Graphic 45’s ABC Primer altered desk organizer.

This is the last desk organizer I had purchased from Office Depot and their Clearance Bin a couple years ago.

This one is for Kari, who is a Social Worker of sorts.  She teaches teen mothers how to parent their little ones.  I think she also works with mothers that will be getting their children back from Social Services as well.

Ever appropriate me.  The paper I’ve chosen for Kari’s box is from Graphic 45’s “ABC Primer”.  The cover piece is an image of a children in an old school where all ages attended.  It also shows one child spanking another child but I’ve cut that part away 😉  Can’t have that showing.  I love this paper.  The graphics remind me of my grade school days – back with the dinosaurs – in the late 1950’s and early 1960’s.  The days when reading books were “See Spot Run” and adventures with Dick and Jane along with Spot.

Graphic 45's ABC Primer

This is the inside of the box.  Sorry about the shortness of this post.  We are trying to get back to work and I am running out of time.

Inside of desk organizer

Hope you all have a fantastic week.  Time to get going now.  I’ll be watching what you are doing as I travel.

Leslie

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Maureen Mathis
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 20:14:38

    So glad that Joe is well enough to get back to work; he must be going absolutely stir crazy right now. To be home, but to not be well enough to work around the house like I know he looks forward to, must be making him NUTS! I hope you enjoyed the chance to make some great gifts for your kids- they’re gonna love those boxes (even though they practically paid YOU to take them home!) Be safe out there, girlfriend!

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 11, 2012 @ 23:27:44

      Thank you my friend. Yes, Joe is “chompin’ at the bit”. A problem at the pharmacy on two of his meds has us stuck home one more day and he is not happy. He had visions of being down the road already! There is always tomorrow, and I believe there is a reason for this delay. Don’t know what it is 🙂

      I did have fun creating. My mojo finally came back and I have to turn it off 😦 Oh well, there will be another time. I have other kids to make things for the next time I’m home 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. Tracy :)
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 23:55:42

    So glad to hear the Joe is well enough to be on his way 🙂
    I think this box may be one of my favourite, but then again, I love this paper line. Reminds me of a simpler time….not that I was born to enjoy it 😉
    Safe travels 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 19:18:40

      Thank you Tracy. I really like Graphic 45 for the imagery. Not the best paper to scrapbook with, because of all the imagery, but it is fun to make books of all kinds with, and use on altered items.

      Joe is a bit tired from a full day of working. He’s really happy to be back to work, so I’m happy.

      The simpler times….don’t know if there ever was such a thing except in our nostalgiac ideals. When I was growing up in the late 1950’s and early 1960’s washing machines were still the wringer type. It had an agitator though so I didn’t have to use a scrub board 😀 The rinse bins were a hazard. Walk too close to the hoses and they fell off spilling water everywhere. I think that was the only time the floors ever got washed in the house that I grew up in 😦

      Hope you are enjoying the fall where you live. Cool days and chilly evenings. You getting prepared for hibernation? 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 16:34:47

    Yet another lovely box Leslie and it was great to see you coming up with craft projects again. You will soon be home again and will be able to get back into your craft room yet again. You seem to have enjoyed ‘shopping your stash’ 🙂
    The reading books we had when I was in the infants classes were the Janet and John series and think they had a dog called Spot too 😀

    Love and hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 19:40:41

      I once read a Primer from the 1930’s. The book was smaller than what I am used to, the type was even smaller and I had trouble reading it. The stories of children playing were enjoyable, the references to adults was very polite. The children called the adults by the last names….Mrs. James, mother of Frank…and so on. I seem to remember a story about a Mr. Thomas who was the butcher. Mr. Thomas got busted shooing a dog away by flapping his apron at it. This was seen by Miss Crow, the spinster lady, who was very disappointed with Mr. Thomas. What a hoot! 😀

      Next time I’m home I think I will do more “shopping” from my stash to create things. The temptation to go buy new stuff is really bad and I have to stop or I won’t have room in my room 😀

      Enjoy your time with Liam and Dylan.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  4. thefrugalcrafter
    Oct 16, 2012 @ 13:10:36

    the boxes turned out great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

