References for “Homemade glue dots” and a stolen trick from Tracy

My friend, Lynn, from the UK had asked if I knew of a “caulk” type of product that is used to make glue dots.

The consensus seems to be a product called “Aleene’s Tack it Over and Over”.  It is a repositionable glue with a fairly strong bond.

Aleen’s Tack It Over and Over is available, here in the US, at Michaels, Wal-Mart, Hobby Lobby, and from Amazon.com.

Aleen’s Tack It Over and Over is available in the UK at Amazon.co.uk.

Here are some links to blogs I’ve found that have successfully used this product as glue dots and each blogger has recommendations of his/her own on how best to make these.

  1. The Frugal Crafter
  2. Scraps of Reflection
  3. Splitcoast Stampers Forum

Here is a YouTube video demonstrating how to use Aleen’s Tack It Over and Over


Hope this answers the questions I’ve received.  Now on to my thievery 😀

Tracy, of Tracys Treasurers, had a video a while back showing how to use the metal duct tape (NOT the vinyl duck tape) and embossing folders.

While Joe was in the hospital over the weekend…..

Joe in the hospital

I brought my craft tote up to work on more of the desk organizer boxes.  I was feeling a bit guilty 😦  I don’t know what kind of mother you are, but I have this voice in the back of my  head saying “If you do it for one you have to do something for all”.  I mean, I can’t just show up to Florida with my kids arriving and only have things I’ve made for two of them.  I can’t show favoritism.  Even to my grown up kids.  That just is not right.

While Joe was confined and bored I put him to work on a piece to add to one of the boxes.  My son-in-law (Carissa’s husband) is one creative guy and he is amazing.  I asked Joe for a mechanical drawing that I could add to Jaime’s box.  Joe first rendered the drawing on some scrap notebook paper I had in my tote.  I wadded it up, carefully opened it, then smeared it with Walnut Stain Distress Ink.  Then I glued it to the top of the box.

hand drawn mechanical drawingJoe wanted to make a better drawing when we finally got home.  Which he did.  This drawing is an optical illusion.  Totally cool, huh! 😀

Optical illusion

I wanted gears to be a feature on this box for Jaime but things just kind of went pair shaped.

Cuttlebug embossing folder and metal duct tape

I like how it has turned out.  Getting home and ramming around through my ancient stash pieces I finally found the things that would make this piece pull together.

Organizer box for Jaime

Then, of course, after having made the organizer box for Loreli I felt it was necessary to make one for her husband, Chad.  He is a golfer, and was once a golf instructor in Florida.  While I fussed around with Jaime’s box and got stranded I went to work on Chad’s until I had a breakthrough with Jaime’s.  Chad’s was finished first in the hospital.

Golf themed organizer box

I have one more box to complete yet tonight before we get back to our day jobs.  If I have time tomorrow morning I’ll show you the last box.  Then all my children that will be with us in Florida will all have something handmade by me 😀

Gotta get running, my time is really running out.  Have a fantastic week everyone.  I will now that Joe is out of danger and ready to resume our lives 😀

Leslie

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy :)
    Sep 11, 2012 @ 22:43:34

    Oh my goodness, my heart dropped when I read that Joe was in the hospital. I hope everything works out.
    Teehee, you can’t steal an idea that I put out for everyone to get inspired by, teehee. Thank you for the shout out and for making use of it 🙂
    Your projects turned out lovely.
    I am the same, what I do for one, I do for all 🙂
    Wish Joe my best 🙂

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 11, 2012 @ 23:32:05

      Joe is on a blood thinner (Warfarin) and between the doctor prescribing a higher dosage and me trying to feed him I kept too much of the good foods out of his diet. His blood test for the Warfarin is supposed to be in the 2.1 to 2.3 range. His emergency room visit blood test was 9.8. Holy cow! I nearly killed him 😦 So thank you for your care and concern for Joe. I appreciate you.

      Thanks for letting me steal one of your ideas 😀 That trick was fun to do! And thank you for your sweet comment on my projects. Good to know I am not the only one that works overtime to not play favorites 😀

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  2. gardenpinks
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 16:26:48

    Thanks for going to all that trouble with the glue dots Leslie but obviously I didn’t ask my question clearly – it wasn’t a ‘caulk’ like adhesive I wanted it was the name of crafting silicone used in the US. In the UK we just refer to it as silicone glue but I know how you folks over there like to fool around with the language 😀
    The information was for an American lady on our forum. Nancy and Jann came to the rescue and provided me with the name and guess what it is called in the US???? Crafting silicone 🙂 There you go.

    Love what you have done with these boxes. Of course you can’t have favourites, it is not allowed:) Rule number one in the great tome labelled Being a Mum 🙂

    Leslie I can’t believe it was totally your fault with Joe’s spiking INR reading. I don’t think you were given clear instructions and why wasn’t the person who was doing his daily readings pick up the fact that Joe’s readings were going up? Anyway so glad he is on the mend again even though he gave you a huge scare there:)
    Love and hugs
    Lynn xxx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 19:28:53

      Awesome that Nancy and Jann came to your rescue! I didn’t know what you were talking about. I have never heard of “crafting caulk”. You mentioned that it was sticky and the only thing I could think of was that sticky glue.

      I’ve had a blast making those boxes. A lot of good has come out of the medical hysteria and the things for my kids is just one of them.

      This INR stuff and the Warfarin is about to make me go bonkers. Maybe someone will find out what the process really is and give us newbies a break. I think everything is going well now. Joe had blood drawn in McAllen, Texas today so we’ll know in a few days what his blood level is. We’ll get a machine of our own sometime at the end of the week before we have to leave for Florida. Fingers crossed anyway.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

  3. gardenpinks
    Sep 12, 2012 @ 16:29:30

    Great video on using the aluminium tape – if you recall I used it to make frames. I put it on my blog. I put the tape through an embossing folder, then used distress inks on it. Aluminium tape is a great crafting aid 🙂
    Hugs
    Lynn xx

    Reply

    • Message In A Fold
      Sep 13, 2012 @ 19:31:22

      I do remember the awesome frame you made using the metal tape and embossing folders. That is such a great technique and I had to share it once again for someone that is new to crafting.

      Love you – Leslie

      Reply

Leave a Reply

