″ scraps.

2" x 2" up to 3" x 5-1/2" scraps

This bin holds all of the 1″ x 3″ to 1-1/2″ x 5-1/2″ scraps.

1" x 3" up to 1-1/2" x 5-1/2" scraps

These bins hold an assortment of card stock and designer series paper.  This project took so long to do there is no way I’m going to put these in color order.  I thought about it but decided I’m not that energetic.

I have one final bin that is full of cut apart embellishments from Club Scrap and various other unique papers I did not want to cut up.

Specialty papers and embellishments

I am really happy that I took the time to do this.  I think I may actually use these scraps to create things.  At least I had some ideas floating around in my head as I whacked away with the paper trimmer.  Rest assured I’ll be blabbing about any project I come up with to use these scraps.

How do you store your small-ish scrap pieces of paper?  Are you a card maker and find you need to cut up whole sheets of paper to use your punches?  Do you end up creating more scraps from whole sheets when you have a die cutting project?  If you do take this project on I’d love to hear what your solution has been.

Leslie

52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy Allnock
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 13:08:25

    I’m SO glad you posted how you tackled this!! I love seeing everyone’s different ways of wrangling them – thus the inspiration for that first video. Welcome to OWH!
    -Sandy, Pres.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 15:08:43

      Well hello there. Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment.

      I really enjoyed your “Scrap Wrangler” video and found your tutorial extremely helpful. Thank you for doing all the upfront work 😀

      Leslie

      Reply

  2. Madame Wong
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 19:25:10

    Oh. My. Goodness. That is ALOT of scrap. Sandy’s video was quite excellent. Glad you put her info to good use.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 22:15:40

      Thank you for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment, I appreciate you.

      Those little pieces of paper accumulate rapidly. Finding Sandi’s video was so helpful. Hope you found the website enjoyable as well.

      Leslie

      Reply

  3. Harriet Clark
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 19:35:49

    Ah, Leslie, you are a woman after my own heart! I’m crazy about “good” paper. And I’m so glad you found OWH. Making cards for our military heroes is such a great way to share all our pretty papers! I love all your neatly arranged bins of various sizes of scraps. I was also inspired by Sandy’s video. Maybe one day I’ll actually follow through and get my scraps shaped up, too! Harriet in NC

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 22:29:27

      Thank you, Harriet, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      I’m learning to be a card maker. I seem to be more comfortable making books and scrapbooks than cards. However, getting out of my comfort zone for our military people is worth giving it a shot.

      Leslie

      Reply

  4. leslie (crookedstamper)
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 19:38:21

    I, too, became a scrap wrangler! I love what you’ve done here. Here’s what I did to address me scraps: http://thecrookedstamper.blogspot.com/2012/09/just-call-me-scrap-wrangler.html

    Oh, and I believe the fondle factor should never be discounted in our world.:)

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 23:46:21

      Thank you, Leslie, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Finding the video and tutorial at Operation Write Home has made a world of difference in my attitude toward my scraps. Thank you for the link to your blog entry on your scraps. Man, I just thought I had scraps….you have me whooped 😉 I think I can empathize with you after all those pieces of paper were “Wrangled”. Feels so good! I’m going to include your link in my next post for those who do make cards to have another source to get ideas from. Thank you for sharing your ideas with me.

      Thank you for letting me know that I’m not the only one that secretly fondles paper 😀

      Leslie

      Reply

  5. leslie (crookedstamper)
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 19:38:46

    my … my scraps … sigh

    Reply

  6. AnnetteH
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:24:11

    Leslie~ Looking forward to seeing what you do with your Scraps

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 23:48:53

      Thank you, Annette, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Now I have another place to “shop” in my craft room for projects.

      Leslie

      Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 24, 2012 @ 23:52:31

      Sorry, I forgot to mention that I have popped in on your blog and had a look. Your cards are so colorful and clean looking. I enjoyed taking a peek into your creativity. I’ll be back for more.

      Leslie

      Reply

  7. Lynn Mathers
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:38:03

    Congrats on your scrap organization! I thoroughly enjoyed your post! I just followed Sandy Allnock’s post, as I am a big fan of hers, and because of Tricia Morris’ and Club Scrap’s support of Operation Write Home, I now also have a purpose for all those little scraps!

    Like you, I’m a paperholic (but more specifically, Club Scrap-a-holic!). I was also an FFC Crafter (consultant) as long as they had the program; been a member since 2001.

