Large gift tags for the stationery box.

One more piece of this project is completed.

Large gift tags for stationery box

I have used some tags I had purchased quite some time ago from Michaels.  They are Recollections brand and measure 2-5/8″ x 5-1/4″.

Recollections brand tags

I’ve had to cut them down to 4-1/4″ to fit in the little area of the stationery box.

Trimmed the tag down to 4-1/4"

And rounded the cut corners so they look just like the original tags.

Rounding off the cut corners

I have attempted to keep these tags coordinated with the cards.  I have continued using the Tim Holtz stamps used on the cards themselves.  I could only fit 7 tags in the space allotted in the box.  Probably could have gotten more in if I had not made them so thick.

I’ve used the Christmas tokens from Tim Holtz.  These I purchased a couple years back intending to use them but just never did.  Each tag has a coin and the ribbons are the same on each tag.  The ribbon was purchased last year from Michaels.

Merry Christmas tag:

Merry Christmas tag

Noel tag:

Noel tag

Believe tag:

Believe tag

Santa Claus tag:

Santa Claus tag

Snowflake tag – I used an old Stampin’ Up! set and some left over flourish bling pieces.

Snowflake tag

Christmas Carol tag:

Christmas Carol tag

Christmas Tree tag:

Christmas Tree tag

I’ve covered the back of each tag with some Christmas print paper from K&Company I bought last year.  The backs of the tags were all messed up from the Distress Stains and any other kinds of ink I used on the front.

Back of tag covered with print paper

Two parts remain to this project.  3″ x 3″ note cards to go in the last little are of the stationery box, and to decorate the lid.  This is one large project, a bit more than I first conceived it to be.  Isn’t that how it normally goes.  Seems quite simple in my head when I came up with the idea.  I do like how this is turning out.

Joe is in the kitchen, has been all day, preparing for our Thanksgiving feast tomorrow.  He is taking things slowly and in spurts so he doesn’t over tire himself.  The stuffing and turkey will be made tomorrow and we will have our neighbors over for our annual feast.  Plus we are going to be gathered around the table playing a card game after we have eaten.  With all of Joe’s doctor appointments scheduled last week and for the next two weeks there is no time to head to any of  our kids for the holiday and be with them.  The next best thing is to have friends at our table to enjoy the day.

What am I thankful for?

Family and friends.  To all of you in the US, my wish for you is to have a Thanksgiving that is free of rancor, and squabbles.  A day filled with laughter and love.  A day surrounded by family, friends, and love ones.  A day that you feel welcome and everyone is glad you came to share the Holiday.  Happy Thanksgiving to everyone.

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy :)
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 09:32:47

    Isn’t that the way, the plans in our heads seem so much easier then when we actually start to work on them, teehee.
    But your project is so worth the effort it is gorgeous. Love all your tags.
    Nice Thanksgiving wish you shared with everyone. Sorry you can’t be with your children this Thanksgiving, but friends are a close second 🙂
    Tell Joe to take it easy, and enjoy your day today 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 22, 2012 @ 11:46:07

      Thank you Tracy. Driving the truck this summer and thinking up the box to hold the cards seemed like a slam dunk. Wham – Bam; 1-2-3. Reality is I don’t know when to stop. My crazy motto of “If 1 is good then 5 is better” really gets in my way 😀 I’m liking the way this is coming out so far.

      Your Thanksgiving was last month, if I remember correctly. This is the best time of year and something to look forward to. Hope your days remain mild, temperature wise, so you can enjoy them before you are socked in by the white stuff 😉

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. thefrugalcrafterl
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 10:32:03

    I feel so inadequate LOL! I love your tags and what a great start to the season! Happy Thanksgiving!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 22, 2012 @ 11:50:13

      Thank you, for your sweet comment, I appreciate you. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family. I hope you thoroughly enjoy your day and don’t fret over the cobwebs.

      Inadequate? Are you serious?! When I think about your life….I need a nap. All your kids, the scout activities, your library projects for the local children, all the birthday parties, and now getting ready for a craft fair. I’d have to unsubscribe from your blog if you had an immaculately clean home on top of everything else you have going on in your life 🙂

      Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Nov 22, 2012 @ 15:24:41

    Hope you Joe and all your friends had a great day Leslie 🙂
    Love your tags, you have made a super present for someone to get lots of enjoyment out of. I love that pearl trimming you used, so pretty and it is great that you have been able to make inroads on some of that hoarded stash 😀

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Nov 23, 2012 @ 10:30:15

      Thank you Lynn, I appreciate your sweet comment. Inroads into my stash….I’ve got a long way to go to make a dent 😦 I’ve been crazy in my life but I think this takes the cake 😀

      We had a wonderful Thanksgiving day. Aromas wafting through the house of Joe’s fantastic feast lead to eating way too much of all the good stuff. Hugh and his brother, John Paul, came over and we had a game of Crazy Rummy to let our stomachs settle after gorging on the food put before us. I love this time of year when we can just talk in a relaxed environment. Joe and Hugh compete in the story telling of their youth and there is much laughter. It becomes a kind of “one upmanship” between the two of them.

      Thank you, once again.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