    Originally I began scrapbooking in 1998, but once I stumbled across Club Scrap, I fell hook, line and sinker for it; and unfortunately, my 50+ years of photos are still sitting waiting to be scrapped — I got sidetracked into cardmaking and paper crafting with their terrific cardstock.

    When I saw OWH’s card sketches, I was excited… and very inspired by Sandy’s weekly videos where she does her “Stump Sandy” segments. Leave it to Tricia to apply her “Assembly Line” savvy to those sketches, and there are now a growing collection of instructions to make those batches of one sketch!

    Loved your Christmas Card Collection, what a nice gift that makes. Looking forward to reading your future posts.

    All the best from a new fan in balmy Tempe, Arizona!
    Lynn Mathers

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:00:28

      Thank you, Lynn, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Club Scrap. As the kids say “They are the BOM”! Since I am an over the road truck driver most of the year I had to cancel my subscription to Club Scrap because I wasn’t home when the packages arrived. Some arrived with the rain and that was a sad greeting when I did get home.

      I had to chuckle at your reference to having years of photos to scrap but not been able to get around to it with all the other crafty projects. Hmmm, sounds a bit like me 😀

      I was not aware of card sketches at the OWH’s site. I’ll have to check that out. I don’t make cards much. I make a lot of books and scrapbooks but not many cards. That is something I plan to alter while I’m home this month :D.

      Thank you for your very kind comment on my Christmas Card Boxed Set. I appreciate your sweet words.

      We have daughters that live in Chandler and Phoenix and see them several times during the year. The next time we will be heading to California and passing through Arizona I’ll drop you an email. Maybe we can meet for coffee.

      Thank you again.

      Leslie

      Reply

  8. Judi Schroeder
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:43:40

    I have all my scraps in several baskets and totes in three different spots in my house. I keep hoping to have a craft room, but my older children keep coming back home. You have inspired me and given me a way to break things down into a smaller task.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:03:11

      Thank you, Judi, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      I had to chuckle at your craft room woes, sorry. Just when you think you can move in you have to move back out. Bummer 😦

      I hope you don’t go at your scraps at one whack. Man that is a major time consuming project….just ask me ;-).

      Thank you, again.

      Leslie

      Reply

  9. Nancy K.
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:47:03

    Awesome 🙂 I can totally relate to your paper love…too often I have found myself sitting at my craft table, flipping through the pages of a new stack and even holding it up to my nose so that I can breathe in the delicious inky good smell… When I look up and see my husband and/or kids looking at me like the cheese has slid completely off of my cracker. 😦 I’m so glad to have found someone else who completely understands!!! Hooray for your wrangled scraps! Hope to see you around OWH!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:09:36

      Thank you, Nancy, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Mercy sakes alive. You had me burst out loud laughing and my husband thought I had lost my mind 😀 I’m very glad to learn that I am not alone in the adoration of paper. I have to stay away from the craft stores lest I give into my desires and get home with tons of paper. Hence, my “shopping” from my stash to create my projects.

      I am not a card maker but your organization is one that I can step out of my comfort zone to support. I’ll be signing up and getting familiar with the rules.

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  10. Sandi F
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:49:03

    I sort my scraps by seasons or colors… I am glad to see you have joined OWH! If you look at the sketches you might find a use for your scraps to match the sizes on the sketches!

    Sandi

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:12:39

      Thank you, Sandi, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      I was not aware there were sketches at OWH until several of your members left comments letting me know about them. I am going to have to check them out and get myself into making cards.

      Girl, you have way more organization skills than I have. Sorting your scraps by seasons and colors. Wowzers….I think I may need your assistance in the future.

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  11. Christie P.
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:50:19

    I too am a paper horder. My husband just doesn’t understand my love of paper. I have started to “wrangle” like Sandy’s video. My am a closet organizer junky. I love to organize, sometimes so much I don’t get back to crafting. Because I want my scrap baskets to look good too. But I think I have most of them into sized baskets. Nice to know others love paper as much as me.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:20:19

      Thank you, Christie, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      My husband kind of gives me the “eye roll” when I purchase paper and other crafty supplies. I tell him that he has his tools and I have mine and he rolls his eyes again 😉

      Last winter, while I was home, I got in my craft room and cleaned and organized it. The problem now is since I’m not home much with my truck driving job…..I can’t remember where I put stuff 😦 I have December to get reacquainted with my stash 😀

      Organizing is very comforting when it is finished….not so much when we are knee deep in it though.

      Thank you, again.

      Leslie

      Reply

  12. Barb Housner
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:52:09

    absolutely too funny in your description of your paper addiction – totatlly relate – glad you found OWH – can’t wait to see some cards

    Barb Housner

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:24:32

      Thank you, Barb, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Man does it feel good to know that I am not alone in my adoration of paper 🙂 I learned today about the sketches on OWH’s webiste. I’m going to check them out and see what I can do with my new stash of paper. I dropped by your blog and like the cards you have showcased. I will be back to check it out more thoroughly.

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  13. Dianne White
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 20:54:35

    Leslie, you are a hoot! If you are ever in Reno NV, come and visit our crop for Operation Write Home, you are welcome.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:27:08

      Thank you, Dianne, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you. Thank you, also, for your sweet comment regarding my madness 😉

      My “day job” of over the road truck driving takes us through Reno at least once a year. I would love to visit your shop next we are through. My husband has a friend we stop to see once in a while in Reno as well….really Sparks but close enough.

      Thank you, once again.

      Leslie

      Reply

  14. Sandy Allnock
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 21:08:28

    I was so tickled I shared it on Facebook – some folks couldn’t comment but enjoyed your post too! https://www.facebook.com/opwritehome/posts/251949468265066

    Reply

  15. Charlotte Hoover
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 21:43:39

    I love your post about scraps. I’m a supporter of OWH and also got a kick out of Sandy’s “Scrap Wrangler” tutorial. The two of you have motivated me to get “intimate” with my paper and WRANGLE those scraps. YEE HAH!!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:32:54

      Thank you, Charlotte, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      You crack me up…”get intimate with your paper”. What was I thinking?! 🙂 Well, I’m glad that my foolishness has motivated you to have another source for your crafting. Who would have thought that getting the scraps of paper into useable pieces could be so liberating? Take it slowly because it is quite a large project to do….trust me.

      Thank you, once again.

      Leslie

      Reply

  16. Cora Jean
    Nov 24, 2012 @ 23:38:07

    What a fun blog post. I came here from OWH. I am pretty organized but I don’t take it to this level. I also had a peek at your stamp storage creation. It looks like a lot of work.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 00:48:16

      Thank you, Cora, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      I don’t know what type of personality I am, but I do know that if it is “out of sight it is out of mind” for me. If I can’t see what I have then I don’t have it, hence quite a number of duplicate items in my craft room. The ink pad storage unit came about after all my Stampin’ Up! ink pads launched themselves at me in an avalanche for the 100th time. Indeed, creating the unit was time consuming and required a skill that I am pretty rusty with….math. It serves a purpose for me and that is all I wanted. I appreciate your comment.

      I’ve taken a peek at your blog and love your creativity. I’ll be back to get in it more and see what all you do.

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  17. Angi
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 01:05:33

    Great post! I too, am a paper lover! I usually have to buy at LEAST two of every piece of cardstock and heavyweight designer paper that I fall in love with. I consider it a great tragedy to even THINK about running out of any of my beautiful papers! My husband and kids just laugh and shake their heads. We’ve been through five cross-country moves since I discovered this paper crafting obsession that I have. I’m pretty sure that I packed my paper with greater care than my china!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 08:26:44

      Thank you, Angi, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      I so understand what you mean by an obsession. Sometimes I even wonder if I have an addiction!

      Holy Moley, you have moved cross country five times?! I feel for you, truly I do. That has got to be the most challenging thing a family can do together. Your quip about packing your papers with greater care than your china gave me a big chuckle. Priorities 😉

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  18. Carol Carratt
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 05:48:25

    Paper porn, now that’s a first! Lol I love your description of your love of new paper, I’m the same way with paper and I’m glad to hear I’m not alone! I hope to get organized some day, but I’m not holding my breath. 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 08:38:04

      Thank you, Carol, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      I am heartened to know there are others who suffer the same paper love as I do. When, gently and lovingly, admonished by our husbands and children over the scads of paper we accumulate the sting is less by the reactions we get from them over the things we make and share. I think this is a “love affair” that derives maximum benefits 😀

      When you get ready to organize your stash you will find tons of videos and blog posts, if you haven’t already, to give you ideas that will work in your space. The big problem with organization is in the midst of it all you will be ready to cry buckets of tears and then wail “What the heck was I thinking?!”

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  19. Jan
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 09:00:16

    I can relate to the scraps and the love of paper. I do need to organize my scraps so that they will be used. And I just have to save the scraps, too. I just might have to use your system. Congratulations on getting this done.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 25, 2012 @ 09:38:13

      Thank you, Jan, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      I see, in your blog, that you have been card making for a little over a year. I’m jealous – totally green with envy – over your cards. I’ve been paper crafting for over six years and am reluctantly getting into card making. Frankly, I find making cards much harder for me than scrapbook layouts or making books. Go figure.

      I appreciate knowing that my foolishness has given you a bit of inspiration to organize your scraps. What a project that was! It feels so good to look at the nice neat stacks of paper instead of the mess I had before.

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  20. Donna Nuce
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 14:48:38

    Fantastic post Leslie! I started to do this and it fell by the wayside. You have inspired me to get back to organizing my scraps again. By the way, welcome to Operation Write Home – it has been a real inspiration to me.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 27, 2012 @ 00:50:37

      Thank you, Donna, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you. And thank you for the warm welcome to Operation Write Home.

      I now have more “shopping” from my stash that I can do because of the hours toiling away to get them organized 😀 Thank you for letting me know that I inspired you to tackle your scraps once again. That is a chore, as I think you already know 😉 but well worth the time involved.

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  21. Tara
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 15:52:39

    I love paper too! I just throw scraps into a basket. I hate to waste any paper. I make cards for OWH too.

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 27, 2012 @ 00:54:10

      Thank you, Tara, for stopping by my blog and leaving a comment. I appreciate you.

      Paper, oh how I love paper. I, too, hate to waste it so I have saved even the bittiest scraps. Not this time. If I won’t fit in the smallest punch I have it is gone. Do you leave photos of your work on the website? I really enjoy looking at the cards created by your awesome group.

      Once again, thank you.

      Leslie

      Reply

  22. gardenpinks
    Nov 25, 2012 @ 18:47:55

    Well Leslie so glad you got your scraps whooped into order 🙂 I don’t have many paper scraps as I rarely use paper on my cards even though I do love it! So many people use that paper with great effect but not me – always looks like an afterthought. I tend to use stamped backgrounds and occasionally inked cardstock for matting/layering. However I do have a few scraps of card stock but these are rootled through frequently for punching or die cutting or if I need a mat so I am getting through those scraps quite well.
    I rarely use coloured cardstock, although when I first started card making I had all the colours of the rainbow and, again, couldn’t work with coloured card stock so gave much of it away. I tend to keep black, white and cream cardstock and then have various colours of mirror cardstock. I do use coloured cardstock at Christmas time though – reds and greens – so have a small stock of those colours. I couldn’t believe your amount of scraps at all! Mind boggling.
    As I only have a small space at the moment to store my craft stash this probably accounts for my scarce scraps 🙂
    Hope you will be able to start using those scraps up!

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 27, 2012 @ 01:01:52

      Thank you, Lynn, for chiming in with how you use the papers you keep. Seems that you have been able to keep your head when being seduced by the paper industry. I’ve done gone and lost mine a long time ago, and any semblance of decorum as well 😉

      Worst yet, the scraps I went through and chopped into uniform pieces is only the scraps that were visible. I have more stashed away in paper pads, plastic sleeves with the other full sheets of paper. Maybe I’ll get to those in a while but I’ve had enough of the paper trimmer for a while. I tend to obsess over organizing and I’m trying to learn how to moderate myself.

      Here’s hoping your “small space at the moment” will be changing soon….maybe at the new year….and you will have a bigger room to spread out in 😀

      Love you my friend.

      Leslie

      Reply

      • gardenpinks
        Nov 27, 2012 @ 16:16:18

        Oh I am no paragon of virtue Leslie, not one little bit of it 🙂 I spend forever constantly organising my stamps and indexing them then reindexing them 😀 All my cardstock is sorted into A4 (just a tad bigger than your standard size sheets) plastic lidded boxes and each box is labelled – one for specialist printer papers, acetates, satin cardstock/papers; another for black card stock, then another for holographic, mirror and pearlescent cardstock and another for white and cream cardstock. Two of these are occupying an armchair at the moment! Then there are smaller lidded plastic boxes with dewdrop inkpads, marker pens, die cuts and small scraps, the table next to me is covered with Big Shot, folder holding embossing folders and dies, paperwork to do with house and handmade clay buttons from a recent swap I was involved in! All to be cleared away before Saturday as the house has to be spick and span again by then 🙂 I’ve just made a birthday card, two Christmas cards, a small gift box and a huge paper wreath!
        Love and hugs
        Lynn xx

      • Message In A Fold
        Nov 29, 2012 @ 08:22:00

        I wonder how many of us there are out in the wide world that have papers in their stash they haven’t used. I gave away lots of paper over the years but I still have masses of the stuff. Good job on knowing that you would not use the colored paper and only keep on hand the stuff you do use. Smart cookie you are.

        I’m in the throes of figuring out what rubber stamps I have and making an inventory of them. Fool hardy job this is. I don’t have many but I do have quite a few and this is becoming quite a task.

        Are you going to make a blog entry of your newest creations? I know, “Pushy Broad” 😀

        Love you – Leslie

  23. Tracy :)
    Nov 29, 2012 @ 11:10:38

    I am sitting here fanning myself during your description of the excitement of new paper….I can so relate 😉
    Love how you organized all your paper scraps.
    My plan is to use most of mine up and then discard the rest and start new in the New Year 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 29, 2012 @ 18:30:24

      It is just crazy how paper can make me lose all sanity 🙂 I’m so glad I am not the only person with a love of paper.

      I had to calm myself down. Breathe deeply, let it out slowly, then do it once again. Reading your “discard the rest and start new” was a surprise. You Go Girl! Get those old papers used and out to have room for all the new stuff! Awesome!

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  24. Toni
    Mar 28, 2017 @ 17:01:48

    Leslie, we were twins up until you got to the second half of your post!!! lol I love the idea of doing the front of the drawers the way you did. I have one similar to yours that I picked up at a yard sale.. I may post a picture of my “Craft Room”! 😱😱😱😭

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Mar 28, 2017 @ 21:02:56

      LOL Toni! I love your highly distressed icons at the end of your comment. I think we “creative types” enjoy the process of creativity….not so much the putting things back where they belong process. At least that is how I am, and it seems there are more like and you out there. I may have to start a blog post for a Wednesday. Not “What’s On Your Work Desk” but a “What can you put away in 15 minutes today” kind of post. Lord knows I need to have that kind of supervision and accountability.

      I’ve been meaning to send you a message and I will get to it tomorrow before the afternoon arrives. Checking in on you and your family for a health update on all of you.

      Love you my friend – Leslie

      Reply

      • Toni
        Apr 10, 2017 @ 13:51:46

        Sorry Leslie, I just saw your message on WordPress. Lance’s cancer is growing (they think). Still not sure if it is that or just swelling. Karen said that it seems to be moving to the other side of his brain, and across the front of his brain. They won’t do another MRI until May. Last one was inconclusive. Mom is still hanging on but she is getting weaker and the dementia is worse. She will be 92 the end of June. Her plan is to live to 95.
        We’ll see. My brother’s still cancer free, both bladder and colon. I was back in the hospital over the weekend, dehydrated again and some kind of virus. Just had to run it’s course. Doing better now and as long as I’m still this side of the dirt, I’m OK.
        I really need to get my house put together, especially my craft room.
        Waiting on the neighbor boys to come get my yards mowed down. The back yard is only 9″ high. We have had so much snow and rain they haven’t been able to get it mowed. If the Easter Bunny hides eggs out there, they won’t be found until winter!!!🐇🐇🐇
        Love to both you and Joe.

      • Message In A Fold
        May 08, 2017 @ 06:59:05

        Toni, I just now saw your comment from the first of April! 😦

        You, my dear friend, are laden with all kinds of fret and worry. You and your family have been in my prayers and I will continue to pray for you all. Your son’s cancer tumors in his brain…..have they joined the circus?! He must be in quite a lot of pain if they are moving around up there.

        Your poor Mom. I hate to see people with dementia. The lives they lived before automated and current aids to make life easier – the things they lived through. The memory loss must be a real trial for the elderly. I know it is a mighty trial for family members, such as yourself, caring for the elderly they love dearly.

        Toni I will hold you, specifically, up in prayer. You continue to deal with so many heart wrenching things pretty much on your own. Your daughter-in-law is a great help with your son, I hope, which takes some of the burden off of you.

        I can relate to the added frustration of your home not being tended to. It has been on hold all the while you have been dealing with the many issues you face in your personal life. Join me with the aid of http://www.flylady.net in doing 15 minutes at a time in “Zones” to get done what you can during the week. Little steps bring a lot of change and take away some of the frustration. Kind of makes you feel in control of something which gives your confidence a much needed boost.

        Love you girlfriend!

Leave a Reply

